We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chic”
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

what a hotel, once I was here but now a lot had changed, I was pleasantly surprised to service more helpful and doing well in English, adequate price for the quality, my room is well decorated and more importantly clean, the food can be, and location is pretty good, all ok

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oleczek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 755 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Every aspect of the place is gold. The location, design, service cannot be topped. From the moment we arrived and they welcomed my 8 year old step son by name to our room which was stocked with our favorite goodies to the restaurant they recommended for dinner, there was not an off-note during our all too short visit. Hot, hot, hot Rome was made so much better by having this cool oasis to come back to. Worth every penny and we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissSlimskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Portrait Suites in July. The hotel is wonderful! The personalized service was outstanding! The room was simply beautiful with every amenity you could think of. The wonderful staff work so hard from serving breakfast on the roof top to the concierge arranging wonderful meals and anticipating our needs. Drinks on the roof were a wonderful addition both before and after dinner. I would not look anywhere else for my next trip to Rome as The Portrait Suites is my new happy place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hanoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Been in this hotel for first time though I tried others in previous trips to Rome, I must say that this was a different experience with their personalized services and their pre-arrival form where you request all services and arrangements you need before your reach your hotel, It is amazing and we loved their services and very friendly staff. I do recommend that while in Rome, you need to choose this hotel to be in the real hospitality of a real accommodation,

Room Tip: Any room may feel the comfort of a real hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abdullah62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have stayed at Portrait Suites several times, and it has become our Rome hotel of choice because it is simply outstanding on so many levels. While I don't re-review properties on TripAdvisor unless there's a good reason to do so, there are several good reasons here. First, breakfast has been changed from a simple Continental bread basket to an opulent selection of anything you could want, both hot and cold selections. Second, our room was supplied with a simple but useful compact mini-gym weight set. Third, the hotel now enables you to select your pillow, linens, and other things, all listed on your room's iPad. All of these improvements reflect the hotel's responsiveness to its guests' concerns, as several reviews had noted the previously limited nature of the included breakfast and the lack of a gym. Portrait Suites clearly pays attention to its clients.

In addition, my husband loved being able to draw his own draught beer from the beer tap that has been added to the rooftop Honor Bar. Finally, while the staff advised us that they dine incognito at restaurants in order to make educated recommendations to the hotel's guests, we had to laugh one evening when we spotted not one but two staff members dining separately at the restaurant where they had directed us!

All in all, we are very impressed that Portrait Suites continues to strive to improve itself when, in our opinion, it has already achieved perfection.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

since i'm here to Portrait Suites from the opening in 2006, i had few times where i could'nt find any word to express my feeling, here is one of those.

I's true, we improve the breakfast with a breathtaking roof top personalize buffet; it's true we custumize each single Suite following your preferences as pillows, sheets, fruits, minibar, music, breakfast and much more;
It's true the Lifestyle Team suggest each restaurant visiting each of them in "incognito", to better understand the guest needs, to book not just a restaurant but your restaurant, not just a table but the best table; It's true we have the " En Suite Training Program", that allow each of you to have weights and Yoga facilities directly in your Suite, without use any common areas. It's true we base our "En Suite"service working with the most professional personal trainers an massauses.
It's true we improved our roop top honour bar following yuor suggestions,as you being able to draw your own draught beer from the beer tap and organize a complimentary little appetizers roof top buffet just to get ready before dinner.

Finally, i wish to thank you for your review,for your time and for your kind words, we really appreciate it.

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you once more all the Portrait Suites Team, they allow me to be proud of working with each of them, i perfectly know haw hard is to mantain high standards, smiling and provides the best customer care for each of our guests, you are great guys!!

Dear BrynMawrBK,

I know i will have another opportunity to thank you personally,

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The portrait suites certainly lives up to its reputation by fellow travellers...and some! My wife and I have spent the last 4 nights here and have been impressed by the service of all of the staff. The hotel is in a great location and so accessible to all the major sites making it easy to see all the history of the area and also finding time to do some shopping. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will be coming back to stay in the future. A fantastic experience with friendly, knowledgable staff.

Room Tip: 653. It has a balcony and allows you the option of sitting out in the morning and late afternoon enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevinLutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great location, great service, great style and a very comfortable bed. Staff was amazing.
Situated just "steps from the Spanish Steps - easy walking distance to great shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. I would recommend breakfast on the roof top terrace - a delightful way to start the day with an amazing view.
The only negatives I can think of - very slow internet connection and no work out room/gym.
Not cheap - but well worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KimberlyS707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear KimberlyS707,

Thank you for choosing to stay to Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

We will do our best to improve our Internet Speed Connection, i perfectly understand how the lack of internet connection is one of biggest stress for travellers and logging on to the internet helps our guest feel most at home in their Suite.
Communicating with family is the top way to de-stress when away from home.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest,

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,921 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,271 in Rome
454 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,271 in Rome
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,271 in Rome
259 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,271 in Rome
240 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,271 in Rome
3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $527 - $971 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing