We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a good surprise”
Review of The Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Opera Hotel
Ranked #704 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here on our last night in Italy. We were leaving from the airport in the morning and did not want an airport hotel. We picked the Opera Hotel for its location near the train station. What a good surprise. Since this was the lowest price we paid for a room Italy we were not expecting much. The room was good and clean and had a new bathroom. The floors were beautiful marble throughout. The staff was friendly and helpful and got us a car for the next morning's drive to the airport as there was a taxi strike. We were glad we had the car. It was much nicer than the taxi's and was air conditioned. Breakfast was ok.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank SherandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 196 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

Hotel Opera is a great hotel in the heart of rome. The location is extremely convenient and is a walking distance from the train station. There were a host of eating joints next to it and the street , via nazionale is a main street that stays alive till 12 AM.
The staff was very helpful , especially Irene who was always willing to help us. The breakfast on the terrace was excellent and again very helpful and friendly staff served us.
The rooms were neat and spacious with good amenities and a free internet connection (thru a cable not WIFI). The bathrooms were also of a good size and not the usual small sized holes you get in major cities of Europe.
As far as I am concerned it will be THe Opera Hotel again when I travel to Rome.
The pictures on the website are the true representation of what you will get.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vpgshina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Excellent Hotel, great staff, close to all amenities especially bus and railhead Hotel Opera Roma is one of the best hotels in Rome clean great rooms and hassle free. Highly recommended. Thank you very much for looking after us.

Room Tip: Central to all restaurants, Railhead and Buses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed here for three nights. Lovely room, very clean and comfortable. Pretty good location as you can walk from the hotel to most sites in Rome. Via Nazionale was a little noisy but the windows did a good job of blocking out street noise. Breakfast on the roof was really nice and the service was great. Front desk personnel were very helpful and even gave us a cable for us to access the internet from our room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockieReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We had a great stay in Rome. This is the second time I have stayed at the opera hotel and still find it to be the best value for money and location. The rooms are clean and new, the decor is contemporary and fresh and it is close to everything worth seeing. It was even central to some of the nightlife recommended by the locals. I couldn't believe some of the prices other hotels were charging for lesser quality and further distance.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah81Cairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The pictures on the web do not really portray an accurate representation of the room we thought we would be reserving. Instead of what we saw on the hotel's website pictures, we arrived to a room that smelled musty, had significant mold in the shower, the built-in hairdryer's cord was frayed with split exposed wires, and no water glasses available. We could have used a candle which probably would have given us as much light in the main room as the installed lights and lamps provided. It was a joke. We immediately went back down to the desk after inspecting the room to inform the hotel attendant that we did not wish to stay at their hotel but were informed that per the hotel policy, if we cancelled without 48 hours notice, we would be charged for 2-night stay. There were no other rooms in the hotel available. We stayed for the 2 nights since they were already going to charge our credit card and then changed hotels. We booked this hotel based on the website pictures and travel advisory reviews. We took pictures and showed them to the hotel desk attendant. She did not appear to be too surprised by the pictures. I would never stay at this hotel again and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbohnsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Our experience at The Opera Hotel was great -- from all standpoints.

My new wife and I just spent four days on our honeymoon at The Opera Hotel in September 2010, on the recommendation of close Roman friends. I speak good Italian and have traveled extensively in Italy, and have stayed in places ranging from fleabag hotels in Palermo to the Danieli in Venice. I also worked at a luxury hotel earlier in my career, so I know what standards are appropriate in nice hotels. The Opera Hotel does not charge expensive room rates, but its standards are definitely on the high end and it overachieves at pretty much everything. It is an exceptional value.

At The Opera Hotel, the rooms and common areas were impeccably clean; the service was pleasant, prompt and discreet; the rooms were generously sized and very pleasantly appointed. The hotel is located on the Via Nazionale, a well traveled street close to pretty much all of Rome's attractions -- but the hotel rooms have double-paned glass so the rooms were extremely quiet. (I refer to "rooms" because we stayed in two different rooms, due to my own bungled scheduling of our dates....we changed rooms on the final night, so we were both on the 4th floor initially, and then on the 3rd floor). We slept with no interruptions of any kind. The rooms are all air-conditioned, which can be a life-saver in Rome even into the fall, when the heat and humidity can be high (especially for Americans who are used to A/C and expect it).

The hotel could be described as a small, friendly, appealing boutique hotel -- with very attractive, modern, comfortable furnishings and ambiance.

One of my pet peeves in Italian hotels in years past has been maids banging around in the hallways in the morning hours, presumably trying to arouse travelers to vacate their rooms so that maids can do their cleaning service in the rooms. This was NOT the case at The Opera, which was quiet throughout our stay. In fact, the hotel only has a few rooms per floor, and although the hotel was fully booked (hence our need to change rooms), I rarely heard or saw anyone in the hallways at all.

The hotel serves breakfast on the 5th floor roof terrace, and this is a lovely place to start the day. There are cereal options, croissants, crostata di marmelata options, in addition to juice, coffee, tea and most anything else you would want in the morning.

I am trying to think of some shortcomings to mention here....I can think of none. Our stay at the Opera Hotel was a pleasure all-around, and I intend to stay there the next time I get to Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Target Inn
Target Inn
#477 of 1,271 in Rome
278 reviews
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#363 of 1,271 in Rome
871 reviews
Monti
Esposizione Palace Hotel
Esposizione Palace Hotel
#782 of 1,271 in Rome
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#243 of 1,271 in Rome
1,542 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#144 of 1,271 in Rome
962 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#139 of 1,271 in Rome
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opera Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #704 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $98 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Opera Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, between Venezia and Repubblica Square, The Opera Hotel is a short stroll away from the most interesting monuments of Rome.Completely new and refined in style, the hotel is decorated with contemporary art works and offers all the comforts for a pleasant stay.Guests will appreciate the agreable and refined environment of the modern 13 rooms, completely soundproofed.A top-floor terrace, used as roof-garden and breakfast lounge offers a marvellous view over the most important historical monuments of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing