We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option”
Review of The Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Opera Hotel
Ranked #712 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night after we got back from our cruise. The reviews I had read before my stay on Trip Advisor are all correct. Very nice clean rooms. Friendly staff. Nice enough breakfast, just pastries, cereal, cheese and cold cuts, coffee and juice, but that is basically a continental breakfast. The 5th floor where the breakfast is served is beautiful. We walked across the street to a neighborhood market for pastries the night before, and they have enough items to buy a light dinner/lunch from there. The door to the hotel looks like you are going into the shops around it, and you do have to walk up a flight of stairs to get to the first floor. Also, the elevator is tiny, barely fit our luggage. Room was very nice and bed was comfy. We did walk to a few shops and around the corner to dinner. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank graceswan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 196 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed with a friend in 2007 & chose to bring my husband back here last month. It was awesome! You've read in other reviews, so this is just to recap: Location is mere blocks from train station, Forum, and all the other major sites. Plus there is plenty of shopping (normal, not the luxury stuff) right below, & lots of restaurants within easy walking distance. Rooms immaculate. Staff extremely helpful and patient. The breakfast on the 5th floor was always really nice. We went to the rooftop one night and had a bottle of wine and a little picnic up there. Highly recommend if you want to get away from the crowds. It was deserted. Also, the hotel is very quiet. We never heard people in rooms nearby.
I only have 2 COMPLAINTS: 1. There is no WIFIi available which the hotel could definitely remedied very easily.
2. You have to climb a flight of stairs with your luggage to get to the front desk. It would be great, especially for elderly folks if they had you leave your luggage at the bottom and offered to bring it up for you. We didn't mind though since we were traveling pretty light.
It's a really nice place to come and relax after a busy day sightseeing. I'll definitely go there again if I ever make it back to Rome.

Room Tip: Call the Hotel direct to book your room and ask for early check-in. They do their best to accomodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here on our last night in Italy. We were leaving from the airport in the morning and did not want an airport hotel. We picked the Opera Hotel for its location near the train station. What a good surprise. Since this was the lowest price we paid for a room Italy we were not expecting much. The room was good and clean and had a new bathroom. The floors were beautiful marble throughout. The staff was friendly and helpful and got us a car for the next morning's drive to the airport as there was a taxi strike. We were glad we had the car. It was much nicer than the taxi's and was air conditioned. Breakfast was ok.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank SherandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Hotel Opera is a great hotel in the heart of rome. The location is extremely convenient and is a walking distance from the train station. There were a host of eating joints next to it and the street , via nazionale is a main street that stays alive till 12 AM.
The staff was very helpful , especially Irene who was always willing to help us. The breakfast on the terrace was excellent and again very helpful and friendly staff served us.
The rooms were neat and spacious with good amenities and a free internet connection (thru a cable not WIFI). The bathrooms were also of a good size and not the usual small sized holes you get in major cities of Europe.
As far as I am concerned it will be THe Opera Hotel again when I travel to Rome.
The pictures on the website are the true representation of what you will get.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vpgshina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Excellent Hotel, great staff, close to all amenities especially bus and railhead Hotel Opera Roma is one of the best hotels in Rome clean great rooms and hassle free. Highly recommended. Thank you very much for looking after us.

Room Tip: Central to all restaurants, Railhead and Buses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed here for three nights. Lovely room, very clean and comfortable. Pretty good location as you can walk from the hotel to most sites in Rome. Via Nazionale was a little noisy but the windows did a good job of blocking out street noise. Breakfast on the roof was really nice and the service was great. Front desk personnel were very helpful and even gave us a cable for us to access the internet from our room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockieReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We had a great stay in Rome. This is the second time I have stayed at the opera hotel and still find it to be the best value for money and location. The rooms are clean and new, the decor is contemporary and fresh and it is close to everything worth seeing. It was even central to some of the nightlife recommended by the locals. I couldn't believe some of the prices other hotels were charging for lesser quality and further distance.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah81Cairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Target Inn
Target Inn
#466 of 1,271 in Rome
278 reviews
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#367 of 1,271 in Rome
872 reviews
Monti
Esposizione Palace Hotel
Esposizione Palace Hotel
#778 of 1,271 in Rome
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#242 of 1,271 in Rome
1,543 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#136 of 1,271 in Rome
963 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#141 of 1,271 in Rome
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opera Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #712 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $98 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Opera Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, between Venezia and Repubblica Square, The Opera Hotel is a short stroll away from the most interesting monuments of Rome.Completely new and refined in style, the hotel is decorated with contemporary art works and offers all the comforts for a pleasant stay.Guests will appreciate the agreable and refined environment of the modern 13 rooms, completely soundproofed.A top-floor terrace, used as roof-garden and breakfast lounge offers a marvellous view over the most important historical monuments of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing