We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, dusty room, bathtub had a giant hole...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Centro Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Centro Roma
Ranked #492 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Wayne, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice staff, dusty room, bathtub had a giant hole...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed here with my daughter in May. We had booked the Hotel Sonya, but were told upon arrival that we needed to stay at their "new" sister hotel Centro Roma. We went with the flow. The staff was nice and helpful.

The room was on the top floor and had a balcony with a terrace. The room looked like it hadn't been used in quite a while. There was a layer of dust on the end tables and lamps. The bathtub had a giant hole (12" by 4") in the floor that had been patched with caulk. When standing in the bathtub to shower, it felt like you were going to break through the hole. The terrace would have been nice if last year's dead plants had been replaced with fresh ones.

Breakfast was fine. Wifi only available on the first floor. We were never able to figure out the safe.

Close to Termini and walking distance to Spanish steps. I guess it was ok for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda_BWayne_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    209
    82
    36
    18
See reviews for
119
182
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Customer service:

We arrived in Rome and unfortunately one of our suitcases were missing. When we arrived at the hotel we informed the receptionist (small and old man) about what had happened and he turned around and said "what should I do?. He was extremely rude and arrogant and instead of helping us he just called another staff member to show us our rooms.

There was another receptionist - he was very unhelpful and quite sly. Before arrive in Rome we had pre-arranged our transfers. On the last day when we were waiting for our pre-arranged transfer, Franchesco was so determined that our transfer would NOT come to collect us and he was so eager to book a taxi for us. When we asked him how much it would cost he gave us a quote between 60-70 euros. This was quite strange since it only costs 40-50 euros by taxi to go to the airport and this is the standard rate in Rome. We were sure something was fishy when Franchesco asked for our pre-arranged taxi documents - but we didnt give it. By the way our transfer did arrive and we happily waved Hotel Centro a good bye.

There was only one staff that we found quite helpful - his name was Alberto - he was so kind and guided us to the many attractions of Rome.

We used the hotel's telephone 2-3 times during our weeks stay to make a call within Rome (max 15 minutes) and at the check out our bill came up to 85 euros!!!! Really that was pathetic and I asked to see the receipt it was so unclear and didnt make sense - and the receptionist told us they dont go by minutes?!

Location
Hotel Centro is centrally located. There are mainly designer shops and a few cafas/restaurants near this hotel. We found walking in the late evenings quite safe and its quite a busy street. However avoid walking near the termini station at nights as its quiet and very seedy. The hotel is off a quite street and so you can get a good nights sleep. There nearest station is like 5 minutes by walk and the Termini station is like 10 minutes by walk.

Rome itself is quite a small city so you can explore by foot. Spanish steps are like 25 minutes by walk. We visited Rome in September where the temperature was 30-32 oc - so we mainly used the metro. There are many fountains around rome so do re-fill your bottles - the water is fresh and clean.

Rooms
We had two twin beds in our room, one ensuite, a safe (key), a desk, a small mini bar (which wasnt that cold) and a balcony (yehh) but after a night the light wasnt working (we were not suprised). The rooms are quite clean but small and dull - there were four people in the room and thus it made it quite difficult to move. The ensuite was alrite - towels were changed every day but i dnt think our sheets were changed everyday. We enjoyed spening the early hours of the morning in the balcony - it was the best part of the hotel experience.

Breakfast/bar/computer

The breakfast room was located in the basement of the hotel and breakfast was average - mainly consisted the same menu every day - croissants, ham, rolls, cake, orange juice, english tea, fruits..dont expect too much as its a 3* hotel. The breakfast room is run by an old man - he is very grumpy and rude and is always busy cleaning.

We didnt try out the bar at this hotel so cannot comment but it is quite small and not busy.

There is a computer free of charge near the breakfast room - quite useful but it does get quite busy.

Rome is a beautiful city however we were extremely disappointed by our stay at Hotel Centro. The customer service was terrible and we did NOT feel welcomed. We have never experienced such customer service at the other hotels we have visited before and therefore I do NOT recommened this hotel to anyone. If I return to Rome again I would stay at another hotel - there are much better hotels in Rome for the same price or I rather pay more for a better accomadation.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 06bubbles06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel as the one we had previously booked was awful. We walked in off the street and was met by very friendly staff who showed us a couple of rooms so we could choose which one we wanted. The rooms were clean, tidy and airy. We had a nice large en-suite with clean towels everyday. We had a fridge in the room and the breakfast was good.
The staff were extremely helpful and spoke very good English (nothing was to much trouble for them, even down to making us tea when the bar had closed). Definately worth staying here. It was not posh but worth the 3 stars it has and is good value for money.

Room Tip: Fantastic location. A 5 min walk from the Termni station and a short walk from all attractions. Metr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helen31essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel is located centrally, however be advised to look for another hotel. Asked for a double bed & ended up with twin beds in a dingy dark room with a tiny window. Older receptionist gent & older bow-tied waiter were rude/arrogant. Bathroom was clean. Perhaps Rome accommodation is expensive anyway - but shop around. One advantage was the close vicinity to the Termini if you need to catch a train in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derosa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

The hotel is clean, reasonably located, and well priced, but if I was visiting Rome again I'd look elsewhere.

Not convinced the concierges always have the customer's interests first and foremost when recommending tours and restaurants etc., and some of their recommendations turned out to be hilariously bad.

Also, while it is centrally located, the surrounding area was a bit lifeless, and after dark it was quite dull though perfectly safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed here for a night. This hotel is strategically located, within walking distance to Termini and adjacent to Via Nazionale. Rome is relatively small and lots of attractions are pretty close to each other and hence can be done by walking. The location of Hotel Centro made a perfect starting point by strolling down along via Nazionale and then to other attractions.

The hotel room is very spacious and we were given a room with terrace. Decent hotel supplies. The decoration and furnitures are tired looking but the room is clean. Breakfast was okay. The hotel staffs are helpful, speak fluent English, they provided us map and showed us where to eat, what to avoid and safety tips.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SenLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Hotel Centro is just a short walk (5 mins) from Termini so is ideally located for access to trains and the Metro. There are a few places to eat around the area and a supermarket located on a corner close by....so location wise it is ideal although certainly not in the most scenic part of town...but everything is a short walk or metro ride away. The hotel itself is your standard three star....provides all the services you require (Free WiFi and breakfast) but is a little aged and tatty around the edges. The rooms are large and spotlessly clean but some of the funishings have seen better days. The staff are friendly and helpful...and from what i heard speak a number of different languages.
All in all you get what you pay for....a conveniently located hotel, a large , clean room (not always the case in Rome) in a hotel that is a little frayed around the edges.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderingirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#428 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#93 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#418 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#244 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#200 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centro Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centro Roma

Property: Hotel Centro Roma
Address: Via Firenze 12, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #492 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centro Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Hotel Centro Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Roma Hotel
Centro Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing