We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, best service in town”
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, best service in town”
Reviewed April 16, 2009

We arrived at the Portrait Suites after 2 disappointing nights at Il palazzetto (separate review on that one) and found everything about this hotel amazing:
- Location - on the Via Condotti so next to the Spanish steps and in the middle of all the shops. Fantastic
- Staff - absolutely outstanding. Nothing is too much effort and you feel that they genuinely want you to have the best time e.g. we were having a drink on the roof terrace one evening and thought it was getting a bit chilly when a member of staff arrive with some beautiful blankets to keep us warm! Always with a smile. Recoomendations for restaurants or on how to avoid the queues at the major sites were spot on
- Room beautifully furnished, great attention to detail, nice little kitchenette/bar all hidden away, lovely balcony over via condotti. perfect
- Roof terrace - exceptional views, beautifully furnished with a fireplace and candles in the evening and an honesty bar which is a nice touch. Breakafst there in the morning was a treat
- Check in/check out - seamless, charming - feels more like welcome and good by than a business transaction.
All in all, we loved it and will definitely be back on our next trip to Rome!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NCH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    41
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
166
407
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

My husband and I spent four fabulous nights at the Portrait Suites in Rome over Valentine's Day weekend. The staff, location, service and rooms were superb.

Location, location, location : Portrait Suites is hands down the best location in Rome. It sits above the men's Ferragamo Store and is located right next to Versace and across the street from Hermes on the Via Condotti, so bring your credit card ! But, the most spectacular locale near the hotel is the world-famous Spanish Steps, which you can view while enjoying a glass of wine atop the hotel's wonderful rooftop terrace.

Although the weather was chilly we spent many evenings on the rooftop terrace, enjoying a glass of wine by the fireplace while trying to decide where to go for dinner . With all the amazing choices, making dinner plans in Rome can be difficult, but the hotel's capable staff was always ready with a recommendation and an offer to make reservations on our behalf.

The hotel is small - it has only 14 rooms - but the atmosphere is cozy and inviting. The rooms are spacious and include all the requisite amenities for a comfortable home away from home; features include a mini-kitchen equipped with a microwave, cooktop, and coffee/espresso machine, a spacious refrigerator, flat-screen TV, and the most comfortable beds we have ever enjoyed in Europe. There is also plenty of closet and storage space to accommodate all the purchases you are bound to make when you succumb to temptation in the many upscale stores located within a stone's throw of the hotel. Alas, the sumptuous continental breakfast served every morning just about eliminates the need to fire up any kitchen appliances.

Check-in, if you can call it that, is seamless and feels more like a very personal and inviting welcome into your own private apartment in Rome.

Portrait Suites is a wonderful property and a must for anyone considering a Valentine's Day stay in Rome. There is no better place to be with the person you love than in Rome, especially if you want to pick up that extra something special in the most fabulous shopping area in the world!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Houstonluxuryagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

After going through all the options for my accommodations in Rome i finally settled with portrait suites. Here are the reasons why to stay in portrait suites.

1. Location - Since we were only spending a few nights in Rome it was the location of the hotel that sealed the deal. Its right smack on Via Condoti and walking distance to almost all the sites.

2. Service - This is what makes the hotel very very special. Service was very genuine and effortless.

3. Design- Contemporary yet it did not feel cold, maybe it was because of the service. The room was spacious , the roof top was excellent and the honesty bar was the best way to relax and take in the view of the spanish steps after walking all day.

  • Liked — the service and location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank inked_chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

my boyfriend stumbled upon the portrait suites while we were shopping on via condotti and we went in to check it out and was immediately blown away. (we were staying at la posta vecchia in lazio which is another great hotel but that's another story) anyway, we decided to move there and had a truly great experience. the staff are all so friendly and helpful and the roof top garden is exceptional. the property is superbly furnished and really feels like home away from home. the location is superb needless to say...the best among the lugarno hotels

  • Liked — location, comfort, service
  • Disliked — i don't see any children
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

If you are looking for a great contemporary hotel in Rome, with personalized service, then look no further!

Travelled to Rome in September for a long weekend. As always, tried to find an excellent hotel that is contemporary, central location and overall just great, without any flashy paintings, wanna be gold detailing or chandelliers.

Being a picky traveller that has been quite a few places, looked at many many hotels in Rome, found it hard to find a good hotel that met my standards, drawing comparisons to other design/boutique hotels in other large cities.

Then stumbled on to Portrait Suites and although somewhat expensive (all hotels in Rome seem expensive...), did not regret this choice for one second.

The room had a very good size, we had our own balcony (next to the Penthouse suite, only a limited amount of rooms seem to have one). Bathroom was nice, contemporary design, nothing too flashy, just the way it should be, separate shower/bath tub.

Location is fantastic, a small side street to Via Condotti, we had a view over the Spanish Steps from the room (200 meters away), with walking distance to lots of good restaurants.

What really sets this hotel apart is two things:

1) Personal service. I have never experienced such personal service, the staff took a personal interest in you and could spend hours finding the right restaurant (at last, we made up our mind ;-)). I have stayed at various 4/5 star properties and albeit service in general is good and can be overwhelming in some places, I really felt that this service was more personal and not just service as a concept.

2) This has to do with #1, but since the hotel is small with a limited amount of rooms, it feels very very cozy and again, that personal detail to everything.

I would not hesitate coming back and will also recommend this to anyone going to Rome.

  • Liked — Location, design, views.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank birddogilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2008

We recently returned from 3 nights at the Portrait Suites. It was the most expensive hotel we've ever stayed at but well worth the cost. We arrived in the morning and were delighted to learn that our room was not only ready but that we were upgraded to a suite. The room was fantastic - spacious and well appointed. Although there was no view from our room, we enjoyed the roof top terrace which had an amazing view. In addition to the quality of the room, we found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. The staff helped us book private tours of Rome and the Vatican. The private tours were worth every penny. I would definitely stay at the Portrait Suites again. Lastly, the location can't be beat - just a block away from the Spanish steps.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Janbinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

If you like hotels that have the feel of a private residence, this is the place for you in Rome. The Portrait Suites consist of 15 rooms (three per floor). Their entrance that does not draw attention, and there is no reception desk. After having been greeted at the door, you will be welcomed in a private lounge on the first floor. One literally feels at home there.

The small size of this hotel also means that there is no restaurant. In my view, this is okay, since there are so many great places to eat all around. There are also no pool and no spa, but some rooms are equipped with a private sauna and a mini-gym (which in my view is much better).

The location is great (especially if you like shopping: Ferragamo, Gucci, Prada, and all the others are within immediate reach) and very central (two minutes from the Spanish Steps), and there is a fantastic rooftop terrace with a unique view over all Rome.

Only one negative point should be noted: soundproofing of the rooms could be significantly better.

  • Liked — Decoration, location, service
  • Disliked — Soundproofing of the rooms left to be desired
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SWT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,684 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,259 in Rome
409 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,259 in Rome
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
#22 of 1,259 in Rome
476 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#5 of 1,259 in Rome
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing