We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian Hotel”
Review of The Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Opera Hotel
Ranked #731 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Italian Hotel”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed in Rome for three nights and this little Italian hotel was absolutely wonderful. The service was excellent and the room very inviting. The restoration was great and decoration very inviting modern Itanian. The location was great and we would definately come back!

Room Tip: Get the room with a balcony. It was worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwcarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    80
    29
    19
    9
See reviews for
21
104
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We booked this hotel largely on the basis of the reviews we read on this site and elsewhere, but we were somewhat disappointed. The room was not clean, garbage from the previous guests was still there. It is extremely small and the elevator only holds one person and one bag, if you squeeze in. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the staff was helpful although we had to wait over an hour at the airport for our prearranged ride. The best part of the stay was the breakfast in the lovely roof garden.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at the Opera Hotel for just one night before leaving for home. The good points: the room was small, but nicely laid-out. The bathroom was a decent size, with marble and travertine floors and walls. The bed was comfortable, and the linens crisp. The television was a flat screen attached to the wall opposite the bed. The breakfast room was nice, and the lady running it was extremely pleasant and cheerful.
The bad points: there was no ventilation whatsoever except for opening the window. The traffic noise was so loud with the window open that we could not hear television at all. There was a loud band playing on the street corner outside the hotel. The receptionist tried to get the a/c to turn on, but after multiple tries and a call to her boss, reported that the a/c could not be turned on because "it's winter." We could not even get the fan to run. This was a very warm October day, and the room was quite hot. We had to open the window and also prop open the hallway door for about 2 hours to get the room to a bearable temperature. We closed it in order to sleep, and by morning the room was again uncomfortably warm.
The bathroom had not been properly cleaned prior to our arrival: there was trash still in the wastebasket, and the toilet had not been cleaned. The vanity lights above the sink did not work, and also one light next to the bed did not work. The shower head was clogged, so the water sprayed out in various directions.
Overall, I would not choose this hotel again. There were some good points, but the numerous issues in just a one night stay would send me elsewhere on our next visit to Rome.

Room Tip: Don't stay here during warm months unless you first verify that the a/c is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladylawyer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at The Opera Hotel. Our room was nice, I had concerns about the room being dark but we didn't find that to be the case. I liked the modern decoration of the hotel and our room.

It seemed to us that they need to spend a little bit of money to bring the hotel back to it's original opening state. There just seemed to be quite a few little things that went wrong. The 1st floor elevator button was broken for a few days. The phones were out for a few days. Our shower didn't drain, you had to stop in the middle of the shower to avoid and overflow. The showerhead was blocked. The electricity didn't work in all of the plugs. There were burnt out lights in the room. Nothing major but enough to see that maintenance is needed.

The front desk staff were excellent. They advised us of the best times to head to places, they recommended great restarurants and were very helpful with directions. The woman in charge of cleaning our room was great and super nice. I was sick one day and she wanted to make sure we had clean towels so she sent them up with my husband after breakfast.

I highly recommed the breakfast, it's plentiful and good. Taking breakfast eliminates having to find it in the morning, one less thing to think of and it's great food.

One note, they have quite a computer system at the hotel, very detailed and I felt uneasy about exactly what they can control from the front desk. They can tell if the bathroom door is locked from the front desk turn on/off the heat, regulate the room temperature, monitor the lights etc. It just made me a bit uncomfortable.

The hotel is located close to everything, we walked most places, took the bus and subway to the rest.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly7612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

After looking for more than 80 hotel´s sites at the Internet , I found this "" Hidden Treasure "" in Rome. My Family and I stayed at The Opera Hotel for 6 nights , we got 2 Rooms ( 410 & 413 ) and it was just 100% PERFECT . All rooms are Super NEW , Modern Style , The ROOMS are bigger than the Average Room size in most Rome hotels. The Room 413 is the Biggest room and has it own Balcony . Lets go for the best of ""OPERA Hotel "" :

LOCATION !!! , it is Located in the Middle of the Action , for example :
Train Terminal = 800 meters ( 1/2 mile ) , Repubblica Metro Station = 400 meters ( 1/4 mile ) Colosseum = 800 meters ( 1/2 mile ) , Fontana di Trevi = 1.000 meters (2/3 mile) , Spanish Steps ( shopping area ) 1.100 meters ( 2/3 mile ) , Monument Vittorio Emanuelle = 1.000 meters ( 2/3 mile ) .

Between all the GOOD things about this Hotel , Comfort , Cleaning , Location ............................. I would give a SPECIAL ATTENTION to the Hotel´s STAFF , they make you Feel Like HOME !!!
On the Front Desk , you have the " charming " Valentina and the Very Special EMANUELA ( who Speaks Fluently : English , Portuguese , Spanish and French ) , they do LOVE Help and Talk to you . Do Not leave the Hotel Before have a Good and Pleasant Talking with then .

Last , but not least = a "" Standing Applause "" for the Special Lady at Breakfast , Mrs. GIULIA , I have traveled all around the World , but NEVER had this Kind of Attention & Love as we got from GIULIA , I bet you will be Impressed .............................

After all , I do have to say some things NOT so PERFECT about this Hotel , the Front Desk is Located 15 Steps UP from the sidewalk , so You Do Have to care your Bags up and down this 15 steps , anyway , I do not do this every day .............

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcosF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night after we got back from our cruise. The reviews I had read before my stay on Trip Advisor are all correct. Very nice clean rooms. Friendly staff. Nice enough breakfast, just pastries, cereal, cheese and cold cuts, coffee and juice, but that is basically a continental breakfast. The 5th floor where the breakfast is served is beautiful. We walked across the street to a neighborhood market for pastries the night before, and they have enough items to buy a light dinner/lunch from there. The door to the hotel looks like you are going into the shops around it, and you do have to walk up a flight of stairs to get to the first floor. Also, the elevator is tiny, barely fit our luggage. Room was very nice and bed was comfy. We did walk to a few shops and around the corner to dinner. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graceswan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed with a friend in 2007 & chose to bring my husband back here last month. It was awesome! You've read in other reviews, so this is just to recap: Location is mere blocks from train station, Forum, and all the other major sites. Plus there is plenty of shopping (normal, not the luxury stuff) right below, & lots of restaurants within easy walking distance. Rooms immaculate. Staff extremely helpful and patient. The breakfast on the 5th floor was always really nice. We went to the rooftop one night and had a bottle of wine and a little picnic up there. Highly recommend if you want to get away from the crowds. It was deserted. Also, the hotel is very quiet. We never heard people in rooms nearby.
I only have 2 COMPLAINTS: 1. There is no WIFIi available which the hotel could definitely remedied very easily.
2. You have to climb a flight of stairs with your luggage to get to the front desk. It would be great, especially for elderly folks if they had you leave your luggage at the bottom and offered to bring it up for you. We didn't mind though since we were traveling pretty light.
It's a really nice place to come and relax after a busy day sightseeing. I'll definitely go there again if I ever make it back to Rome.

Room Tip: Call the Hotel direct to book your room and ask for early check-in. They do their best to accomodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#420 of 1,261 in Rome
620 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#69 of 1,261 in Rome
719 reviews
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#241 of 1,261 in Rome
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#376 of 1,261 in Rome
1,009 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#216 of 1,261 in Rome
953 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opera Hotel

Property: The Opera Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #731 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — The Opera Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, between Venezia and Repubblica Square, The Opera Hotel is a short stroll away from the most interesting monuments of Rome.Completely new and refined in style, the hotel is decorated with contemporary art works and offers all the comforts for a pleasant stay.Guests will appreciate the agreable and refined environment of the modern 13 rooms, completely soundproofed.A top-floor terrace, used as roof-garden and breakfast lounge offers a marvellous view over the most important historical monuments of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing