We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“colin b england " good value hotel ".”
Review of Hotel Impero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Impero
Ranked #300 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Calne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“colin b england " good value hotel ".”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I booked a single room in January only to find on arrival I had a free upgrade to a double with view and large balcony , thanks impero ! , very enjoyable stay , friendly staff , clean , good breakfast , and very good value for money in a top position what more could you ask for .

Room Tip: best rooms on a high floor 4/5 for the view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swindon1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    538
    230
    65
    44
See reviews for
220
449
44
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel January 2014 for 5 nights. First impressions were ok a well used hotel with frayed edges. We booked a non smoking double room with a view which we got however.... The corridor outside if our room permanently stank of smoke and as non smokers this was particularly off putting. Once inside the room hitherto smell of smoke was masked by the awful smell coming from the drains in the bathroom. The drain in the shower was corroded and covered in mould, shower head covered in lime scale and the sink was in much of the same condition. The most peculiar thing about the bathroom was the toilet filling with hot water?! Hot enough to leave condensation on the toilet seat?! Very strange.
Our first night we were woken up several times through other guest or staff talking in the hall the walls were not sound proof at all! Every foot step could be heard, as for the windows they were pointless, let all the heat out and were again no good at keeping the noise of the traffic out of the room. The room was always cold despite playing with the air con. The only thing it did was make a loud noise.
The staff in the hotel were not exactly cheerful either, they all seemed annoyed about something, god forbid you needed anything. The house keeper did more than fold our towels and make out bed but went through all of our belongings and screwed up all of our clothes trying to get them to fit in a bedside locker I was furious that all of my clothes had been creased to oblivion on the first day! Especially as I had asked if they had an iron previous to arriving which they don't.
After all of that I move onto the the wifi, they charge €5 a day or €10 for your stay, we went for the whole stay and we're told that our code was for one device only several times. After two days the code stopped working my partner went to ask about it and they accused us of lying saying that we must have used it on another device!! I went down after and asked for our money back or another code and that their attitude was disgusting. What happened to the customer always being right?
Breakfast was terrible every day not a wide choice broken toaster and over cooked eggs.
I would never stay there again and I urge you not too!
The only thing going for this hotel is the location! It's is central and close to everything!

Room Tip: If you have to stay take ear plugs air freshener and warm clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here last week and indeeed have stayed many times before. We usually come the week after Christmas and have always enjoyed ourselves at the Impero. It's walking distance to everything you will want to see and for journeys further afield it's very near public transport. The staff at the front desk could not be more helpful and will give all the information you need and if necessary will make bookings for you. The rooms on the top floor, while small, have great access to an outside terrace.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairead N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Location is perfect just 5 min. walk to Termini station (Metro & Railway). Triple room 326 was nice overviewing the Opera House with a nice bathroom but small tub. Clean. Nice breakfast. Hotel surrounded by resturants, a Carrefour Express and souvenir shops. Safe neighbourhood at night.

Room Tip: Triple room 326 overviewing the Opera House
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NilePearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Impero for 5 nights in December and enjoyed our stay very much. At the reception we were very friendly and professional welcomed and we got a room on the top floor - which was just perfect for us. Nicely furnished, spotless clean and with a spacious bath. We had direct access to the huge terrace. Our room was newly renovated and very quite. When I booked (which I did through their own homepage - special offer for a "long" stay) I was a bit worried if the room might be cold. But the heating worked just fine. Breakfast was fine too and much more than the usual Italian breakfast. At last I would like to mention that the staff at the Impero was very friendly, attentive and helpful (thanks Simon for your help with the "Italian booking" for the Colosseum). Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Just 5 min from termini, great location.
If you don't have great expectations this hotel is for you. Little bit worn and old but you sleep well enough in here.
In my room there was couple faulty lights and ac machine was out of order.
Safebox and minimini bar is provided.
Take earplugs with you, walls are very thin and you can hear every whisper at next room.
Otherhand, breakfast was very nice, you won't start the day with empty stomach.
There is a elevator, but it is so small that wheelchair etc. dont fit there.

Room Tip: Keep those earplugs at handy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hair-FIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perstejn, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Very close of the main reailway station Termini. The meeting point of sightseeing tours in the neighbourhood. Nice room, only AC was so noisy. Excellent breakfast - buffet.
In walking distance are the most important sighjts of Rome like Colosseum, Piazza Venezia or Fountain de Trevi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jitule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#98 of 1,256 in Rome
801 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#118 of 1,256 in Rome
1,280 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#215 of 1,256 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#258 of 1,256 in Rome
1,119 reviews
Esquilino
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#504 of 1,256 in Rome
336 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#184 of 1,256 in Rome
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Impero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impero

Property: Hotel Impero
Address: Via del Viminale 19, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Impero 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Impero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impero Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing