We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Portrait Roma exceeded expectations. The deluxe suite was huge for inner-city Europe with a nice separate sitting room and large comfy bed. The service was outstanding. The rooftop deck has glorious views and is a great respite from the crowds.

Room Tip: Room 215 has a balcony on Via dei Condotti with a view of the Spanish Steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azmad0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    42
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
162
399
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

To begin with, the location is unbeatable. Centrally located in a beautiful part of Rome, there isn't any area that would be better. The rooms are huge by european standards and beautifully appointed. Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant (although you can get breakfast), the rooftop terrance, which is only for hotel guests, is perfect for enjoying a negroni in the late afternoon. But all that aside, the service, the service, the service. I cannot say enough about the service. They will bend over backwards with a smile to fulfill your requests. In fact, my wife and I were so impressed with the Portrait Roma that we changed our hotel reservations in Florence to the Portrait hotel there.

Room Tip: A/C is great. Ask for Room 324 or equivalent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jared L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Direttore at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Jared L,

your words are very important for all of us. We wish you had a memorable stay with us. The Portrait Team will be very pleased to receive your feedback, they make the difference every single day doing their best to change a "standard "stay in a memorable experience.

Thank you very much, we really appreciate the time you have dedicated to us to post this review.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need.

Your Portrait Profile is now in our database togheter with with all your preferences. We are waitng for your future stay to personalize again your visit in Rome.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Hotel Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

After staying at chain hotels in other cities during our vacation, the Portrait Roma was completely different - very boutique, small, and intimate. We rarely saw another guest the whole time we were there. Streets are a little tight in this area, so our cab from the airport dropped us off a couple of blocks away and told us how to walk there. It's so discreet that we almost walked right by it!

The "front desk" is really just a room that's been converted to an office. Since the hotel is in the fashion district, it's right in the middle of Louis Vuitton, Hermes, Armani, etc. Not my thing, but other people at the hotel seemed excited! The staff offered drinks and snacks as we were checking in and provided us with an iPad pre-loaded with suggested restaurants and other attractions. They were also incredibly helpful during our stay securing tickets to The Vatican museum and the Coliseum/Forum (with no wait either place because we had "reserved" tickets). However, they could not exchange money, which put a little cramp in our plans.

The room itself was spacious with two closets, a seating area, desk, and separate bedroom with TV/DVD player. For the light packers, the bathroom also came with all toiletries (Ferragamo to keep with the fashion theme), cotton pads/Q-tips, hair dryer, and flat iron. They also provided fruit each night and bottled water sporadically.

Perhaps the best part is the rooftop terrace where breakfast is served, along with a bar and snacks in the evenings. We thought the bar was free, but we found out we were wrong when we checked out - oops. The terrace has a view of all of Rome, including the Spanish Steps (which are only a couple of blocks away) and the entrance to the Forum. We had breakfast there each morning, which included pastries, fruit, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, etc. and the staff would make any sort of coffee you wanted.

The location is great and within easy walking distance to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, and Pantheon and only a mile or so walk to The Forum and Coliseum, which seemed easy walking straight down the Via del Corso. There are also tons of restaurants, gelato places, etc. all around the hotel. It's obviously not anywhere close to the airport, but we were able to arrange that online when we booked, and our driver meant business! We got there in about 35-40 minutes.

Room Tip: Our mattress was pretty hard, but the room itself was quiet... I don't think you can go wrong wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandelay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Thank you Portrait Roma for making our family’s first trip to Rome a memorable one. During our 9-day stay you delivered outstanding personalized services- from always greeting us by name to superb dinner recommendations and reservations (including gelato and macaron shops), always seemingly securing the best table in the establishment. Your rooms are amazingly sophisticated but comfortable with many of the items from the Farragamo/Lungarno line and daily fresh fruit treats left in the room. However, what truly makes Portrait Roma so special is the staff, who treated us like we were the only guests at your fabulous establishment. You also made our 25th Wedding Anniversary a special one with champagne and white chocolate covered strawberries (our daughter’s favorite). We will definitely be returning and recommending to all of our friends. When in Rome, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We were welcomed so warmly to Rome by the staff at Portrait Roma and that welcome extended throughout our 9 day stay with them. They are wonderful and after a 9 day stay can't think of one negative to comment on. We immersed ourselves into the Roman culture and the staff was there to make restaurant recommendations , reservations and gave us directions on non-tourist food, it was amazing to have their expertise! Weronika always had a warm smile and helped us get tickets to see the pope in the papal audience! Housekeeping seemed aware of when you were in your room and when you were out so the room was always spotless upon our return. The location can't be any better if you want to walk everywhere and not depend on taxi. I would return to Rome just to stay at Portrait Roma, it is a beautiful city and this truly is an amazing place to stay! Thank you for the wonderful memories!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This place is great. If you can go do !
Beautifully appointed and moments from the Spanish steps, with staff who strike the perfect balance between helpfulness, courtesy and professionalism.
Rooms are comfortable, inviting and chic .
Breakfast served on the roof terrace was lovely with an abundance off fresh fruit and delicious coffee .
We are already "homesick "for Portrait Roma and planning our return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Portrait Roma for 3 nights during our honeymoon. It was our first time staying at this hotel, and our experience was unforgettable. The Portrait is a Salvatore Ferragamo hotel. The hotel design, art, and color schemes are inspired by the Ferragamo brand. The staff is so nice and helpful. The rooms are beautiful, and the hotel is strategically located in the middle of the shopping district. The hotel has a terrace that overlooks the Spanish steps. The terrace is where breakfast is served, and is an amazing place to hangout at night. The best thing about the hotel is by far the customer service. It is off the charts! This was exemplified in 3 ways:

1. When we first arrived and they found out we were honeymooners, they offered us a bottle of champagne. We told them that we do not drink alcohol, and that there was no need. A few hours later, they surprised us by sending us a bottle of the tastiest non-alcoholic champagne ever.

2. As we were going down the stairs on our second day, my wife noticed a really nice fragrance. My wife asked one of the staff members where we can buy the fragrance, and they said that this was not available in stores. Again, we thought that was the end of it. Hours later, we entered our room and found a big bottle of the same perfume given to us as a present from the hotel.

3. The last night at the Portrait was the last night of our honeymoon. I wanted to mark the occasion by spending a romantic evening with my wife on the beautiful terrace. On short notice, I asked the staff to prepare flowers, a cake, and champagne for us. They arranged for a beautiful flower arrangement, an amazing chocolate cake, and tasty non-alcoholic champagne. They also had 2 staff members catering to our every need. Everything was just perfect and my wife and I had an unforgettable evening.

The Portrait is an unbelievable hotel. Our stay their was amazing. The staff has an unbelievable determination to over achieve customer expectations. I very much highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khalid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,619 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,256 in Rome
400 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,256 in Rome
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#7 of 1,256 in Rome
225 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,256 in Rome
658 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing