We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your money”

MAXXI - Museo Nazionale Delle Arti del XXI Secolo
Book In Advance
More Info
$212.93*
and up
Airport Transfer Arrivals Plus Tour of Rome
Ranked #148 of 1,477 things to do in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Conceived as a broad cultural campus, MAXXI is managed by a Foundation constituted in the July of 2009 by the Ministry for Cultural Heritage and Activities and headed by Giovanna Melandri. From December 2013 Hou Hanru is the Artistic Director of the museum, which includes MAXXI Architecture, directed by Margherita Guccione, and MAXXI Art, directed by Anna Mattirolo.The programming of the activities - exhibitions, workshops, conferences, shows, projections, educational projects - reflects MAXXI's vocation as a place for the conservation and exhibition of its collections but also, and above all, a laboratory for cultural experimentation and innovation, for the study, research and production of the aesthetic contents of out time.The MAXXI building is a major architectural work designed by Zaha Hadid, located in Rome's Flaminio quarter and featuring innovative and spectacular forms.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I agree with a previous reviewer Yvanlondon -- I don't understand the high marks this museum gets. The building itself is all style and no function -- endless stairways and ramps going nowhere. And galleries you can't get to without going to another floor first. But, more importantly, when we visited there was essentially no art there. We have been to dozens of contemporary art museums around the world and this one is by far at the bottom of the heap, even below the New Museum in New York City, which at least has a gorgeous building that works. The whole top floor featured one or two videos of no interest. A large section of the ground floor was given over a video of a woman's anus and the only exhibits were a floor of photographs, some architectural concepts and models and a show for a one-note artist called Francesco Vezzoli. We couldn't even find this show until the third attempt as they hid the entrance behind a small curtain in the corner of one of the galleries (???).

So we basically spent €11 each to see the Amish Kapoor in the entrance.

BTW, the bathrooms are disgusting -- would you want to sit on this seat in the picture? Yes, that's other mens' urine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Isambard40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    255
    97
    70
    69
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Walking around MAXXI is very pleasant. The Museum is quite interesting, you have to pay a ticket of course (11 euro per person about). The exhibitions are good (nothing exceptional) but you can spend a morning or an afternnon in the premises. The near garden is very peaceful and safe (even for the children's games). There is a cafeteria. You can have brunch (22 euro) or you can sit at the bar tables, inside or outside, where you can order from the list. The food is tasty and well cooked (cous-cous for instance). The service at the tables, lead by the young ladies, is perfect. The prices for the lunch is reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank zigno2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Curious experience”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Me and my boyfriend loved visiting this musium. Maybe it´s not equally overwhelming as some Rome attractions, but it is very curious to see. It was something different after all that ruins, antique art and churches...
Entrance is not cheap.
There is an exposition of contemporary artwork in the nearest building - it´s free. Likewise the museum exposition, it is a little bit odd, but this is what make it interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Find something less boring to do instead.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Perhaps as we don't consider exhibits such as recycled TV shows to be either art or interesting, we found this 'museum' pointless. Comparatively empty, only interactive exhibit was a couple of bikes. Rude/bored looking staff too. Considered this a waste of time on an otherwise great holiday.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not waste your time to go there. Read on...”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I am surprised to see good ratings for this museum. People who rate this museum highly are only focusing on the architecture. Are you going to a museum for its content or for the container?

First of all on the building itself is indeed an interesting building but poorly built. If you look at the details you will see that the finishing is awful, doors are not aligned with the walls, wastes are stuck under the glassy stairs, etc. If you go to Rome go visit the ancient landmarks do not waste your time with this unfinished and hastily constructed building.

Most importantly, it is expensive and there is absolutely nothing to see. I thought that I could not find the main rooms until I realised that this was it, I was already done with the visit, nothing really interesting to see and extremely short visit. I thought that what I saw was a joke: University wannabe curators in London (where I live) would have done a better job at selecting young and upcoming artists.

If you still want to visit it my recommendation will be to visit the free exhibitions in the other rooms and have a coffee outside with a view overlooking the museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yvanlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAXXI - Museo Nazionale Delle Arti del XXI Secolo also viewed

 

Been to MAXXI - Museo Nazionale Delle Arti del XXI Secolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing