We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid, Avoid, Avoid”
Review of Hotel Impero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Impero
Ranked #284 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The Impero Hotel was unsuitable and failed miserably our travel agency promise and our expectations. It should never be rated as a tree-star Hotel and must be re-evaluated.
We've arrived there after three magnificent days in Paris. And what a disappointment!
First of all, it looks nothing like the pictures. The building is falling apart, starting from the rundown, dirty lobby. The whole place is in disrepair. First we were given a room on the third floor. But it was way too small even to enter and stand there for the tree of us, including an 8-years old kid, and only one piece of luggage. At first, the reception refused to change our room, stating that the hotel is fully occupied and there are no rooms available. However, after a serious talk with the manager and showing my Foreign Press ID card, we're given a slightly bigger room. Still, it was TINY, especially comparing to the same hotel level in Paris. Sadly, the size of the room turned out to be not our biggest problem there.
Our "new" room on the fourth floor (just as the first one on the second floor) had a very strong humid smell of mold and sewer. There was a serious crack in the wall right over our door from the both sides (see the pictures). There were no bed covers/spreads on the beds, only the white sheets and they did not seem either clean, or ironed. The walls of the room were dirty and floor was unclean. The real nightmare was waiting for us in the bathroom - mold and rust were everywhere! The toilet seat was broken and unbelievable dirty. The shower cubicle was extremely small and also broke, held together with a tape. It was too small even for my little son. He is a very slim 8 years old boy (50lb!) and he could fit in! Besides, the stall doors had mold growing on them and we were afraid to let it touch us. We are all fit and slender, yet my husband and I always felt as if we were balancing on one foot to barely squeeze through. The sink drain backed up, the outdated hair dryer had a sound of a F35 fighter.
At night the room was too hot and the air conditioner did not work. The hotel staff said "the whole city is not using AC in April". But it was so hot! In order to breath, we had to keep our window wide open, but couldn't sleep because of the street's noise.
Breakfast was mass chaos with a week old croissants piled up on a tray and the worst coffee ever. There was not enough seating for the number of guests in the hotel. We decided to have breakfast some place else after the first day.
Summing things up, I must say that our stay at the Impero Hotel in Rome was truly terrible and almost ruined our vacation. We had to leave our room right after brushing our teeth and return there only after 10PM because we just couldn’t stand it.
From our perspective, this was not a "Roman Holiday" one can imagine, but a very stressful experience that we would have done anything to avoid.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Foxy304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinandrea87, General Manager at Hotel Impero, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking time to write a review about our hotel. Only with feedback of our customers, we can steadily improve our facilities, hospitality and service. Nowadays, it gets harder to satisfy every single individual due to various needs and desires. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the stay in our hotel.
Regarding the hotel in general, Hotel Impero underwent a series of renovations since your visit in 2011. These works are, however, now complete and many of the rooms have been completely refurbished and renovated as well as the common areas. Our service level is therefore back to standard and in constant improvement. In regards to the size of the room and therefore layout of the hotel, the Hotel architecture roots back to the 1900s, thus, both the lift and the inside layout are original from the early years. Being located in the historic centre of Rome, it is natural for the rooms to be slightly smaller of size (but according to national standards) compared to hotels located in more modern cities. This is a feature that you will discover in many hotels situated in the historic centre of Rome but you will experience a completely refurbished structure with fantastic central location linked with its history and culture.
Hygiene and cleanliness is of top priority to our hotel staff and is, with hard work, guaranteed while you are staying at our hotel. Since our renovation, which has been completed this year, the cleanliness as well as the “cracks in the wall” have been restored to its natural standard.
Concerning the air conditioning, like most of the hotels located in Rome, we have a centralized air-conditioning system – it can be either set on heating mode or on cooling mode. April is a time, where the weather is changing in regards to the temperature. Unfortunately, we can only satisfy the majority of our customers, which during that time preferred the heating mode of the air-con system.
Regarding breakfast, along with the complete renovation of the hotel we decided to change the breakfast as well. We now offer a standard continental breakfast including balancing out the salty and sweet aspects of the food. In addition to that we offer home-made, freshly-baked pastries and pies.
We would like to apologize sincerely for the dissatisfaction in your stay in 2011 but we hope that you may have a chance to reconsider us in the future after the structural renovations and improvements to our hospitality and service levels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

Our room was fine until end of the 1st day. Strong odor present until room aired out. Construction, and noisey workers in hallway. Later on our 2nd day, sink filled with water, apparently by staff to control smell. Couldn't open plug so sink remained filled and was useless.

Foul smell. The last day we were transferred to neareby,Flower Garden, owned by same company. Many hotels in same location near Termini.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 427, smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinandrea87, General Manager at Hotel Impero, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for writing the review about our hotel. Only with the feedback and help of our guests we can constantly improve our hotel and focus to fulfill and focus on our guests’ needs and desires. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not live up the expectations you had before the trip.
As we can see from the date of your review, your stay coincided with the renovations that were undergoing at a wing in Hotel Impero. Many things have changed since 2011. Many rooms as well as the public areas of the hotel have been completely refurbished and now have a new 32-inch flat screen LED TV that can receive more than 100 channels.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the renovation noise. We realise that these works, although temporary, have caused disruptions to our guests as it is impossible to fully isolate the noise generated from the refurbishment works. However, we hope that you will be able to see the end result in a future stay and appreciate the improvements that have been made structurally but also from a service level.
We are once again sorry for the negative experience at our hotel but as you may have inferred from our response, we have significantly improved in all fronts and we hope that in a future stay you will be able to appreciate the newly refurbished rooms as well as the hospitality services offered by our staff. It is our priority to take care of your wellbeing and we hope you will be able to experience this care in a future stay, with renovations finally complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Rome, Florence and Venice & had a package deal that included a choice of 2 hotels in each city. We picked Hotel Impero in Rome since it seemed to be centrally located (and it was - close to Termini station as well as subway/bus lines). We were not really greeted when we arrived, just given our key and told to mind the construction (there was construction on the 4th floor to the ceilings). We were on the 5th floor which has no elevator so we took the elevator up to 4 and walked up a flight. Our room was clean (besides the flies in the bathroom shower) and had a cute little balcony. As with many European hotels, the walls are paper-thin so you can hear everything in the hallway. We, unfortunately, had a rowdy American (I am American too but this guy took it to a whole new level) so we didn't sleep very well. Overall, I would say the experience was just OK. Compared to the other hotels we stayed at in other cities, this was just decent. If it hadn't been an option in the package, I would have stayed elsewhere.

Pros:
cheap, close to public transportation, nice rooftop deck & private balcony (for my room, at least), decent breakfast

Cons:
noise-level in hallways, flies in the bathroom, size of shower stall (my husband is 6'3" and literally did not fit), construction, no elevator to 5th floor (only really an issue when checking in and out)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Wow I was really impressed with this moderately priced hotel.
The charm is unbelivable.
The service so italian!
The rooms were larger then all the others we've been sgtaying at in Europe.
So comfortable and with a breath taking view of the Opera Theater.
The windows were so lovely. I enjoyed opening them up every morning and yelling down below " Bonjourno!" LOL

Seriously though it is located 5 minutes walk from Termini Station! The rooms were large, beds comfie, Bidet (sp?) along side your toilet. Just fabulous!

I would recommend this room to EVERYONE.

The funny thing is is that we think we got the room that is advertised on the site and that some other travlerers who posted pictures of the room because we had the exact same view !

Stay there when in Rome ..... !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelina1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Impero was a decent hotel in a very convinient location by the train station. No restaurant in the hotel, but does have a light breakfast each morning. If you're looking for luxury, keep looking. If you're looking for a simple room to sleep, this could be your place.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianHighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We were very disappointed in this hotel. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It is very close to the Termini and we were able to get to almost everywhere in Rome using the Metro and Bus. When were arrived for check in we were made to wait as the Concierge was on the phone with someone and did not hang up.
We were given a room on the third floor which reeked of smoke. We went down to ask for a different room and were told that the hotel was non smoking so we were imagining things. We opened the windows to air out the room and the noise from the traffic was deafening.
The bathroom though clean stinked of sewage and the towels were horrible, smelled of cheap bleach. The floor was dirty and I could tell that it had not been mopped. The corridors were dirty too with garbage bags piled on the sides.
The morning breakfast was adequate though coffee was bad. The ladies there were very friendly. To be fair the other Concierge were okay. They arranged a ride to the airport early in the morning which was very helpful.
But I was sorry we picked this hotel to stay in Rome. Will definitely ask people to stay away from this one.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mailmiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinandrea87, General Manager at Hotel Impero, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing the review about our hotel. Only with the help and feedback of our guests we are able to adjust the hotels’ service and hospitality to the desires and needs of the hotel. We apologize that your experience at our hotel did not live up to the expectations you had.
Firstly, we are glad that you appreciated the location of our hotel. We are very proud to be located close to Rome’s beautiful sights as well as being well connected with the public transport system. We are also very glad to hear that you are mostly satisfied with our staff. We teach our staff that customers’ needs and desires should be the first priority and feedback praising their efforts is most rewarding to them as well as for the entire hotel staff.
Secondly, we would like to apologize for the incidence with the concierge about the smoke in your room. In fact all hotels in Rome are strictly non-smoking inside the room. We do, however, encounter guests that disregard these regulations but are subsequently fined for their behavior. There are however a couple of explanations to the incidence. It is possible that the previous guest has smoked in the room in which case the hotel management would have taken actions to ensure that such behavior does not persist. Otherwise, it may be possible that the previous guest was a heavy smoker and despite not having smoked inside the room, may have left behind the smell of smoke in the room. Either case, it does not change the fact that the rooms are non smoking and had we been aware of the discomfort, we would have arranged for a room change.
Thirdly, with regards to the smell of our towels, we are proud to inform our guests that all our towels are disinfected and certified for the hygiene standard by the laundry company. The products they use are tailored for the cleansing of the towels in order to ensure this level hygiene. It is unfortunate that you find the smell to be unpleasant and it is our first review complaining about the smell of the towels. We will certainly take this comment into consideration with the laundry company to evaluate if anything could be done to make the towels smell better.
Lastly, after getting complaints about the breakfast, we have decided to change and improve the breakfast. We now offer a continental breakfast with salty as well as sweet items. In addition to that we offer freshly-baked and home-made pastries and pies. Moreover, Hotel Impero has been renovated for the last few years – the exterior as well as the interior. All rooms have been refurbished and TVs have been switched to 32-inch LED TVs.
Thank you again for your review. Our hotel staff is working very hard to constantly improve the hospitality service and the facilities. We hope that you will be able to experience the improvements in our standards in a future stay and for any further enquiries, we remain at your complete disposal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This is a reasonably priced hotel in a remarkably central location. Underground trains A and B are 5 mins away, as is a bus station and Termini train station (for trains from the airports). Be aware that there is almost a 5 minute walk within the station to the platform for the leonado d V express. We walked to the Colosseum, Piazza Navona and around. The hotel does a perfectly adequate continental breakfast included in the price - fruit, cereal, croissants, yoghurt, hard-boiled eggs, cheese, pastries. The room was well serviced, bed comfortable, toiletries in the bathroom, lift worked. Loads of places to eat nearby. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nanathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,271 in Rome
1,345 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#95 of 1,271 in Rome
851 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#219 of 1,271 in Rome
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#206 of 1,271 in Rome
993 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#184 of 1,271 in Rome
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Impero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impero

Address: Via del Viminale 19, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $51 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Impero 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Impero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impero Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing