We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Night on Arrival at Rome's Fiumicino Airport is perfect”
Review of Barcelo Aran Blu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Aran Blu
Ranked #417 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Westminster, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“First Night on Arrival at Rome's Fiumicino Airport is perfect”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo Aran Blu for the first and last night of a family trip. It made for a nice place to enter Rome after a very long flight, and a chance to recoup and sleep. The hotel is modern and clean, and the staff is very helpful We choose to pre-pay and to get the breakfast plan, so that we could have our first day in a foreign place as easy as possible. The hotel is close for a taxi, reasonable, and has excellent service staff. You can walk the beach, and put your toes into the sand as well. We visited Ostia Antica by bus from there, and the staff helped us find our way to an excellent day of discovery of the ancient ruins of old Rome. This was a perfect introduction to Italy.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the water, and that was a treat for our senses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    192
    102
    45
    43
See reviews for
86
226
25
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very modern hotel with friendly and welcoming staff. The rooms are clean and it is nice that they have a balcony. There are some disadvantages though: The bathroom has only a frosted glass door, which is slightly uncomfortable. Also the key card nearly never works because of the strange system it has. I would furthermore recommend everyone to specifically ask for a seaside room as all the other rooms face the backside which is a ghetto-style building-area.
But the air-conditioning system is good, the room-cleaning worked and the beach is very close-by. It takes 20 minutes to walk to the "city centre", about 7 minutes to the next supermarket and 5 to the beach where you can swim. Especially great is that you can take a walk on the beach or sit there by just crossing a small street.
Nights are very quiet as well.

Room Tip: Request sea-side view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globusat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Minsk, Belarus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

At least once a life everyone should go to Roma, and I'm sure not just once ;)
And so did we and decided to visit roma with family. But Roma was not planned the only place to stay a whole week, we wanted some sun on a beach as well. For these requirements Barcelo aran Blu is ideal:
- It's near the airport (and you won't stuck in traffic on the way). Though we got there by car, I think the airport neighbourhood is a plus.
- It has private parking (free) - at the conditions that all streets are full of parked cars, it's a big plus.
- The beach is right in front of the hotel, you just need to cross the street.
- Though you may enjoy meals in the Hotel's restaurant (and most of time they are opening a roof terrase for the dinner!), there are many cafes and restaraunts in the port nearby (the tourist port of Roma, no cruise liners there, no cargo, just beatiful yachts).
- You can get to Roma very easily: just jump into the bus nr.1 nearby and in 5 minutes you are at the railway station, the train gets you into heart of Roma in 20 minutes. Really cool.

So... recommended for Roma visitors who also want to combine the stay with some relax on a sea coast.

Room Tip: Swimming pool/Kids activiyies given low mark b/c there are no pool or any activities for kids. But t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrei_Bohush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Österreich
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A very good hotel near the airport Rome Fiumiciono Rome (FCO). We used it as an airport hotel. The price was more than acceptable for students. Although the hotel is something away from the airport (about 25 minutes by public transport: 2 buses), but that you must accept for the reasonable price. It can be seen as a disadvantage, in the off-season late in the evening that isn't so easy to find an open restaurant near the hotel. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty. In summary: recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matmas90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We wanted a rest after 3 weeks travelling, and before we flew out - hotel is near airport, local community taxi just 20Euro from airport and 30Euro return. Room was lovely and modern and we had a sea view, balcony. Beach opposite, just across the road and you could take a lounger from hotel. Café on the beach was delightful, great espresso! Staff friendly, spoke good English. Breakfast quite good, though not enough fresh fruit. Coffee machine :( a little sad for a 'high priced' hotel. Scrambled eggs totally ruined from overcooking. We ate at the restaurant which had only been re-opened after renovating and though the waiting staff were wonderful, friendly, helpful... the food was awful. We didn't eat there again. All in all we had a good 4 days there.

Room Tip: get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I chose to stay at Barcelo Aran Blu, because I had a morning flight to catch out of Rome. I essentially made it to the hotel only to walk across the street for dinner, go to bed and walk along the waterfront the next morning. I found the room to be modern and clean. The window coverings were a bit interesting with some sort of a print that only appeared in certain light. Service was good. I would stay again the next time I had to be close to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VBeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Clean, large, modern and design rooms. We got the sea view - the no sea view makes the room look much more dull... Although we had to pay extra. Comfy bed. A little on the pricey side in my opinion. Full breakfast, although I dont get how a 4 star hotel can offer,automatic machine coffee - but you could ask them to make you one from a real espresso machine and it was delicious. Be aware that if you ask for a cab to pick you up at the hotel ( we took one downtown to catch the bus to the airport, 30 minutes away and 1.30 euros), they will charge you FROM downtown... Wish I'd known or wish the desk girl would have told me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Scaletta
Hotel La Scaletta
#1 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
434 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sirenetta
Hotel Sirenetta
#2 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belvedere Century
Belvedere Century
#3 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Riviera
Best Western Hotel Riviera
#9 of 23 in Fiumicino
367 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#1 of 23 in Fiumicino
1,083 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Del Mare
Hotel Del Mare
#14 of 23 in Fiumicino
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Aran Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Aran Blu

Property: Barcelo Aran Blu
Address: Lungomare Duca Degli Abruzzi 72 | Lido Di Ostia - RM, 00121 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Aran Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Aran Blu **** hotel located in the tourist port of Ostia is a cozy design hotel with large glazed areas affording beautiful views of the Mediterranean. Its modern rooms were renovated in 2014 and fully equipped with all the comforts for an unforgettable stay on the beachfront, most of them with a terrace and some with sea views. Indulge in succulent Italian cuisine prepared in the restaurant by its Executive Chefs and visit the "Tramonto Sky Terrace"where you can taste the best cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Aran Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Aran Blu Hotel Rome
Aran Blu Rome
Hotel Aran Blu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing