We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't recommend B&B Jonella/Cappuccini”
Review of Jonella B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jonella B&B
Ranked #3,109 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I don't recommend B&B Jonella/Cappuccini”
Reviewed December 12, 2006

We stayed at the B&B Cappuccini, the sister property of Jonella (which was booked). I was aware that we had to pay cash up front, however I'll never stay anywhere again with that policy. Our bed was higher in the middle and lower on the sides which made sleeping uncomfortable. The bathroom was rather far down the hall and contained the only sink in the place. The tub was so tiny and narrow, it was a joke. You couldn’t sit down in it, yet when you stood up you were in fear of slipping and falling at all times. There's no bathmat, and the flimsy shower curtain allowed water to go all over the place. The only hook to hang anything was stupidly located right over the toilet. On our last morning there, we had no hot water. With no one on site, there is really nothing you can do. Good luck getting any money back when you pay cash up front. I asked for some money back and they never even replied to my email.

  • Liked — Close to the Spanish Steps and Barbarini Metro stop.
  • Disliked — Uncomforable bed, bad shower, problems with hot water.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at Pensions that do not ask for cash up front, include breakfast, and have staff on site at least part of the time. Check everything on arrival, before paying, and perhaps have a backup accomodation.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cmmchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and thought it was a great value, especially given the location. The women who runs the hotel is not particularly friendly, but did a fine job. The entire place was very clean and our room even had a bit of view. We would stay again, especially at the price of 50 euros. The hotel was also really private, we hadly ever saw anyone else although the rooms were all full.

The only major drawback is the noise, I never thought is was possible to have the streets cleaned several times a night.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucynko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2006

This is a basic pensione where you get a room with a bed and sink. The shower is down the hall. This place is great if all you need is somewhere to put your things and to lay down for the night. It is right in the heart of the Spanish Steps area and the building has a lot of character. You pay up front, are given a key and then left alone.

For the reasons above, I found it to be perfect for my needs.

It's not for everyone, groups with kids or anyone with difficulty using stairs (it's a four-story flight up -- no elevator) should look elsewhere.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — Self contained shower room, no place for your clothes
  • Tips/Secrets — Have to call innkeeper day of check-in so that they can meet you at the building.
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PixelMadchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 29, 2006

I certainly do not recommend Jonella!!! I think it was a bit shabby. The shower is on the corridor in a very small room. You could't even change your clothes there because everything would have gotten wet and so you had to sneak in the corridor wearing only a towel. The worst thing of all was that they charged me for a room a month after my stay which caused me a lot of trouble. Avoid this place!!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Bangor Co Down
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2006

Jonella is budget accomodation. We stayed there for five nights on a room only basis. The room was large and bright. The place was clean and seemed well kept. The location (at the Spanish Steps) was very convenient and central. There is an excellent little cafe opposite Jonella and many good resturants nearby.

Now the downside. The website says that Jonella is a fourth floor hotel with no lift. After a long day on the tourist trail those stairs seem to go on for ever.

If we return to Rome we would use Jonella again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ajsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#360 of 1,261 in Rome
418 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,168 of 3,692 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,261 in Rome
1,199 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,261 in Rome
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonella B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonella B&B

Property: Jonella B&B
Address: Via di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 41, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,109 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing