We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 stars, not 4”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Ranked #294 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“3 stars, not 4”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

While this is a nice place to stay, I would not give it a 4 star rating. I do not know if rating systems change between countries, but some of the amenities listed are not there or different from American expectation. No fitness center or room service. The business center is a laptop in the lobby. The shuttle service is either a taxi or private car. Rooms were clean and breakfast was good. Staff was helpful. Close metro and subway system very convenient. Hot water is on a shared system throughout the hotel. Meaning you can be taking a nice shower and then it turns scalding momentarily. No frills type of place. Just fine if all you need is a place to sleep.

Helpful?
2 Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelMilton, Direttore at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Will, thank you very much for your review. We are sorry for the misunderstanding about Room Service, that is available 16 hours on 24 (as 4 Stars rating)….I don’t know at what time you have asked this, but I apologize if you have not fulfilled your request. Room amenities consists of shampoo, shower gel, Soap, sponge, vanity set, shower Cap and in case the customer requests additional things we can provide slippers, toothpaste, razor and shaving cream by contacting our reception. We would like to take this opportunity to clarify to all our clients that the fitness centre is not within the hotel, but outside, in front of our building there is a well-equipped Sports Centre (swimming pool, Wellness Centre, gym, 3 fitness rooms). Concerning our Business centre, we have a meeting room downstairs, and the laptop in the lobby should be useful just to Clients who don't have their own laptop to go to the internet with our wifi. Regarding the water mixer in your room, I would be very grateful if you kindly send us an email indicating your room number so that we can solve the problem…. We hope to host you at Milton again in the future. Best regards, Chiara Mencarelli, hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    655
    280
    97
    45
See reviews for
229
675
112
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Rooms defiantly need updating as the carpets and walls are faded. The hotel is centrally located and directly across from the train system. Staff is very friendly and went out of their way to answer questions and provide detailed directions. Walking distance to most day to day needs. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a no thrills hotel but its location and value make it a really good choice for staying in Rome. For special occasions and romantic stays I would recommend something more posh though. The decor is classic and very simple with mostly pale yellow palette. The staff is friendly and helpful. They gave us a courtyard facing room upon request without any problem. The room was clean and comfortable with a big terrace, but there were the signs of water damage on the ceiling and in the bathroom. Breakfast was plentiful with a lot of fruits. But I have to say that it was exactly the same every morning of our stay. The location is great, walking distance to Colosseum and a metro station right in front of the hotel. The same metro line takes you within 10-15 min to main city attractions. Considering the price, this hotel offers a great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Conveniently located. Not too far from the central station, but not too close either. Not too far from the forum, etc., but not too close either. Good transportation options, with tram lines on both adjacent streets and a metro station across the street. The tram lines might make it a little noisy to sleep, but I didn't have any problem.

Excellent breakfast, with lots of options. Good service (they fixed a plugged drain right away). The bar never seemed to be open, but there are lots of other bars in the area.

My room was a little tired. It could have used some patching and paint, and the carpet was worn, but it was clean.

Wifi was marginal. I had to keep logging in over and over, but it was free.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is an hotel that offers a good value stay. Staff were helpful,breakfast was plentiful and it was just the right distance from the crowds at the centre. We walked around as well as taking the red bus open top route. Hotel rooms are acceptable with a comfy bed and suitable bathroom. Noise of water going down the drain at 6am was not welcomed though! Wifi not really accessable in rooms, but happy to live without internet for few days anyway. I forgot that there is seldom any hot drinks facilities at continental hotels. But a real value for money stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from water pipes! How you find them I don't know. Also away from main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited the Hotel Milton on a short break for 3 nights, I was travelling with family, I found the hotel to be clean and the staff very friendly, there is a Metro stop straight across the road and it was within a 10 minute walk of the Coliseum. Breakfast was plenty, with a good choice of items, fruit and pastries were all fresh so no complaints. The day before we were leaving there were workmen fitting new carpets in the hallways, we received an apology from the hotel for the inconvenience but weren’t disturbed at all by the work, although being in Rome we didn’t spend that much time in the hotel.
We didn’t go to the bar as across the road was a small deli, where we purchased drinks and sandwiches from, so can’t comment on the price of drinks or the service in there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel through last minute.com good value for money and location as very close to public transit. Had issues with WiFi not working at times. Customer service was brilliant and many thanks to Gabrielle on the front desk who was most helpful. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InfinityRising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 155, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#238 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Milton Rome is a beautiful 4-star hotel in the centre of Rome offering an ideal location for exploring the eternal city: the Coliseum is within a 10 minute walk and the Basilica of St John Lateran is only 5 minute away. The hotel Milton is immersed in a residential area dotted with shops and restaurants, where guests can experience the real taste of the capital lifestyle. Rome stands for history, culture and ever-lasting charm and the hotel Milton, with its an amazing architectural style, stands perfectly in the wonderful atmosphere inspired by the wonderful buildings that line up the Viale Manzoni and the Viale Emanuele Filiberto. The previous building was a XVIII monastery, completely refurbished and equipped with all the facilities of a modern 4-star hotel in Rome, such as free Wi-Fi and private car park (with fee). The hotel Milton Rome offers 91 elegant rooms equipped with all comforts such as LCD tv, Mediaset Premium tv channels, free Wi fi, minibar, polychrome marble bathroom with bathtub or shower box. The disabled rooms of the Hotel Milton Rome together with many disabled facilities make this 4-star hotel the perfect base for an easy and extremely comfortable stay in Rome even for our disabled guests. The hotel Milton central position is even more comfortable for tourists because the Manzoni metro stop is in front of the hotel! Rome best sights are very close at hand and you can get to the Spanish Steps, the Piazza Venezia, the Vatican Museums and S. Peter’s Basilica in a few minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookAssist, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Roma Hotel
Hotel Milton Roma
Milton Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing