We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique in Upscale Area”
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2009

The hotel is located in an upscale, walking-only shopping district of Rome, near such stores as Ferragamo and Gucci. (Sadly, no Spencer Gifts)

The room was small, but very nice. Flat paneled TV, free wifi, nice bedding, comfortable beds, new bathrooms. No views to be had out of my window. After my first night there, the cleaning room apparently used some sort of toxic, nostril-burning cleaner on one of my countertops, which prompted them to move me to a suite at no extra charge. Not a huge hassle and they looked as if they were about to tell me they found a dead body in my room when they approached me with the news upon my return to the hotel.

As advertised, the 7th floor rooftop garden is one of the nicest features of the hotel. Guests receive complimentary access until midnight. It gives splendid nighttime views of the area and the Spanish Steps. They stock a pantry on the roof each night with plenty of drinks, mixers, snacks, lemons, ice, etc for guests to serve themselves in exchange for IOU slips. Very cool, utilized and unusually trusting.

Concierge service was extremely helpful and efficient -- offering to hook up a private tour of the Vatican for an hourly fee. Breakfast is included -- though they charge for anything cooked or heated -- like eggs.

Some quirks about the hotel:
--The front door is always locked and you must ring a bell and flash a room key to a camera to gain entrance
--The "lobby" is on the 2nd floor. Upon arrival, you are brought into the room, sat down and presented a package about the hotel and services offered.
--You must insert your room key into a slot to activate electricity in your room. I couldn't tell whether I liked this or not. It seemed really futuristic and advanced at times, and like a useless Epcot Center-like erroneous prediction about the future at others.
--Some taxis drive in the walking only section to the front door of the hotel, while others drop you off at the Spanish steps -- 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HessMug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 771 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2009

I would not for one minute hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel and service is the best I have ever had, and let me tell you, my husband and I travel a lot and have stayed in some pretty remarkable hotels! It is absolutely breath taking, they have an amazing roof top bar, the rooms are just outstanding, they do not miss a thing! The style is mind blowing! Everyone must stay here, and I believe they have more hotels around Italy. I cannot say enough about this place or for the service. DO NOT STAY ANYWHERE ELSE!!! I give it a 20 out of 10.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank sophiecaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

PORTRAIT SUITES
Arrived at the Rome Termini train station determined not to be ripped off by a cab driver, like we usually are. This time the driver not only sped up the meter, he dropped us off at the corner of a one way street and explained that if he took us all the way to PORTRAIT SUITES he would have to drive a much greater distance. He said that the hotel was merely 30 meters down the street. So we paid him the 30 EUROS on the meter and rolled out luggage down the cobble stoned street. The hotel was FIVE blocks away. I will never take a taxi at the Rome Termini again.
Arrived at PORTRAIT SUITES sweaty, tired and pissed off. Things changed rapidly when we were greeted by the staff. It was truly like arriving at a friends home for a visit. The hotel looks more like a private residence than a business. And the staff, especially the vivacious and beautiful Giordana, was lovely and very welcoming. The room was, as requested, not on the street side and thus completely quiet with no street noise. The king bed was very comfortable with plush linens and bedding. The marble bathroom was adequate and the shower was huge. The floor of the shower was strangely slippery when dry and stable when wet. The room had a large desk. The electric outlets at the desk were difficult to reach. There was a kitchenette with microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator and utensils. The closet was large with much drawer space. The hotel location was superb, better than the Russie where we usually stay. We were very happy with Portrait Suites and will return. My one complaint is the breakfast which, though very adequate by Italian standards was not sufficient for us.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maven2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

We arrived at the Portrait Suites after 2 disappointing nights at Il palazzetto (separate review on that one) and found everything about this hotel amazing:
- Location - on the Via Condotti so next to the Spanish steps and in the middle of all the shops. Fantastic
- Staff - absolutely outstanding. Nothing is too much effort and you feel that they genuinely want you to have the best time e.g. we were having a drink on the roof terrace one evening and thought it was getting a bit chilly when a member of staff arrive with some beautiful blankets to keep us warm! Always with a smile. Recoomendations for restaurants or on how to avoid the queues at the major sites were spot on
- Room beautifully furnished, great attention to detail, nice little kitchenette/bar all hidden away, lovely balcony over via condotti. perfect
- Roof terrace - exceptional views, beautifully furnished with a fireplace and candles in the evening and an honesty bar which is a nice touch. Breakafst there in the morning was a treat
- Check in/check out - seamless, charming - feels more like welcome and good by than a business transaction.
All in all, we loved it and will definitely be back on our next trip to Rome!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NCH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

My husband and I spent four fabulous nights at the Portrait Suites in Rome over Valentine's Day weekend. The staff, location, service and rooms were superb.

Location, location, location : Portrait Suites is hands down the best location in Rome. It sits above the men's Ferragamo Store and is located right next to Versace and across the street from Hermes on the Via Condotti, so bring your credit card ! But, the most spectacular locale near the hotel is the world-famous Spanish Steps, which you can view while enjoying a glass of wine atop the hotel's wonderful rooftop terrace.

Although the weather was chilly we spent many evenings on the rooftop terrace, enjoying a glass of wine by the fireplace while trying to decide where to go for dinner . With all the amazing choices, making dinner plans in Rome can be difficult, but the hotel's capable staff was always ready with a recommendation and an offer to make reservations on our behalf.

The hotel is small - it has only 14 rooms - but the atmosphere is cozy and inviting. The rooms are spacious and include all the requisite amenities for a comfortable home away from home; features include a mini-kitchen equipped with a microwave, cooktop, and coffee/espresso machine, a spacious refrigerator, flat-screen TV, and the most comfortable beds we have ever enjoyed in Europe. There is also plenty of closet and storage space to accommodate all the purchases you are bound to make when you succumb to temptation in the many upscale stores located within a stone's throw of the hotel. Alas, the sumptuous continental breakfast served every morning just about eliminates the need to fire up any kitchen appliances.

Check-in, if you can call it that, is seamless and feels more like a very personal and inviting welcome into your own private apartment in Rome.

Portrait Suites is a wonderful property and a must for anyone considering a Valentine's Day stay in Rome. There is no better place to be with the person you love than in Rome, especially if you want to pick up that extra something special in the most fabulous shopping area in the world!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Houstonluxuryagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

After going through all the options for my accommodations in Rome i finally settled with portrait suites. Here are the reasons why to stay in portrait suites.

1. Location - Since we were only spending a few nights in Rome it was the location of the hotel that sealed the deal. Its right smack on Via Condoti and walking distance to almost all the sites.

2. Service - This is what makes the hotel very very special. Service was very genuine and effortless.

3. Design- Contemporary yet it did not feel cold, maybe it was because of the service. The room was spacious , the roof top was excellent and the honesty bar was the best way to relax and take in the view of the spanish steps after walking all day.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank inked_chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

my boyfriend stumbled upon the portrait suites while we were shopping on via condotti and we went in to check it out and was immediately blown away. (we were staying at la posta vecchia in lazio which is another great hotel but that's another story) anyway, we decided to move there and had a truly great experience. the staff are all so friendly and helpful and the roof top garden is exceptional. the property is superbly furnished and really feels like home away from home. the location is superb needless to say...the best among the lugarno hotels

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,112 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,271 in Rome
279 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,271 in Rome
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,271 in Rome
469 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
272 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $597 - $1,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing