We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Stayed here for just one night at the start of our visit to Rome.

The hotel is superbly positioned about 2 blocks from the bottom of the Spanish steps but just slightly off the main street so that it is relatively quiet.

This is certainly one of the smaller boutique hotels we have stayed at and the reception area is a very small room on the fist floor reached by a lift or short flight of stairs. Other than that there are no public areas at all except the lovely terrace on the top floor which also serves breakfast (which we didn't experience)

Our room was a beautiful suite on the 4th floor extremely tastefully decorated (as you would expect from Salvatore Ferragamo) and very comfortable indeed. No views to mention from either of our two sets of windows but this shouldn't be surprising in a city centre. Staff were exceptionally helpful with restaurant recommendations - in fact, they have a wonderful little guide to a wide variety of restaurants in Rome which you must use and which is broken down into, chic, modern, traditional trattoria etc.

My only very mildly negative comment concerns parking. It is a fairly difficult hotel to drive to (being in the controlled zone) and there is no parking. Similarly there is no parking service although one of the excellent staff accompanied me in the car to a garage approximately half a mile away and walked back with me to the hotel. The following day we had to negotiate our way back to the hotel to collect our luggage. No big deal but you should think twice before taking a car there.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandASanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    41
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
157
385
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

I've only just got round to writing this review but really felt I must - staying here was such a wonderful experience. Everything was perfect - the staff, the location, the decor, the attention to detail. When we arrived (late and in the rain), we were greeted with such a warm welcome. Roman Holiday was playing on the TV in the reception area, truly setting the scene, and the staff offered welcome drinks and a seat in very slouchy chairs! We immediately felt at home and the staff chatted to us and took time to talk us through the hotel, the local area and the tourist attractions. As a girl and general lover of shoes, I was already impressed with the Ferragamo shoe displays and Audrey Hepburn photos carefully displayed in the hall and up the stairway on the way to reception. Ferragamo is a renowned designer and the decor and quality in the rooms and throughout the hotel lived up to his reputation. His shop is located downstairs on one of the main designer shopping streets, and just minutes away from the Spanish Steps. It's an excellent location, and surprisingly quiet as the hotel have managed to get the entrance on a much quieter street. Breakfast was served on silver service trays each morning in the room (it's served on the terrace when the weather is nice) and was lovely. Bathrobes, slippers and the bed were cosy, comfy and luxurious. Our room had a large dressing area and also a very cleverly designed kitchen area with superb coffee maker and jars of lovely goodies - a very welcome alternative to the usual mini bar fayre. The autobiography of Ferragamo left in the room is well worth a read, and of course Roman Holiday and other must see films are available to watch in your room! The staff really did make this holiday though - we don't encounter such helpful, cheery and welcoming types quite as often as we should in hotels of this level. An excellent hotel - book it.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CITY_BREAK_KAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

This is an amazing place to stay - and about 200 metres from the Spanish Steps. From the moment you walk in the door the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They recommended great restaurants and got us tickets to a sold-out exhibition. They also let us borrow a laptop for our stay as ours died.

The rooms are beautiful with a kitchen and walk-in wardrobe, large bathroom and comfortable bed.

The highlight of the hotel is the rooftop terrace. Overlooking the Spanish Steps with very comfortable furniture and an outdoor fireplace you never want to leave. The honour bar means you can choose your own drinks without having to go anywhere.

The only thing which wasnt fantastic was the breakfast. But as it was included in the rate it didnt really matter.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie_meee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

As it says in the title really!
Although....
the breakfast menu whilst very nice is some what limited.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonhendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights in Portrait Suites in February 2010 for a romantic long-weekend. The hotel which belongs to the Ferragamo family, has an unbeatable advantage to others in terms of location. It is just steps away from the Spanish Steps and your next door neighbors are Versace, Hermes etc.. It has around 15 rooms, and a small room that counts as a reception on the first floor. Basically you have to ring the bell and the receptionist comes to open the door for you. There is no restaurant but you can order limited room service if you feel craving at night. The breakfast is served in your room in the morning, which is limited but tasty, and feels good if you like to eat your breakfast in bed. We stayed in a junior suite which was very tastefully decorated with two flat screen tvs and a kitchenette in the living room area. There is not bathtub in the bathroom but a shower, so if you must have a bubble bath after walking all around Rome to relax, you must be careful. In the room there is dvd and ipod player, and you can take out dvds from the hotels reception. The hotel staff is very helpful and knowledgeable, and they recommend great restaurants that are known mostly to Italians. We quite liked the fact that this is a very small boutique hotel and you dont have to meet a million people when you are in and out of the hotel but you can come in and out as if it is your house. However, it was winter when we were there but in summer one may require more space or gardens to chill out. There is a lovely roof terrace where they could also serve food, but it was rainy during our stay so we could not use it.
I would recommend this hotel for a long weekend for couples, without kids as there is not even a corridor for kids to run around but stairs..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

If you're hesitating between portrait suites and another hotel- quit wasting your time and book portrait now! You won't regret it. Awesome suites that make you feel at home, service that takes care of your every need, and a location to die for- this hotel has it all. Booked it for a romantic weekend with the missus and let's just say I knocked this one out of the park. Just be careful they only have 14 rooms so they sell out quick. Book it now!!!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 101723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Stayed here on a short break to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday and we could not have asked for a more relaxing and enjoyable stay. The location is superb in the heart of the shopping district and our first afternoon was spent relaxing in the heat on the roof terrace sipping perfectly mixed cosmopolitans looking across the rooftops at the Spanish steps. We took all of our breakfasts on the roof terrace as well and it felt as if we had the place to ourselves. Our room was well proportioned and extremely comfortable and the staff were excellent recommending some hidden gems of restaurants (bear in mind it does not have one itself). Whether I would recommend this hotel for a long stay I am not sure but for a short break in an amazing location with a perfect roof terrace to sip champagne and relax after a days shopping I certainly would. If you do go try to coincide your stay with an event at the Terme di Caracalla - what an amazing venue!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RDTYORKSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
6,448 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,291 in Rome
383 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,291 in Rome
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,291 in Rome
627 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
3,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing