We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from Roma yesterday. Domus Livia was a high point.”
Review of Domus Livia Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Livia Suites
Ranked #411 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just returned from a week long stay in Roma. Domus Livia came up as part of a package deal on Orbitz. I had a dreadful experience one time booking this way, and ended up in a 8X8 foot room with a metal cot and a bare light bulb hanging from the ceiling, but Domus Livia turned out to be a treasure. The accomodations are basic, but certainly include everything needed. Who wants to spend their time in a hotel room when visiting Rome anyway?

The set up is a bit unusual, and if I had not read the experiences of another reviewer, I might have had difficulty finding the hotel/B&B. It is located in a section of a larger building that seems to house apartments, another hotel, etc. I was a bit concerned when the shuttle dropped us off, as Via Nazionale is a busy, noisy street. The room, however, turned out to be virtually soundproof, and we couldn't hear a sound from the outside.

This is not a Sheraton or a Hilton. If you want an on-site restaurant, bar, porter service, exercise equipment, a virtual mini-kitchen in the room, etc., stay at a Sheraton or a Hilton. But it has some features you won't find in any Sheraton or Hilton I've ever visited.

The room was quiet and spotlessly clean. The antique furniture was a pleasant change from the mass produced appointments found in most hotel rooms. The location is perfect from the standpoint of getting around. Piazza Venezia, many of the ancient ruins, the Jewish ghetto, Trevi Fountain, and many other sites are only a 10-15 minute walk. Buses run right outside the hotel, and the underground is only a couple of blocks away.

The staff are the real stars, however. Marisa and Susanna took a sincere interest in us, and it seemed that there was nothing they would not do to help us and make us comfortable. They even made our reservations to visit the Borghese Gallery prior to our arrival. It was like being cared for by family. Breakfast is delivered to your room, but we had to depart early on our last day before they arrived (the desk is staffed from about 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.) so Susanna appeared the night before we left with a tray containing everything we needed to put together a quck meal for ourselves before the shuttle picked us up.

I threw the coins in the fountain, am ready to get back to Rome as soon as I can, and am comfortable having the issue of where I will stay already decided.

P.S. Tarverna Barberini, a short walk down Quattro Fontane, the street right beside the hotel, turned out to be an excellent restaurant, along with several others nearby.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank insalatamista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us.Our priority is everyday to satisfy our guests, we are glad you liked our concept,our staff and our room. We truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 340 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Domus Livia is a great place to stay. Very well situated, unique style of small hotel (or is it a B&B?!)with breakfast served to your room. All staff friendly and helpful, especially Susanna- a wealth of info! The room is very spacious (at least 12 foot ceilings!) super clean, nicely decorated and well laid out. The mattress is typical Italian, shall we say "ultra firm"? It is walking distance to most major attractions, erstaurants are nearby, yet it is very quiet for sleeping with the windows closed. We will look forward to staying here again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We thank you a lot for your great comment. We are glad to know that you loved your stay at Domus Livia again.We will be pleased to welcome you always for your next trip in Rome.Our kind regards to all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

great location only 5mins walk from central station. Busy road with plenty of shops/restaurants. close to metro to get to Vatican. This small B&B was very clean 7 tidy. breaksfast served in your room was quite a treat! What makes this place was the lovely couple that run it they were so helpful recommending different eateries/coffee shops/metro/train info etc -Would stay again! Please be aware this hotel is one of several positioned on a floor of a huge building but if you follow their directions you will easily find it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitten196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive review and your high rating. I am happy to read that you had spent a nice time at Domus Livia. Thank you for your recommendation. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Bed and breakfast? Maybe this type of accommodation could have an own category. They have renovated some cosy rooms to a flat in the city, all visitors have own room and bathroom. Only difference to a hotel is that the breakfast is served to the room. Really good value for money!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank hanni l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

We're really pleased to read your review. Thank you for your nice words about our B&B .Do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Roma. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

verry good things:
- Location: on Via Nazionale, a 5-minute walk from Termini / str Marsala, where SITBusShuttle and Teravvision buses arrive from Ciampino/Fiumicino.
- Connections with the city: a 2-minute walk from the metro station Republica, very close to the hotel on Via Nazionale stop buses 40 express, 60, 64, 70, 170 that connect hotel to Piazza Venezia, Piazza Argentina, Castle San'Angelo, Bocca della Verita .
- Shops / restaurants: 2 minutes away from the hotel in the right side it's a Despar store, on the left it's a Mc Donald's. Near are many restaurants, pizzerias.
- WiFi: works pretty well.
- Rooms no1 to 5 overlooks the front of the hotel on Via Nazionale. Room no 6 overlook the back.
- The ladies at the reception: Susanna and Marisa are a real treasures. Very friendly and nice, can give information on transportation, restaurants, tours, shows, museums.
- Room / bathroom were very clean.
- Breakfast is brought into the room (juice, coffee, yogurt, rolls, butter, jam, croissants).
Mattress too hard for me

Room Tip: Room no 6 overlook the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

We thank you a lot for your great comment. We are glad to know that you loved your stay at Domus Livia again.We will be pleased to welcome you always for your next trip in Rome.Our kind regards to all of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Domus Livia was perfect for our two-day stay in Rome. It was fairly inexpensive, yet the service, cleanliness and location were excellent. Additionally, we (4 persons) rented the larger room (1 Queen, 2 Singles). The room was plenty large to accommodate the four of us on our short trip. We would certainly stay at Domus Livia the next time we are in Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We are very glad that you have really enjoyed your stay at Domus Livia. Thank you for posting such a good feedback on your experience, I think it is going to be very useful for our TripAdvisor followers. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Everything was perfect: location, staff, cleanliness ...
Very close to the Termini, we had no problem of finding the hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was big enough, clean, serviced daily. Breakfasts were adequate with delicious coffee. We do not have any negative comments. We loved Rome and Domus Livia. We hope to come here again. Greetings for Susan, Marisa and a man (we do not know the name) who waited for us on our arrival despite the late hour (he was very polite). Domus Livia - We thank you for your guidance and for a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domuslivia, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Livia Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you very much for posting your candid and corteous feedback on TripAdvisor, we appreciate it. We are very happy that we made your stay in Rome a wonderful experience and we are looking forward to your return. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#61 of 1,269 in Rome
731 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#207 of 1,269 in Rome
979 reviews
Esquilino
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#246 of 1,269 in Rome
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#232 of 1,269 in Rome
1,246 reviews
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#344 of 1,269 in Rome
863 reviews
Esquilino
Welcome House
Welcome House
#814 of 3,721 in Rome
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Livia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Livia Suites

Address: Via Nazionale 230, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $74 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Livia Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classy residence (First class auth.n.6329) with competitive prices in the historical center of Rome.A new concept in hospitality, as an alternative to the traditional hotel accommodation or to the simple bed & breakfast. In a strategic position among the Colosseum and the famous Spanish steps, at only 400 meters from Termini station…in a prestigious 19th century building, in a luxurious residence, with a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domus Livia Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Livia Rome
Domus Livia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing