We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome Milton hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Ranked #295 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rome Milton hotel”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just a word of advice, this is not a 4 star hotel by any standard. It was clean, two stops from the main train station and several good restaurants are nearby, but don't think for one second this is a glamorous and world standard 4 star hotel. Having stayed in many hotels and hostels around the world, I would say this hotel is only a step up from a private room in a youth hostel. The room are incredibly small, the breakfast is adequate without being great. Unfortunately, when you book a 4 star hotel you expect the same as you would in North America or Australia. This simply isn't the case. For the price I paid, I would recommend that for a small amount more, try and book into one of the chain hotels as they are more close to a 4 star hotel than this place. Overall the hotel was average and for the money spent I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: Look at another hotel in the city. If you are spending all this money to travel to Europe make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    667
    282
    99
    46
See reviews for
229
687
112
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms with a comfy bed, good breakfast (already missing the fresh orange juice) and great location. Metro station directly opposite, for when your feet can't carry on. The metro is surprisingly easy to use, much easier than the London tube. We only needed to use this to get to The Vatican, otherwise we would still be trying to find it now...

Walk in the opposite direction to the touristy parts to find good food at reasonable prices. The further away the better!

We both fell in love with Rome and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineladyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just returned from Rome after spending 5 days there. This hotel was in a fantastic location for all the attractions and we walked to them all.
STAFF
On arrival, the man at reception continued a telephone conversation whilst checking us in, we did think this was a little rude but he was pleasant enough when he managed to get off the phone. He did then take another call and made no apologies for again being rude.
The staff were okay but did not seem to speak much English.
ROOM
Our room was sufficient and the big windows kept out most of the traffic noise although the air conditioning was not good and if you opened the window for more than 5 minutes, you were in danger of carbon monoxide poisoning from the extremely busy road below.
The room was a bit small and the shower was too small for my tall, broad husband who ended up washing at the sink all week because he couldn't fit in it.
There is no information for sights etc or hotel information which they could maybe consider supplying.
The TV has no English speaking channels at all. I usually like to hear the news when we are getting ready but the free wifi made up for that and we found the broadband speed quite fast.
Our room was boiling hot at night and we didn't really get a good sleep although the beds were very comfortable. The air conditioning did not really do anything to cool the room.
We did return from an 11 mile walk twice at 4pm hoping to have a wee rest on two days to find the room had not yet been cleaned and we had to go across the road to the Roma Lazio so that we could relax for a few minutes to give her time to do her cleaning.
The room was very clean and we got new towels every day and new toiletries.
They didn't fill the tea and coffee every day but brought some of our own so no problem. We had to supply our own milk but again this was not a concern as the milk kept really well in the fridge and was delicious.
There was one day when they were doing work in the rooms which left a lot of white dust on the floor which was not washed but just hoovered and the white dust stayed there for 3 days.
The room has a free safe which is really good.
Remember the city tax which you pay on checkout. 3 euros per person per night.
BREAKFAST
The breakfast was sufficient and catered for all tastes although the hot food was sloppy scrambled egg, fatty bacon and hot dog sausage, was never very warm and not greatly tasty. The time for breakfast is great and starts at 7 am which was fantastic especially if you plan to go out early. We found that this was the way to see the sights without waiting in huge queues. Go to the Colosseum for 8.30 am and you will just about get in right away at 9am. Go to the ticket booth at the Roman Forum and you can buy a ticket that will get you into the Forum, Palatine Hill and the Colosseum over two days for 12 euros per person. Great value and really worth the visit.
Guided tours are more expensive.
Watch out for pickpockets although we had no problems with that.
The street vendors pester you constantly and are all over the city .
There is a lot of graffiti all over even in the Vatican City and they do not clean up after their dogs, so you need to watch where you are putting your feet. The pavements are quite uneven at times too.The parks are unfortunately filled with what seems like vagrants drinking alcohol and urinating wherever they please, so this was not very nice to walk through.
The roads are an absolute nightmare to cross as when the green man lights up and you think it is safe to cross a car comes whizzing around the corner as their lights are also at green.BE CAREFUL AND KEEP YOUR WITS ABOUT YOU AT ALL TIMES.
We spent some of our free time just watching the traffic from our hotel room as this was an entertaining past- time. Loads of ambulances and police cars flying all around the streets at all times of the day and night. I have asthma and the traffic fumes were very choking. My husband said his chest got sore too and he is very healthy. I had to use my inhaler frequently due to the fumes from all the cars.
We were very glad to return home
SUMMARY
Glad we went to Rome for the experience but would never return. Maybe should have stayed 3 days instead of 5 . This hotel was good overall but needs a few adjustments to make it brilliant but we would still recommend staying there for a short break.

Room Tip: ask for one away from the road and as big as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mapron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Was very impressed with Hotel Milton Roma. The Hotel was easy to find, located outside the Metro station and very close to the Collosseum (15 minute walk) I managed to book a flight & hotel package through BA.com and given the cost of return flights alone, thought it was fantastic value. Room was spacious and whilst it was located above the main junction, the traffic did not disturb our sleep. Breakfast was very good, lots of variety and fresh coffee available on request - which was great. The staff were very helpful and full of recommendations. The reception team were able to recommend a partner restaurant 15mins away one evening which we thought was fantastic, good quality food and not at all overpriced. Would stay here again and happily pay a little more if this was not available in a package deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just spent 2 days at the hotel Milton Rome - location is excellent right next to metro station so easy to get anywhere and 10 minute walk from Collosseum. Rooms average, beds good ,but might need ear-plugs due to traffic. Breakfast variety good. Staff helpfull and friendly. Lots of cafes and bars nearby. Supermarket some 15 min walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outimaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

For the price you can not beat this hotel. Even though it is further from the historical center , the metro is across the street, so ten minutes from Spanish Steps.. Good breakfast too.

There is a great coffee place across the street and if you like to walk the Colliseum is about one mile down the street

The staff is very friendly

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

just cam back from a few days in Rome at Milton hotel. overall we enjoyed our stay. and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. hotel is clean and has solid service. we got the best room in the hotel I think number 129. with a surprising big balcony. metro station is 50m from entrance. breakfast was great. unlimited fresh orange juice is included

Helpful?
1 Thank aces99
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 155, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#238 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Milton Rome is a beautiful 4-star hotel in the centre of Rome offering an ideal location for exploring the eternal city: the Coliseum is within a 10 minute walk and the Basilica of St John Lateran is only 5 minute away. The hotel Milton is immersed in a residential area dotted with shops and restaurants, where guests can experience the real taste of the capital lifestyle. Rome stands for history, culture and ever-lasting charm and the hotel Milton, with its an amazing architectural style, stands perfectly in the wonderful atmosphere inspired by the wonderful buildings that line up the Viale Manzoni and the Viale Emanuele Filiberto. The previous building was a XVIII monastery, completely refurbished and equipped with all the facilities of a modern 4-star hotel in Rome, such as free Wi-Fi and private car park (with fee). The hotel Milton Rome offers 91 elegant rooms equipped with all comforts such as LCD tv, Mediaset Premium tv channels, free Wi fi, minibar, polychrome marble bathroom with bathtub or shower box. The disabled rooms of the Hotel Milton Rome together with many disabled facilities make this 4-star hotel the perfect base for an easy and extremely comfortable stay in Rome even for our disabled guests. The hotel Milton central position is even more comfortable for tourists because the Manzoni metro stop is in front of the hotel! Rome best sights are very close at hand and you can get to the Spanish Steps, the Piazza Venezia, the Vatican Museums and S. Peter’s Basilica in a few minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookAssist, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Roma Hotel
Hotel Milton Roma
Milton Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing