We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Ranked #294 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Milton”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent location, close to the train station and across the street to the metro.
Though you could easily walk to the center of the attractions (Colosseum) in about 10-15 minutes.

The staff were friendly and helpful without any hesitations.
I had a few requests while there and they were always friendly and helpful.
The breakfast w the typical, but loads of fresh fruits, breads and sweets.

The rooms were large as was our bed!
The decor was a little dated but not shabby or worn out.
The WiFi was okay, just required a slip from the front desk as per many hotels.

I've stayed many times in Rome in a few locations and hotels.
This is one of the few hotels i would gladly stay at again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitsuni-n-Tanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMilton, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear "kitsuni", thank you very much for your review..... because the " readers of TripAdvisor" have the proof that our renovated rooms are comfortable and beautiful , that wi-fi works and finally Milton Roma Hotel is a great choice to visit Rome!! Kind regards, Chiara Mencarelli (Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    655
    280
    97
    45
See reviews for
229
675
112
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ombersley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is well located in Rome. The rooms are comfortable and the service and friendliness of the staff is excellent.
It is difficult to find hotels in Rome that are this good value for money
Breakfast is also excellent, the hotel is modern, but still keeps its traditional values

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMilton, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear <<Orly3>>, thank you very much for your review on this Website. It's a pleasure to hear that we made ​​your stay enjoyable and memorable! We try every day to improve ourselves ... and I think we are seeing the result of this "mental attitude".... Greetings from all my Staff ! Chiara Mencarelli (Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel is located near all the major attractions and next to an subway entrance. Hotel is fairly well maintained. Room is ok, size may be a bit small. The major complaint is the internet. Wifi is only available at the lobby. Signal falls off quickly when you move away from the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

As a business traveller who spends approximately 50 nights per year in Rome, this is the worst experience I've had. Having checked out the hotel on various websites I booked it for a short stay. Upon checking in, I was led out the back door of the hotel to another building, open to the street outside, with no staff or security presence. As it is not in the hotel, there is no WiFi, which I need to work. Upon complaining to reception I was told that I was right to complain but that there was nothing they could do. Room itself is like a shabby corridor. Totally unsafe and unsuitable for female travellers. Neither I nor anyone I work with will ever stay again. Completely unacceptable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angieruane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMilton, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Miss. Phibin Dargan, thank you for your review. The room that we have been assigned is one of the rooms for the disabled people, that are precisely on the ground floor of our hotel (not on the highway, but in our private internal courtyard where some guests park their car next to trees and tables of the Bar). I'm sorry, however, that the reception has not been able to assign another room, because these days we are fully booked! In this area of our hotel, we have three rooms on the ground floor, which often customers appreciate because they are very quiet (they are not on the side of the highway) and in any case are absolutely safe because the courtyard is private and the gate that opens to the main street has 2 cameras. Your review is an opportunity for us to remind all our customers that we are finishing the renovation of all our rooms, replacing the carpet with wood floors, for example .... and we will have till May the wifi even in these 3 bedrooms closed to the courtyard ( in fact at the moment there is not wifi signal). Because you are often in Rome, I hope that the next time you come, you will contact me personally, because I’ll book for you one of our renovated rooms, and then I’ll show you that sleep in Milton Hotel is pleasant and comfortable! Kind regards, Chiara Mencarelli, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I were excited to get a good deal on expedia for this room, which is rated as 4 stars. It didn't live up to the quality you would expect from a 4-star hotel, and is in a bit of a scary district--don't walk around there alone at night. We were extremely disappointed in almost every respect.

When we got to the room, it looked quite dated and drab, not the clean, modern space we were anticipating. The linens were shabby, the bed extremely hard and uncomfortable, the carpet on the floor stained (and wet in some places in the hallway--this did not change throughout our 3 day stay). There was a dank, musty smell to the entire place. The wifi did not work in our original room or in the room we got changed to (b/c we ended up with the wrong bed)--the only place we were able to get signal was in a strange spot in the hallway or the lobby, despite several requests to have it fixed by IT. The breakfast included was ok, but the temperature of the food was generally off--the cold cuts/meats, fruits and cold beverages were generally warm, and the hot dishes (eggs, etc) were tepid. The elevator did not work for most of our stay.

The front desk staff was somewhat variable in friendliness and helpfulness. We were routed to a very awful, tourist-trap restaurant in the heart of Rome for our first night by one front desk staff member, but were sent to a much better/more authentic one the second night.

Pro: close to the train station and metro, just a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMilton, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest, you went in Milton Rome on July 2012 and many things have changed in this period! For example, we are completing the renovation of all rooms, with wooden floors instead of carpet, we have changed the supplier of sheets and also the cleaning company...New equipment in the breakfast room.....anyway, Milton Roma Hotel has improved a lot in recent months...please, try it! Best regards, Chiara Mencarelli Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A great hotel for visiting the attractions of Rome at a very reasonable price. Rooms are very clean, a good size with a pleasant bathroom. A slight down side is if you are at the front of the hotel the eary morning trams are noisy. Close to many of the attractions and both metro and trams right outside the door. Good selection of breakfast items, though was dismayed to find in this city that prides themselves on their coffee the breakfast room has a Nescafe machine! However the good news is is the very helpful staff will bring you proper Italian coffee on request and if this is too strong for you extra boiling water can be added from the machine. Reception staff are very helpful too and are happy to make recommendations of places to visit. If you need a central location for a visit to Rome without breaking the bank, thiis hotel is ideal.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front can be noisy due to the busy road and noisy trams that start very early in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennycarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Living the dream to be back in Rome after 20 plus years from last visit. Picked this out of "secret location" hotel on another website. Good location for Colloseum and metro to main areas of Rome. Hotel is clean tidy and pretty adequate for a base. Breakfast plentiful and lots of variety to fill up. Pleasant staff. Slightly noisy as on a main road but wasn't heaviliy disturbed. Thought that the hotel would be more luxurious, but that was due to how I booked it.

Good base overall.

Room Tip: we had allocated a rather small room but asked to be moved which was no problem, we did go on a Mond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMilton, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Emma, thank you for your review about our location, and for speaking about the good breakfast and pleasant staff. Hope you will come back in Rome, so we will suggest you to book one of our quite rooms, in the back side of our building. Warm regards, Chiara Mencarelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 155, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#238 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Milton Rome is a beautiful 4-star hotel in the centre of Rome offering an ideal location for exploring the eternal city: the Coliseum is within a 10 minute walk and the Basilica of St John Lateran is only 5 minute away. The hotel Milton is immersed in a residential area dotted with shops and restaurants, where guests can experience the real taste of the capital lifestyle. Rome stands for history, culture and ever-lasting charm and the hotel Milton, with its an amazing architectural style, stands perfectly in the wonderful atmosphere inspired by the wonderful buildings that line up the Viale Manzoni and the Viale Emanuele Filiberto. The previous building was a XVIII monastery, completely refurbished and equipped with all the facilities of a modern 4-star hotel in Rome, such as free Wi-Fi and private car park (with fee). The hotel Milton Rome offers 91 elegant rooms equipped with all comforts such as LCD tv, Mediaset Premium tv channels, free Wi fi, minibar, polychrome marble bathroom with bathtub or shower box. The disabled rooms of the Hotel Milton Rome together with many disabled facilities make this 4-star hotel the perfect base for an easy and extremely comfortable stay in Rome even for our disabled guests. The hotel Milton central position is even more comfortable for tourists because the Manzoni metro stop is in front of the hotel! Rome best sights are very close at hand and you can get to the Spanish Steps, the Piazza Venezia, the Vatican Museums and S. Peter’s Basilica in a few minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, BookAssist, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Roma Hotel
Hotel Milton Roma
Milton Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing