We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Domus Livia Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domus Livia Suites
Ranked #308 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Nice little hotel tucked away on the 5th floor of a large building. Good location - whilst not in the most attractive touristy part of the city, it's 10 minutes walk from the Trevi fountain, right on the bus routes and 200 yards from the metro. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom was particularly well appointed. Everything was very clean. With the windows closed, there was no sound from the streets outside and the AC worked well. My one suggestion for improvement is a matter of personal taste - I found the bed a bit hard. The staff were always friendly and helpful. They had good suggestions of where to go and how to get there. They helped us organise our transport to and from the airport and helped to make our stay pleasant and relaxed. As a base to go out to explore Rome, I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us.Our priority is everyday to satisfy our guests, we are glad you liked our concept,our staff and our room. We truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    141
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
92
160
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boykins
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Domus Livia for 4 days in October 2013 prior to going on a cruise. Even before we arrived, Susanna made my experience exceptional by helping to secure transportation and a tour out of the city one day. The hotel was wonderful and the room was great. Windows opened to the street but whenclosed and all the noise went away. For a European hotel, the rooms were large and the bathroom was well equipped. But truly what made this hotel stand out was the staff and their willingness to help with whatever you needed. They even made sure we had breakfast food early in the morning when we had to leave earlier than when they served breakfast. If you are looking for an American hotel experience, this is not the place. BUT if you want to experience Rome at its best, this is the hotel for you. Great location, great price, wonderful staff. Thanks Susanna for all your special care.

Room Tip: Be sure to let the staff know your preferences and they will do everything to accommodate your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are proud that you chose our B&B for your stay, but now that we know that you had a pleasant stay , we are more than delighted. Thank you so much for your valuable remarks referring our services, room, breakfast and facilities did meet your satisfaction. We really hope to serve you again in the near future!Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were in Rome September 12th to 15th, 2013 and decided to stay at the Domus Livia Suites. Best decision we made. We were welcomed in by Dennis, Marisa and Susanna. They were very friendly and helpful. They answered all our questions and made sure that we were always looked after. We had to leave early in the mornings so they made sure that we had breakfast in our room the night before, and I am talking a lot of Breakfast. Excellent service by Dennis, Marisa and Susanna.

The room was very nice and very clean! It was also very big to our surprise. The room was soundproof and had excellent free Wifi. Best of all Domus Livia is within walking distance to the Colosseum, Forum, Piazza Venezia,Piazza Navona, Pantheon,Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and so much more! No need to take a cab or Metro just walk everywhere.

You don't have to worry about security because the rooms are very secure. They even have a very large closet with a key that you can take with you when you leave your room. We locked all our valuables in the closet and took the key with us. The only thing that we found was uncomfortable was the bed was a bit hard...but everything else was so great that we would definitely stay at the Domus Livia again.

Thank you so much Dennis, Marisa and Susanna, we will always remember you and all that you have done for us.

Loredana and Michael

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 993lorif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us.Our priority is everyday to satisfy our guests, we are glad you liked our concept,our staff and our room. We truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay for our first trip to Rome. Our room was big enough for 2 persons. It was clean and very quiet. They cleaned our room everyday; they may change towels when asked. Windows may be open. At night, we did not need any eye mask to sleep; the room was dark. The AC kept as very comfortable. Our room had small refrigerator with snacks, soda, and water. Croissant, breads, orange juice, and outstanding capuccino were served every morning into our room. Susana, Marisa, and Dennis were very helpful. They all speak English. They made reservation for our Borghese Gallery visit. They confirmed our bus shuttle pickup to the airport. The hotel itself is a walking distance to many restaurants, shopping stores, pharmacy, grocery store, and of course Roma Termini (hub for trains, metro, and buses). No negative feedback to say. We would stay here again when we come back! Thanks to its wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Our room was #6, not on the side of the busy street Via Nazionale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are proud that you chose our B&B for your stay, but now that we know that you had a pleasant stay , we are more than delighted. Thank you so much for your valuable remarks referring our services, room and facilities did meet your satisfaction. We really hope to serve you again in the near future! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Was a bit dubious about booking as sites don't seem to know how to describe this place. Some call it a hotel some a B&B. Now I've been there I can understand why. There are about 6 private rooms in an large old charming apartment block all leading off a secure corridor that houses a reception area. It's like a normal hotel that is split between different owners and they each run their own corridor. It turned out to be the best of both. Essentially a hotel with a very personal service. Little touches like being offered an umbrella on a rainy day were very much appreciated

My wife and I had booked a 7 night stay just to see the City. A week before we were due to arrive, our daughter decided she wanted to come too. I emailed the hotel, more out of hope than expectancy that they could accommodate an extra person at such late notice. Was pleasantly surprised, when they said they would switch us to bigger room that could house another bed (for a reasonable fee)

The Hotel is very clean and rooms were spacious and had maid service daily. Air con was powerful and free, as was wifi. The receptionist was extremely helpful, spoke perfect English, was happy to give advice on the area and how best to book the attractions etc. Only thing I would suggest is that they put a safe in the room. Receptionist said they didn't need to as the rooms were perfectly secure and reception was literally just down the corridor, which was true and we had no problems, but having been robbed in Italy before, I would have felt better for having one

Location was 10 mins walk from the main bus station (Termini) sited on a busy commercial street with loads of shops, restaurants and convenience stores. Very central to a lot of the sites, short walk to Spanish steps, Trevi fountain etc. As the hotel is sited on the 5th floor, there is no sound from the street when you are in the room, so no need to worry about noise

I very much doubt, that for the money they charge, you would find better.

If you get bored of pasta and pizza, there is fantastic Chinese restaurant just across the road. It is simply called "Chinese restaurant" and is tucked away down an alley behind a newspaper stand. Doesn't look much from outside, but the food was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank interloperuk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are proud that you chose our B&B for your stay, but now that we know that you had a pleasant stay , we are more than delighted. Thank you so much for your valuable remarks referring our services, room, breakfast and facilities did meet your satisfaction. We really hope to serve you again in the near future!Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebringen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The rooms are very clean and large. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and speak English very well. The breakfast (Italian) is delivered to your room.
Central location in a town house on the 5th Floor. Most attractions are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Room 2 and 3 may be connected by a door as required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We are grateful to note that you had a nice holiday. It is very kind that you inform other travellers about your impressions regarding your experiences at Domus Livia. We hope to welcome you back soon.Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A very nice little hotel/ bnb in Rome,close to Termini station, yet quiet during the night. We especially enjoyed that the breakfast was served in the room each morning after your choice. Nice helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamoto_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#233 of 1,256 in Rome
292 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gea di Vulcano
Hotel Gea di Vulcano
#332 of 1,256 in Rome
409 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,256 in Rome
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#59 of 1,256 in Rome
708 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#214 of 1,256 in Rome
1,192 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alius
Hotel Alius
#933 of 1,256 in Rome
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Livia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Livia Suites

Property: Domus Livia Suites
Address: Via Nazionale 230, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Livia Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classy residence (First class auth.n.6329) with competitive prices in the historical center of Rome.A new concept in hospitality, as an alternative to the traditional hotel accommodation or to the simple bed & breakfast. In a strategic position among the Colosseum and the famous Spanish steps, at only 400 meters from Termini station…in a prestigious 19th century building, in a luxurious residence, with a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Domus Livia Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Livia Rome
Domus Livia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing