We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of space in a great neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trianon Borgo Pio Residence
Ranked #5 of 1,131 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in the biggest room for a week. There were six of us - three adults and three kids. We had plenty of space and really felt at home. The beds were fine. We were able to eat in most nights, meaning we did not have to deal with the overly touristy restaurants which are the main ones open at the point in August. It was also nice being able to make my own coffee whenever I wanted rather than wait for an official hotel breakfast. One problem - they do not have a can opener in the kitchen, which posed a problem one night. I would have thought a can opener is pretty basic kitchen equipment. It is true that Italian cans are more likely to have those poptops, but it isn't universally true.

The staff were nice and friendly and always ready to answer questions. The laundry was fine and really came in handy. I also appreciated the fitness room which is quite unusual in an Italian hotel or apartment rental.

The neighborhood was great. There were several groceries nearby, it was easy to get to the subway, and also easy to walk lots of places. The nearby restaurants were mostly tourist spots with not so great food, but again, in mid August the better places were probably all closed.

This is an excellent place if you have lots of people in your travelling party.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratgirlny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for Trianon Borgo Pio Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 587 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We couldn’t ask for a better place to stay for our needs. Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 college age) took our family vacation to Rome from 7-14 Aug 2013 and were lucky enough to book Trianon Borgo Pio (after seeing their great ratings) a couple months in advanced before it was sold out. We got a 2 bedroom apartment that had 1 king size bed in one bedroom, and a king size and twin bed in the other bedroom. It also had a full kitchen which was nice for breakfast and snacks (not to mention coming home to cold drinks in the refrigerator during the hot summer days in Rome). Several mini-marts and eating places are within a few blocks. Everything was very clean and in working order with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi (big need for the kids). Typical European styling but much more room size than we could have imagined. I read a few reviews from people expecting more of a full service hotel, I would call Trianon Borgo Pio more of an apartment with built in extras. Cleaning and changing of sheets and towels were listed as once a week, but during or week stay they actually changed both once halfway through our stay and offered to do so again a couple of days later. Staff was excellent; all spoke English, and were really customer service oriented with any of our needs.

White taxis from the airport to Trianon Borgo Pio was a flat fee of 60 Euros for 4 people (cost varies by number of people) which also was the fee going back with the service arranged by the staff at Trianon Borgo Pio but with a much nicer/roomer car (along with a very prompt driver for our 7:30 am pick up time). Watch the prices at the airport as a guy approached us before getting to the taxi stand to take us to Rome for 89 Euros. I had printed off the apartment address to show the airport taxi driver to make it easier on all and to make sure we got to the right address since we don’t speak Italian and have never been to Rome before and she found it without any problems.

The apartment may be a little hard to find at first being off of any major streets down on an old cobble stone road, but it is a great once you find it and the location more than met our needs. Nice quite neighborhood and we always felt safe walking around, even at night. Coming out the front door of Trianon Borgo Pio and turning left, you walk a few blocks and you come up to one of the outer walls of the Vatican at the end of the street. Take a left from there and within a couple of blocks you are in the middle of St. Peter’s Square. Take a right at the Vatican wall you come to and there are several blocks of stores, restaurants, and about a 5-10 minute walk to the subway (Metro marked with a M on the signs) station Ottaviano San Pietro. Take a right coming out of the front door of Trianon Borgo Pio and you run right into the backside of Castle San’t Angelo just a few blocks away on the River Tiber.

If you don’t mind using public transportation and a little walking, getting a Roma Pass that allows you unlimited access to the Buses, Metro, some rail lines, and discounts/priority in attraction line queues is the way to go. We never used the buses, but I did notice bus #40 had a few stops close by Trianon Borgo Pio going downtown. There are only 2 main lines on the Rome Metro (A-red line & B-blue line) with the main transfer station to switch line at the Termini station. Rome Metro maps are easy to find on the internet, and are shown at the stations and the stops shown inside the Metro cars above the inside doors. Just find the stop you want to get off on, pick the rail line(s) with the right direction (last station stop on each line indicates train direction), hold your pass up to the reader on top of the turnstile, and follow the signs in the station.

We actually took a day trip to Ostia Antica (old Roman ruins outside of Rome on the Tiber River that you can walk through) using our Roma pass for the Metro and Rome-Lido Railway to get there, and then used it to get into the ruins for free. This is about a 30-45 train ride from the Piramide Metro station. If your ride the train 3-4 more stops down to the end of the line to the Cristoforo Colombo station, you are at a beaches on the Mediterranean Sea that seemed popular with the locals when we went there (we wish we would have know about the beach and would have pack our swimming gear and went to it). More info on this is available on the internet.

We opted for the Omnia package deal for 90 Euro each. This gave us 3 days of the Roma Cristiana hop-on-hop-off bus tour, Vatican access (St. Peter’s, Sistine Chapel, Vatican Museum), 3 day Roma Pass, jump to the front of the line privileges, etc. You can view more on this via the internet and pay before you go. A packet with all your passes can be picked up at their store location in the area right in front of St. Peter’s Square. Hop-on-hop-off buses (looks like all companies) can be caught at the beginning of the apartment side of the street (Via della Concillazione) that leads up to the St. Peter’s, down by river end. Again, this is convenient to the location of Trianon Borgo Pio being a few blocks away. We used the hop-on-hop-off bus as our sightseeing transportation the first days in Rome, then activated our Roma Pass for the other days. Roma Pass hint, your 3 day pass doesn’t start until you use it the first time for either transportation or to get into one of the attractions (even though you have to put a date on the back of it), so if you plan the use accordingly, you may get more usage of the pass before it runs out.

Overall we had a great vacation in Rome and the Trianon Borgo Pio was excellent! We definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you don't need daily room service, check out the apartments/condos to get more room for you m...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We absolutely loved this place. an excellent apartment, only a stones throw from Vatican city..and literally two minutes walk from a local supermarket (although there are better locations for fresh bread), Staff are really helpful and we felt right at home here.

Avoid some of the eateries around the streets nearby, we found many to be what they appeared to be, tourist traps with extortionate prices to match!

Apartment itself was well appointed with very quiet air conditioning and high ceilings.

Thoroughly recommend it!


PS we LOVED the key to the door....very odd and old looking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We rented 3 apartments for a week for our whole family. The AC worked well, which was the one most important feature this week when it was 39 degrees outside. The apartments are really spacious and have everything you need.

We brought a baby, and this is the place if you have one, too!

You are only metres away from the Vatican walls, there are a lot of good restaurants around, and a small grocery store just 10 metres down the road. Good beds, and sooo quiet.

One wish: A better knife to cut bread and meat with. That's all!

Do not use the limo service from the airport. They never showed. One taxi is supposed to cost 48-50 euros from the airport to the hotel.

Room Tip: Tell them if you are more groups travelling together, as some apartments share an outer door/entranc...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snaddersnop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Family of four staying for five nights in Rome.Hotel provides clean and comfortable lodgings.Staff always willing to help.Generally accommodating and friendly. Position of hotel allows easy access to most landmarks and places of interest. Borgo Pio is a traditional and charming street,vibrant yet quiet, close to the Vatican with ample eateries and boutiques catering for every taste.Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If available book a room with a roof terrace.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location about 10 minutes from the Metro, very quiet considering you are minutes from the Vatican. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff could not have done more for us. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjmmrmbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Trianon Borgo Pio's biggest advantage is the short ten minute stroll to St. Peter's square. Borgo Pio offers many terrific restaurants from quick bite to sit down full service dining. The apartment hotel is well operated, very clean and very accommodating. The staff was very attentive to our needs. One elevator broke down during our stay and upon leaving they all teamed up to help us take our luggage, not just down the stairs but several blocks to our waiting bus! All with a smile and happy spirit. I rate this based on what it is where it is. It is not the Ritz Carlton, it is a very well taken care of property in a very old city. Most buildings here are at least several hundred years old and streets are very narrow cobblestone right out the front door. So - amenities are modern, accomodations are simple, clean and pleasant. You can purchase groceries just down the street and cook your own meals to save a few Euros - or have snacks at hand with stove and fridge to "kick them up". It is two blocks from most bus routes to major attractions - a bit longer walk to the metro. Very near to St. Peter's for those who partake of all the Vatican has to offer. I would come back here in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#39 of 1,267 in Rome
745 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#47 of 1,267 in Rome
667 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,267 in Rome
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
211 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Borgo Pio Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Borgo Pio Residence

Address: Piazza delle Vaschette 13, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,131 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $146 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trianon Borgo Pio Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Trianon Borgo Pio Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trianon Borgo Pio Residence Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing