We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Happy Village & Camping
Ranked #675 of 1,120 Specialty Lodging in Rome
ramsgate, kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for sightseeing”
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Just came back from a 4 night stay, our flight landed at 8pm and we were going to get the train to Termini, then the metro to Flaminio (then another metro to Prima Porta) but ended up getting a ShuttleBus> approached by a guy in the airport saying 15 euros each to our hotel> was a bit dubious at first but turned out to be ok, though not sure if it was a real company or not. Paid another 10 euros as it was 15 km outside of Rome.Was lucky as may not have been able to get to the camp site otherwise!

Our bungalow was exactly what you need for a short break, bed, bathroom, tv and a heater/aircon system. Only english channel is CNN but dont really need to watch tv!

I would advise that if you want to go out in the evening, this isnt the place to stay, the last bus (run free by Happy Camping) is at 10.30pm from Prima Porta station, and the only way to get back is to get a taxi from Rome which is at least 40 euros.(There are no taxis at Prima Porta, they come out of rome)

If you just want to sightsee all day, then this is a great place, it takes 18minutes on the metro which is only a euro and is valid for 75 minutes so you can use it on the bus once you get into rome too!
The food in the restaurant was decent and not too expensive for pizza or pasta. Wine was nice and pretty cheap.
The staff in the restaurant were friendly as was the bus driver, didnt really see any of the others as didnt have any problems or anything.
The free shuttle bus runs regularly, 9, 10 & 11am to the station and 5, 7, 8 &10.30 pm back to the camp site.
We got to the station early a couple of times and there was a bus to pick us up outisde of these hours, which was great as would have had to wait about 2 hours otherwise. Dont expect this though, as we did arrive at Prima Porta at 5.15 once and had to wait until 7 to get picked up!

Overall, good place
Bad points: didnt have our bungalow cleaned for the duration of our stay
cant go out in the evening unless you return before 10.30

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smes9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    62
    53
    34
    45
See reviews for
73
92
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2009

10 minutes away from rome's center by rain,the food is excellent although it is a camoing site,nice bungalows ,welcoming peolple and peace and quiet

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicardoM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Recently spent 3 days at this campsite and had a really good stay. We hired one of the mobile homes/bungalows and was very good value for money and exceptionally clean. The campsite has a small pool in a lovely setting and it was great to have a swim and lounge by the pool after a long day walking around the city. The campsite restaurant and bar is nice too, it's at the top of the campsite and has lovely views into the hills.
I would recommend this site for a short stay as it's quite small and you might get bored if you were staying longer than a week. It's about 10 miles out of Rome to Prima Porta, the little place where the train station is and then another 5 miles to the campsite. The site runs a minibus tp and from Prima Porta which starts at 08.00 and runs every hour until 11.00 and then stops until 14.00. The last bus back to the site is at 22.30 so you can get a full day in Rome if you want to. Travel on the local trains is really cheap , with the ticket to Rome costing just 1 Euro. The only thing to be mindful of is travel to the airport. We were flying out of Rome on a very early flight and couldn't use public transport to get there and so had to take a taxi and this was really expensive at 55 euros when you consider that the journey is only 20 minutes. We were told that this is because the area where the site is located does not have a taxi company and so taxis have to come out of Rome centre.
That aside, we really like the site and would go back as it's very peaceful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30somethings_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

GETTING THERE: From the airport via the metro: about 1.5 - 2 hours and will cost you about 12 euros pp. The metro is very easy to navigate and being from NYC, my boyfriend and I had no problem. If you take a cab/shuttle service, it'll take about 20-30 minutes. If you don't mind taking the metro, take it going but take a shuttle service back...it's worth the extra 20 Euros.

COST: This place is great for the traveler on a tight budget.

LOCATION: A bit out there, but the free shuttle service to Prima Porta station is on time and is about a 10-15 minute car ride. From there, the train takes about 20 minutes to Flaminio station which is a few stops from Termini (the main connection hub)...so total time: 25-30 minutes.

ROOMS: Less than great and not very roomy. NOT FOR PICKY TRAVELERS AT ALL. We had the cabin for 2 people. Bed isn't exactly soft, and the shower had some mildew. No toilet paper is provided (you can buy some at their store for 0.50). CNN and MTV were only the only English channels. Very small TV; you'll need a current coverter to charge things and there is a fee for extra towels (we didn't need any extra however). A slight damp smell tends to linger, just keep the windows open. No cleaning/maid service. Internet available for 4 euros per hour (can use the time in sections).

ONSITE RESTAURANT: Stay away from the steak! Their pizza and french fries are pretty good though. Decent prices and friendly staff.

OVERALL RECOMMENDATION: Stay here only if you're on a budget, don't mind taking the 25-30 minute commute into town and will spend most of your time outside and really just need a place to stay.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Mildew in bathroom and damp smell
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

London
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2008

My husband and I booked to stay here for 5 nights and only stayed for one! We booked a bungalow which was more like a bunkerbin!! The campsite was really empty and we were above an electric pilon.... The supermarket is really small and it generally didnt have much atmosphere. However on the up side- the staff were really friendly and the shuttle bus was really handy and not far into the centre of Rome..... i would say if you were going to go there- camp and dont book a "bungalow"..... as there are places to stay in the centre of Rome that are only a little more expensive.....

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank WasiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2008

What a fantastic campsite! We camped in a small tent here for 4 nights and had a great time. The sites were small but large enough for a car and a small tent. The bathrooms were clean and the free shuttle bus to the train station was a fantastic service. We never had to wait long to get to or from the station. It took about half an hour or so to get from the train station to the city (you change trains once to get to the centre of Rome).

Our most favourite thing about this camp site was the onsite restaurant and shop. We ate here most nights of our stay. The food was delicious, reasonably priced, and there was a good variety. My husband celebrated his birthday during our stay and one of the staff came and sang happy birthday to him in Italian. It was the highlight of his day! The staff are very friendly and helpful too and there are three computers with access to the Internet.

I would recommend this campsite to anyone - it was the best one we stayed at in Europe during our month camping.

  • Liked — the restaurant
  • Disliked — distance to the city
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wetookthebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Had a brilliant two stops here as myself and my wife travelled Italy July 2007. The food on site was excellent and would recommend to all. Ideal location for day trips to Rome as the site provides a bus service to the train station then Rome in 5mins. The staff were all freindly and pleasant. We stayed in one of the sites chalets which was good and the air conditioning was a bonus. This site is ideal for families.

David James-Ash

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank david_jamesash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
8.4 mi away
Scheppers Hotel
Scheppers Hotel
#1,036 of 1,261 in Rome
261 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Jonico
Hotel Jonico
#743 of 1,261 in Rome
340 reviews
11.0 mi away
Camping Tiber
Camping Tiber
#124 of 1,120 in Rome
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Seven Hills Camping Village & Resort
3.2 mi away
Flaminio Village Bungalow Park
15.7 mi away
Camping Village Fabulous
Camping Village Fabulous
#18 of 1,120 in Rome
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Village & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Village & Camping

Property: Happy Village & Camping
Address: Via del Prato della Corte 1915, 00123 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #675 of 1,120 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Village & Camping 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Shuttle Bus from Happy Camping to the nearby Metro station of Prima Porta, which allows to reach the old city center (Piazzale Flaminio) in just 18 minutes. Completely new bungalow with or without bathroom with or without kitchen. All with small private garden. Swimming pool for adults with fully equipped solarium + supervised swimming pool for children (open from May to September). Bar with porch and T.V. room, market, pizzeria and panoramic restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PitchUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Happy Village & Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Village And Camping
Happy Village & Camping Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing