We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,284 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

So much for the hype but little value. Prices are extortionate for what is classed as your average fair. Would have been ideal if there were some extra services. Overall a nice stay but way to expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Finley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Finley M.

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.We truly regret that you did not feel that our service levels were where they should be. We pride ourselves our ensuring that every guest is looked after, with the most care.

While we commit to offering an ultra-luxury experience, we do not label ourselves with a specific star rating. Based on the Lifestyle and Guest Assistant Team services, amenities and product, we believe we provide one of the most unique hotel experience, thanks overall to all the Staff, with his daily efforts to welcome and personalize each single stay, with individual preferences and wishes.

We truly value your opinion and hope to welcome you back in the future. I remain at your disposal if I can ever be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    36
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
139
360
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The rating on TripAdvisor and the below reviews say it all.
If you have a few Euro to spend then look no further, this boutiquish hotel is stunning, rooms with views over the Spanish Steps, a root top terrace for excellent breakfasts and stunning sunsets while sipping cocktails.
The service is definitely the best thing about it, from the moment you arrive to the personalised and friendly check in experience, to the Concierge service to the friendly maids and breakfast people.
Gianluca was a huge help and he made our stay remarkable, we will never forget!
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OddFuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear OddFuture,

many thanks for your review. I appreciate the time you spent to describe the experience you had at Portrait Suites.
The daily efforts to maintain the high standard are reinvigorated by these words, I will share your review with the Team involved in this project. Many thanks from all of us,

We really hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
277 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed in Portrait Suites for a long weekend in March. Would definitely recommend this as THE place to stay in Rome. Rooms beautiful with everything you need. Location fabulous, a peaceful little haven in the middle of the busyness of the Spanish Steps. Most importantly though, are the wonderful staff. Nothing too much trouble, both before my stay with helping with restaurant reservations and during the stay with help with directions, suggestions etc. Hotel has a rooftop honesty bar with incredible views over Rome. Loved this hotel and cannot wait to return. Other hoteliers should book a stay and take note of what good service is all about!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kitty63Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This a gem; a quiet, tasteful, discreet and sensual hideaway amidst the throngs of the Spanish Steps chaos. The service is impeccable and knowledgable and personal, without a fault. The design and style of the rooms impressed me more than any other hotel I have stayed at. The rooftop terrace has heavenly views over the rooftops of Rome and bathed in evening light with a glass of champagne, I can think of few other places that compare. Thank you, I just wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CNMItravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff are unbelievable - juba is the king. Nothing is impossible for this team and the place is luxury. The rooms are perfect with everything you good need. Location near the spanish steps is perfect. It feels like a private apartment with a personal staff. Breakfast on the terrrace is a must and the cappacino is sent from the gods!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank vesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It was our honeymoon and they have upgraded our room and made our stay special.The staff were very kind and helpful and they try their best to satisfy all your needs.
The hotel location is also perfect!

Room Tip: Deluxe room was 2 floors the bathroom is located down stairs where also have a sauna , shower ,batht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful, chic hotel for 3 nights and didn't want to leave in the end! What a truly magical time we had in Rome thanks in no small part to the highly professional and extremely competent hotel staff. Other reviewers have already commented upon what unique, personalised details this hotel offers, such as the iPad in the room, meeting with your own personal Lifestyle assistant, etc., all of which are true. However, what made this hotel so distinguishable was the service, which epitomised quality and unparalleled attention to detail, yet was also discreet. Exactly what you want when you're in a city as romantic as this! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PanFaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#7 of 1,284 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 5,710 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,284 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel
Barocco Hotel
#13 of 1,284 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,561 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#4 of 1,284 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing