We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY DISAPPOINTING”
Review of The Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Opera Hotel
Ranked #771 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed May 1, 2012

On arrival we found the hotel sandwiched between two shop fronts. The hotel had a very small reception area and the phrase no room to swing a cat springs to mind. There wasn't any facilities to eat breakfast apart from a croissant in the room.It seemed to be a hotel for hobbits as it had winding, triangular and narrow areas The lift could either fit two small people in it without luggage or just the luggage and you had to take the stairs. The location was central alyhough the surrounding area was smelly and grubby. We certainly would not recommend to anyone unless we did not like them much.

Room Tip: Rooms in a different hotel would be beneficial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tracy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 198 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2011

Great location: near train station (easy walking distance to hotel if you only have carry on), near buses (please ask receptionists how to get to places: once you figure the numbers out it is pretty much straight forward). Very modern, very clean and a good continental breakfast. Not to forget the wonderful lady who made us every morning a cappuccino and did also the housekeeping: always happy and smiling: a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: This is a boutique hotel so I think all rooms are pretty decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank transatlantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We've stayed here twice and just love it. Desk reception staff are so friendly and helpful. Rooms are classy and clean. Rome is expensive but I think you get good value here. Breakfast is great, continental style, with a delicious cappuccino to start your day atop the rooftop terrace. I don't really find the rooms that small. It's Europe, so I don't expect a sitting area and a big desk.
Good air-conditioning and a little fridge. No wi-fi. 10 min walk to Trevi. 15 min from Termini. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Higher up from the street, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauMah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights after a business trip and the hotel was a great 3 star hotel in the centre of rome's opera distict. Rooms were modern and clean but very tight and small as expected of a 3 star european hotel. Staff were very friendly and theres a nice roof top area where breakfast is served and included in the room rate. Highly recommended and great value for money too!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed in Rome for three nights and this little Italian hotel was absolutely wonderful. The service was excellent and the room very inviting. The restoration was great and decoration very inviting modern Itanian. The location was great and we would definately come back!

Room Tip: Get the room with a balcony. It was worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwcarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We booked this hotel largely on the basis of the reviews we read on this site and elsewhere, but we were somewhat disappointed. The room was not clean, garbage from the previous guests was still there. It is extremely small and the elevator only holds one person and one bag, if you squeeze in. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the staff was helpful although we had to wait over an hour at the airport for our prearranged ride. The best part of the stay was the breakfast in the lovely roof garden.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at the Opera Hotel for just one night before leaving for home. The good points: the room was small, but nicely laid-out. The bathroom was a decent size, with marble and travertine floors and walls. The bed was comfortable, and the linens crisp. The television was a flat screen attached to the wall opposite the bed. The breakfast room was nice, and the lady running it was extremely pleasant and cheerful.
The bad points: there was no ventilation whatsoever except for opening the window. The traffic noise was so loud with the window open that we could not hear television at all. There was a loud band playing on the street corner outside the hotel. The receptionist tried to get the a/c to turn on, but after multiple tries and a call to her boss, reported that the a/c could not be turned on because "it's winter." We could not even get the fan to run. This was a very warm October day, and the room was quite hot. We had to open the window and also prop open the hallway door for about 2 hours to get the room to a bearable temperature. We closed it in order to sleep, and by morning the room was again uncomfortably warm.
The bathroom had not been properly cleaned prior to our arrival: there was trash still in the wastebasket, and the toilet had not been cleaned. The vanity lights above the sink did not work, and also one light next to the bed did not work. The shower head was clogged, so the water sprayed out in various directions.
Overall, I would not choose this hotel again. There were some good points, but the numerous issues in just a one night stay would send me elsewhere on our next visit to Rome.

Room Tip: Don't stay here during warm months unless you first verify that the a/c is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ladylawyer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Esposizione Palace Hotel
Esposizione Palace Hotel
#711 of 1,272 in Rome
13 reviews
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#311 of 1,272 in Rome
345 reviews
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#368 of 1,272 in Rome
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#363 of 1,272 in Rome
1,052 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#65 of 1,272 in Rome
745 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,272 in Rome
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opera Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #771 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Opera Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, between Venezia and Repubblica Square, The Opera Hotel is a short stroll away from the most interesting monuments of Rome.Completely new and refined in style, the hotel is decorated with contemporary art works and offers all the comforts for a pleasant stay.Guests will appreciate the agreable and refined environment of the modern 13 rooms, completely soundproofed.A top-floor terrace, used as roof-garden and breakfast lounge offers a marvellous view over the most important historical monuments of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing