We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Domus Livia Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domus Livia Suites
Ranked #372 of 3,763 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay for our first trip to Rome. Our room was big enough for 2 persons. It was clean and very quiet. They cleaned our room everyday; they may change towels when asked. Windows may be open. At night, we did not need any eye mask to sleep; the room was dark. The AC kept as very comfortable. Our room had small refrigerator with snacks, soda, and water. Croissant, breads, orange juice, and outstanding capuccino were served every morning into our room. Susana, Marisa, and Dennis were very helpful. They all speak English. They made reservation for our Borghese Gallery visit. They confirmed our bus shuttle pickup to the airport. The hotel itself is a walking distance to many restaurants, shopping stores, pharmacy, grocery store, and of course Roma Termini (hub for trains, metro, and buses). No negative feedback to say. We would stay here again when we come back! Thanks to its wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Our room was #6, not on the side of the busy street Via Nazionale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

We are proud that you chose our B&B for your stay, but now that we know that you had a pleasant stay , we are more than delighted. Thank you so much for your valuable remarks referring our services, room and facilities did meet your satisfaction. We really hope to serve you again in the near future! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 346 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Was a bit dubious about booking as sites don't seem to know how to describe this place. Some call it a hotel some a B&B. Now I've been there I can understand why. There are about 6 private rooms in an large old charming apartment block all leading off a secure corridor that houses a reception area. It's like a normal hotel that is split between different owners and they each run their own corridor. It turned out to be the best of both. Essentially a hotel with a very personal service. Little touches like being offered an umbrella on a rainy day were very much appreciated

My wife and I had booked a 7 night stay just to see the City. A week before we were due to arrive, our daughter decided she wanted to come too. I emailed the hotel, more out of hope than expectancy that they could accommodate an extra person at such late notice. Was pleasantly surprised, when they said they would switch us to bigger room that could house another bed (for a reasonable fee)

The Hotel is very clean and rooms were spacious and had maid service daily. Air con was powerful and free, as was wifi. The receptionist was extremely helpful, spoke perfect English, was happy to give advice on the area and how best to book the attractions etc. Only thing I would suggest is that they put a safe in the room. Receptionist said they didn't need to as the rooms were perfectly secure and reception was literally just down the corridor, which was true and we had no problems, but having been robbed in Italy before, I would have felt better for having one

Location was 10 mins walk from the main bus station (Termini) sited on a busy commercial street with loads of shops, restaurants and convenience stores. Very central to a lot of the sites, short walk to Spanish steps, Trevi fountain etc. As the hotel is sited on the 5th floor, there is no sound from the street when you are in the room, so no need to worry about noise

I very much doubt, that for the money they charge, you would find better.

If you get bored of pasta and pizza, there is fantastic Chinese restaurant just across the road. It is simply called "Chinese restaurant" and is tucked away down an alley behind a newspaper stand. Doesn't look much from outside, but the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank interloperuk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We are proud that you chose our B&B for your stay, but now that we know that you had a pleasant stay , we are more than delighted. Thank you so much for your valuable remarks referring our services, room, breakfast and facilities did meet your satisfaction. We really hope to serve you again in the near future!Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The rooms are very clean and large. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and speak English very well. The breakfast (Italian) is delivered to your room.
Central location in a town house on the 5th Floor. Most attractions are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Room 2 and 3 may be connected by a door as required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

We are grateful to note that you had a nice holiday. It is very kind that you inform other travellers about your impressions regarding your experiences at Domus Livia. We hope to welcome you back soon.Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A very nice little hotel/ bnb in Rome,close to Termini station, yet quiet during the night. We especially enjoyed that the breakfast was served in the room each morning after your choice. Nice helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miamoto_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The concept of the Domus Livia "Suites" is more "private apartment" than "hotel". For us, this worked out very well and we favored it. Our family of four (2 adults, 2 children) stayed at the Domus Livia for three nights in June 2013. We were very pleased with the space. We had a room with the normal "double" bed (two twins pushed together), plus two twin beds that had been rolled in.

Our room was spacious (certainly by European standards), perfectly clean, comfortable and completely sufficient. To me, the inherent European character made it charming. We were thrilled that the A/C was working steadily! (I had read reviews of other hotels in town where A/C is not always available or working.) Our only frustration was weak WiFi in the room. This was remedied by opening the door to the room and/or stepping out into the lobby.

The location within the city was very convenient. The neighborhood was busy without being loud or distracting. There was a metro stop (Repubblica) just a couple of blocks up the street. There were plenty of restaurant choices within walking distance. We were able to walk over to Trevi Fountain within about 10-15 minutes.

My thanks to the super-friendly staff, especially Susanna! We received timely and friendly responses (in excellent English!) when we wrote to confirm our reservation. Upon arrival, Susanna assisted me with a tour reservation at the Colosseum. Before departure, Susanna helped me decide on my outing for our last day in Rome - there were too many options to cover everything!

I would highly recommend the Domus Livia for travelers with similar desires. I would definitely stay here again on a future trip. And again, thanks to Susanna for her friendly assistance! Ciao!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNC-MBA-98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a very professionally managed property and it shows in the details. The room was large and clean, staff was friendly and location was convenient. I felt very safe. Only downside was internet was very bad in room five and although we mentioned it to the staff it didn't get better the other days. The lift is small and slow. Welcome House is run by same team on the 4th floor and although I didn't see it based on the quality of Domus Livia I suspect it would be a good, less expensive choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfeew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Delightful staff. The largest room we had during two weeks of travel with a bathroom that functioned well (e.g. could maneuver comfortably in the shower, space for toiletries, working fan).
Unlike other reviewers, I did not prefer the in room breakfast since there was not as much selection and it was difficult to order more than one coffee drink per person.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank neesied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#204 of 1,272 in Rome
1,000 reviews
Esquilino
Amaranto Romano
Amaranto Romano
#21 of 3,763 in Rome
414 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,272 in Rome
300 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,272 in Rome
1,243 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#225 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Livia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Livia Suites

Address: Via Nazionale 230, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 3,763 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $64 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Livia Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classy residence (First class auth.n.6329) with competitive prices in the historical center of Rome.A new concept in hospitality, as an alternative to the traditional hotel accommodation or to the simple bed & breakfast. In a strategic position among the Colosseum and the famous Spanish steps, at only 400 meters from Termini station…in a prestigious 19th century building, in a luxurious residence, with a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Domus Livia Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Livia Rome
Domus Livia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing