We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“adequate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trianon Borgo Pio Residence

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Trianon Borgo Pio Residence
Ranked #5 of 1,067 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our family of 4 (parents + 2 college age girls) stayed here for 7 nights. Used their "limo" service from the Airport since there were 4 of us. It costs a little more than a taxi (esp since taxis now chg extra for luggage) but we were tired from an overnight flt and didn't want to deal with finding a "proper" taxi. The driver was waiting right at the exit from arrivals with our name on a card and walked us to a close parking area. Highly recommend the limo. The lobby is very nice and impressive with small elevator. The reception is very friendly and very nice and help you the best they can. Our apt was very clean and very spacious with a 5' wide hallway. We booked the 2 bdrm that sleeps 6. The 2 bathrooms were esp nice to have. The heated towel rack was a nice touch. Kitchen had dishes, pots, pans, utensils, etc. Also a few packs of instant coffee, some tea, salt, sugar and pepper packets(used them up in 4 days). Decor was sparse but adequate. Beds were comfortable.
Negatives: Free wifi but connection was not good. They gave us 1 set of towels per person for the whole week and would chg extra for more. We should get another set every 3 days. Or we couldve washed them for 5 euros. We picked this apt because it had a washer/dryer but neglected to see that it was not in our apt but in the basement and we were chged 2.50euros per washer and per dryer. Also it would have been nice to include a cleaning of the apt for guests who stay longer than 3 days. Our apt was on the 2nd floor and overlooked the front. Across the street was a small square. On the weekend there was a small "festival" of some sort with performers which was nice to see but impossible to sleep until after midnight. The other side of the apt had a small light well(courtyard). An apt NOT connected to the hotel had a small balcony there, where they left their dog. This dog was friendly but barked incessantly during the day and during the night. I'm surprised I did not see this comment from other reviews. The biggest inconvenience was--no living room to sit. There was a 3rd room but it had 2 twin cots, 1 chair, a dresser and TV. We could not sit together at all except at the cramped table in the kitchen (btw, the apt sleeps 6 but sits 4 at the table). Overall, it would be a nice apt if you stayed just a few days. For approx 333 euros/night over 7 days, a cleaning and restocking of towels and supplies would be expected. I would have rated this apt a 4, but we went to Venice after Rome, and stayed in the Sarai Apts for the exact same price and these apts gave a new definition to "nice".

Room Tip: maybe the other side of the bldg (same side as the reception)won't have a barking dog?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PittsburghFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    167
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
299
134
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week with three kids. Our apartment was on the top floor with lift access. It had a master bedroom for adults and another sitting room where the sofa bed could be pulled out at night for the kids. Beds were comfy and the kids very happy with sofa bed. Bathroom was clean and modern. There was a small kitchen with all the pots, pans and cutlery you would possibly require for a holiday. We really appreciated the Italian style stove-top espresso pot - it made nice, strong coffee. There was a large fridge, a micro-wave oven and hot plates and a small kitchen table. There is a small shop a short walk away if you want to cook, get milk, bread coffee etc. Convenient laundry facilities are downstairs and even an ironing board.

The apartments and the entrance area look well kept. Staff are friendly and do their best. These apartments are busy and you can expect a line up at certain times. Wi-Fi is included but you have to go to the reception to get a code for every device you want connected and we needed new codes every day.

The location is perfect. Several decent restaurants down the adjacent street. We found the one that was just off the street, in the little court yard to be by far the best. Even the three year old had no problems walking to St. Peter's and the Vatican museum. The street leading to St Peter's has all the touristy shops, more restaurants and transport so this is all within easy striking distance from the apartments.

We would have been back this July if it were not that we were too late ordering and they are all sold out!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Trianon Borgo Pio Residence which is a little small apartment very close to the Vatican Museum and the Sistine chapel. It was walking distance so we didn't need to take a bus.
We had a car arranged at the airport to pick us up which was perfect, he knew right where to go!
The apartment was also walking distance to a market where we purchased coffee snacks and items for breakfast. It has a kitchen, bathroom, and a bedroom. The staff there were very friendly and helpful and language they spoke in English. It was the perfect place for us since we toured the Vatican Museum and arranged for a semi-private tour, we spent 3 hours there since there was so much to see and the Sistine chapel almost made you cry at the beauty of it all!
I would highly recommend this place versus a hotel since it's very spacious and has all the cooking facilities including a microwave and toaster. Many restaurants in the area and again walking distance, no cabs or buses were necessary!

Room Tip: We booked this on the internet with no problem and stayed for 3 nights. Very safe place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bargainb0nnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Well appointed, clean and well maintained. Staff and management solicitous and helpful. It seemed that all the management team spoke English to a good standard. Perfect location for visiting all the sites being 300m from the Vatican walls. Area was quiet. Small pedestrian street round the corner where you could eat out. Plenty of small grocery stores that appeared to be open all hours. We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard140912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Spotless apartments, helpful friendly staff, comfy bed, quiet at night despite being in the city centre, just perfect really. We stayed 3 nights in 4 apartments as a group of 8 adults and were all more than happy with the accommodation and the fantastic location. Hope to return soon- would definitely stay here again with or without children.

Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just returned from a girls weekend in Rome & stayed at these apartments. Staff were very friendly & helpful the rooms were clean & had everything you need. Lovely little cafe next door for coffee & breakfast. Plenty going on in this area but also peaceful (maybe we just didn't hear anything after all our sightseeing we did)! Would highly recommend these apartments. We were staying in 1 of the larger 2 bed apts. would definitely stay here again if I was ever to return to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribbean
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed here at least 8 times and I won't stay anywhere else. I used to live in Rome and this is on the same street where I lived (Borgo Vittorio). The rooms are good-sized, have WiFi, kitchenettes w/refrigerators, cooking utensils w/silverware, cups, glasses, electric tea kettle, courtesy selection of Nescafe & teas, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms. The staff are personable and friendly. The residence is centrally located: 5 minutes walking to St Peter's, 5 minutes to Castle San Angelo, 20 minutes to Piazza Navona or Campo dei Fiori, 15 minutes to Vatican museums, 20 minutes to Trastevere. Closest Metro stop is Ottaviano. You don't really need the Metro, but if you're tired of walking you can take it to see the Colisseum, Forum, Capitoline, Piazza Vittorio Emmanuelle (Wedding Cake) because those are all together. You can walk from there and see the ancient Marcello Theater and Jewish Ghetto. Spanish Steps are also a Metro Stop, but you can walk there from Piazza Navona and see the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain on the way. The staff at Trianon also let my wife and I leave some luggage in storage there for our 5 day trip north, and we collected it when we returned for our final few nights in Rome. Also, there is a small grocery store up the street with a good selection of water/food/wine/beer/bread/milk/cereal, a deli, etc. If you want more of a selection from a larger grocery store go to Cola di Rienzo, enter the Coin department store, and go downstairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coolbreez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#37 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#56 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trianon Borgo Pio Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Borgo Pio Residence

Property: Trianon Borgo Pio Residence
Address: Piazza delle Vaschette 13, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,067 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trianon Borgo Pio Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Trianon Borgo Pio Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trianon Borgo Pio Residence Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing