We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect service in a gorgeous boutique hotel”
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Net
-------
- Eager for a return visit. Definitely the place to stay in Rome.
- The staff were amazing.
- Hotel is stylish
- Location is walkable to all major things

Service
---------
- The service was perfection. Examples:

- Very friendly greeting and registration all done in a nice sitting room while enjoying a cappuccino.

- When talking to the evening concierge about the roof top bar menu we mentioned a dish that sounded good and also mentioned the great pizza smells as we walked around. When we arrived at the roof she had called ahead to let them know what we might like to eat and to arrange for an awesome pizza to be fetched from a nearby restaurant. Delicious. And an example of seamless service. They literally went out and got what we wanted.

- Roof top service was great that evening and also at breakfast.

- The service is very personal and it seems like you've know the staff for a while.

- Departure was equally friendly and effortless.

- Nice welcome basket / gift

Location
-----------
- Excellent location.
- Couple of blocks from Spanish steps
- Was easy to do a walking tour from hotel , to Spanish steps , to collisium and forum and to trevi fountain , on to pantheon , Navarro square, to the Vatican and back along the river.

Hotel
-------
- Very nice boutique hotel

- Modern very stylized feel in an old classic building - great combo.

- Even the smallest things have an attention to styling detail. Right down to salt and pepper shakers and toilet roll holders. Overall very stylish.

- Rooftop bar has nice seating, nice view over the city , and a fireplace for cool evenings.

- Breakfast on the rooftop is a great way to start the day.

Room
---------
- Stylish room with all of the amenities and then much more.

- Windows open so you can enjoy the sounds of the city.

- Nice small ultra modern weight set by technogym - must find where to buy one. Definitely the slickest weight set I have seen and mat also provided.

- Room had a great bar/coffee setup including cappuccino

- Food at roof top bar was tasty.

Tips
------
- Enjoy the roof top bar in the evening.

- Have hotel arrange for car/limo from airport - takes away one big stresser when arriving in a chaotic Rome airport.
If your arriving on easyy expect a frustrating luggage carousel experience.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank NomadNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 765 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were in Rome with our 16 year old son and had already checked into another hotel. We knew instantly this would not be the hotel for us. I quickly got on Trip Advisor and found availability at Portrait Roma. We were skeptical, but decided to walk over and take a look. We really lucked out!. Portrait Roma was not "just OK", but completely fabulous! You could easily pass by it, as it feels as if you are entering someone's home. The staff makes you feel as if you are home, as they are exactly like a family. They are warm, friendly, professional, knowledgeable and inviting! The rooms are spacious with more of a modern touch and beautiful. They have included amenities which makes your stay even that much more comfortable. Most of them came as surprises so I will not reveal. The rooftop terrace is second to none. There is full service with excellent food and magnificent views. We were lucky to find the true gem by accident, but next time we would plan our stay here from the start.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank srh119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent a night here on our way back from santorini. The staff are extremely professional and helpful. The rooms are very tasteful and well appointed. The location is excellent for touring the city. The rooftop patio was a lovely addition to view the panorama of the city by night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jes1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our stay was perfection. The suite had the most comfortable bed, beautiful linens, spacious bathroom and closet space. The living area was comfortable, the ipad is a nice touch as well as the mini kitchen. Having breakfast on their rooftop terrace with stunning views of the city were a great way to start our morning. The staff was friendly and helpful yet not intrusive. The location is perfect and we were able to walk everywhere. They sent us to a spa at hotel russie and it was fabulous!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 1995sb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Portrait Roma and it was fabulous!! It is a great boutique hotel that is so close to everything Rome has to offer. From the time we entered the hotel we were treated so well. Alessandro and Francesca were great hosts and help guide to great restaurants and places to visit.

The room was very nice. Breakfast and drinks are served on the rooftop patio. The view is great and overlooking the Spanish Steps.

This is definitely the place to stay when visiting Rome. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Direttore at Portrait Roma, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Arnixon,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your positive comments are certainly a great motivator for our team, and Alessandro and Francesca will be truly grateful for your kind words. The Portrait Team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Hotel Manager Portrait Roma
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

we had the most amazing time staying in this wonderful hotel and would never stay anywhere else when visiting Rome ! Thank you to the entire staff who went out of their way to book restaurants and make sure that all our needs were seen to, and all this done in a discrete and obliging fashion.
The location is fabulous as you art in the heart of the shopping area and you have easy access to the whole of the city.

Room Tip: just an amazing hotel - you can't go wrong staying in this amazing hotel, perfectly situated jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lexi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was our second stay at Portrait Roma. We enjoyed our first time so much that the hotel was one of the reasons we decided to return to Rome. I was worried that the hotel couldn't live up to our stellar memories but once again we loved our stay and hated to leave. The rooms are beautiful, large, and perfectly maintained and the location can't be beat. But it's the excellence of the staff that makes Portrait Roma so special. Everyone on the staff is so clearly focused on making one's stay perfect. If you ask one person for anything, it seems like they all instantly become aware and work collectively to make sure that you're happy. Once again, we left the hotel trying to figure out when we can return to Rome to enjoy another stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanfranguy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Direttore at Portrait Roma, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Sanfrangu,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Portrait experience. Service is at the heart of all we do.
The Portrait Hospitality Concept by Ferragamo Family is committed to provides the highest standard of service and grant all your wishes , we strive to impress memories and experiences to all our guests.
The Lifestyle Team and the Guest Assistant Team are involved in enabling guests to delve into local experiences. From exploring the nightlife of Rome, to enjoying a drink on our roof-top, they personalize your stay inside our hotel looking after to all your preferences, and enrich your explorations outside of it, tasting and exploring before give suggestions, to extend a feeling in being in a private club instead, where a bespoke culture is the main activity of their daily work.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your business and feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Hotel Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,023 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,273 in Rome
756 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,273 in Rome
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,273 in Rome
460 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,273 in Rome
260 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,273 in Rome
3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $575 - $1,019 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing