We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but a little expensive.”
Review of The Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Opera Hotel
Ranked #709 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Me and my adult son stayed here one night when we were watching football. The hotel's location is perfect, close and walking distance to most attractions. However, lies in a busy street in central Rome, try to get a room not facing the street if you want to have the window open.

Otherwise the hotel is quite small, there is no common throughout areas or lobby. The bar and restaurant are also missing but a cozy little breakfast terrace is covered on the roof and there they serve a simple but tasty breakfast. Our room was of average size for being in Rome, in another country I would probably have called it small. The toilet and shower, however, was spacious and decently clean The hugely ill-equipped mini-bar was broken so it did not matter that there were only three bottles in it.

Overall experience is for me an okay hotel for a few nights with a plus for breakfast and location. I think that the price is slightly on the high side for what you get.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickeSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 194 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

I booked this hotel for 3 nights as a female solo traveler. When I got to the hotel a day later than planned I was told "You don't have a reservation." I then showed the concierge the printout of my confirmed reservation and was told "We booked your room for someone else”. She called the manager -who was not on the premise at 4'o clock in the afternoon -asking what to do. She then tried to place the blame on me saying "You should have called " I explained to her that US phones don’t work internationally. I asked her why would my room be booked for someone else if I never called and cancelled this is NOT listed as part of your policy anywhere on your website. I got no answer. I was told "I'm sorry for the inconvenience you won't be charged any fee as it was a booking issue" When I checked my bank statement - I was charged an $188 fee for a hotel that had no room for me when I arrived and that I never stayed in. If you’re looking for a hotel with a reasonable and sound policy stay elsewhere!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
8  Thank Nerissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were nicely surprised by the modern interior and spacy rooms of this hotel and its terrace breakfast. The stuff was very friendly especially the lady that was serving the breakfast (her cappuccino was simply delicious).
Hotel is situated on a walking distance from the major sights but for Vatican, to get there we took a bus N 64 from Repubblica stop (2 minuts from the hotel).
We found this hotel excellent value for money especially because booking direcly from their website saved us around 20 euros per night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flora_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Superb location. Problems with our room on first night (double rather than twin - and small at that) but staff were extremely helpful and we moved rooms for the rest of our stay - great. Kept very clean, towels changed daily.

Breakfast was limited but enough to keep you going. Hot drinks were via a machine and drinks tended not to be very hot - but hey, we could live with that.

All staff were helpful. I would go back.

Good value for money.

Room Tip: I would request a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlissHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

On arrival we found the hotel sandwiched between two shop fronts. The hotel had a very small reception area and the phrase no room to swing a cat springs to mind. There wasn't any facilities to eat breakfast apart from a croissant in the room.It seemed to be a hotel for hobbits as it had winding, triangular and narrow areas The lift could either fit two small people in it without luggage or just the luggage and you had to take the stairs. The location was central alyhough the surrounding area was smelly and grubby. We certainly would not recommend to anyone unless we did not like them much.

Room Tip: Rooms in a different hotel would be beneficial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tracy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Great location: near train station (easy walking distance to hotel if you only have carry on), near buses (please ask receptionists how to get to places: once you figure the numbers out it is pretty much straight forward). Very modern, very clean and a good continental breakfast. Not to forget the wonderful lady who made us every morning a cappuccino and did also the housekeeping: always happy and smiling: a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: This is a boutique hotel so I think all rooms are pretty decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank transatlantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We've stayed here twice and just love it. Desk reception staff are so friendly and helpful. Rooms are classy and clean. Rome is expensive but I think you get good value here. Breakfast is great, continental style, with a delicious cappuccino to start your day atop the rooftop terrace. I don't really find the rooms that small. It's Europe, so I don't expect a sitting area and a big desk.
Good air-conditioning and a little fridge. No wi-fi. 10 min walk to Trevi. 15 min from Termini. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Higher up from the street, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauMah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#448 of 1,268 in Rome
624 reviews
Monti
Viminale View Hotel
Viminale View Hotel
#310 of 1,268 in Rome
104 reviews
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#366 of 1,268 in Rome
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Eurostars International Palace
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#211 of 1,268 in Rome
976 reviews
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#237 of 1,268 in Rome
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opera Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #709 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $125 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Opera Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, between Venezia and Repubblica Square, The Opera Hotel is a short stroll away from the most interesting monuments of Rome.Completely new and refined in style, the hotel is decorated with contemporary art works and offers all the comforts for a pleasant stay.Guests will appreciate the agreable and refined environment of the modern 13 rooms, completely soundproofed.A top-floor terrace, used as roof-garden and breakfast lounge offers a marvellous view over the most important historical monuments of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing