We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The most beautiful little treasure in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #3 of 1,287 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most beautiful little treasure in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

As soon as you set foot into this beautiful Hotel you know you are somewhere very special.
The personal service you receive from their staff is really special.
They take you into a reception room sit you down offer you drinks and go through every detail of what you may require.
They give you a ipad in your room which lists all the restaurants and has reviews on them,as well as everything you may wish to know about Rome
The room itself is stunning overlooking the Via Condotti you couldn't be in a better location.
Within two minutes you are at the Spanish Steps.
As this Hotel is part of the Ferragamo family they have lots of Photos and memorabilia relating to the Shoes.
What i loved was the receipts from stars like Marilyn Monroe.Joan Collins etc which shows how much they paid for their shoes back in 1957.
Breakfast is served in your room or on the terrace if the weather is nice so you can see the most amazing view.
I would highly recommend this Hotel and look forward to going back in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toffeecat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    38
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
144
365
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is a gem. the service and quality provided better than a 5 star hotel anywhere. personalized service as soon as you check in which is done in their 2nd floor room as the first floor space is taken up by the Ferragamo stores where you get a 10% discount as a resident of the hotel. Their breakfast, served in the room was quite the breakfast with many options and served in your room at your specified time. As we were on our honeymoon we got some bubbly in the room along with some tasty dessert on arrival. the hotel has thought of almost everything with a multiple head charger for your phone and tablet from all major manufacturers. a personal ipad with reccomendations for your stay and many other useful tools for your stay. The honor bar on the roof where you can go hang out and relax is a self service bar where you just make your own drinks and then write down what you have used and it will be added to the bill. fitting name for the bar. the only thing that went wrong was they sent us to the same restaurant 2 times in a row although at different loacations by 2 different receptionists. the restaurant was called "il localino" and after having a meal there we understand why both the receptionists sent us there as thier first reccomendation. they had a different name but the same menu. we just didnt want to eat in 1 place twice on our short trip

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ineedsoftbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here during my husbands birthday. Everyone greeted him and they put a cake + champagne in the room when we came back from dinner.
The service was absolutely fantastic - everybody greeted us with names. They ask you to fill out a form before we arrived where they ask about the purpose of the stay, your favorite fruits, flowers and such! And they remember the answers when you get there.
The location is also fabulous - right in the center and walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank SaraAagaardJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just got back from a trip to several European cities, including Paris, and our last few days were spent in Rome. We were traveling with 2 children and we had never been to Rome, so we trusted the Tripadvisor ranking, and were not disappointed. We had been at some of the top European hotels on the trip in some amazing cities but none compared to this hotel for location, staff service, professional management, room size and decoration, etc, etc....seemed the hotel had opened the day we arrived since everything was so clean and new.

Thanks very much Gianlucca and Francesca for the incredible few days, for arranging our tours and making our lunch and dinner reservations...Sabrina and Christopher miss you guys, and my wife misses the shopping!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank CraigCSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Portrait Suites was an amazing find. It is definitely an extremely special hotel. Extremely high end, very boutique. The staff are warm and gracious and you feel as if you are staying in your own private home.

The location simply cannot be beat... a stone's throw from the Spanish Steps and amazing shopping.

The rooms are high end and extremely comfortable. Most rooms have small kitchenettes (which I didn't use). One of the most fabulous features is the roof deck where you can dine and which has fabulous views of the City.

The price tag is steep but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 440WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We pride ourselves on creating a wonderful experience for our guests and we thank you for your feedback.

The daily efforts to maintain the high standard are reinvigorated by these words, I will share your review with the Team involved in this project. Many thanks from all of us.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Suites once again.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have just returned from Europe and spent 5 nights at the Portrait Suites. This hotel is second to none! The location is amazing and the staff wer fantastic. From the minute we arrived we got 5 star service and nothing was ever too much trouble. The breakfasts that are served in the room each morning are delicious! Don't book anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Aussie_traveller059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This is far more luxury apartment than traditional hotel. the staff are very, very attentive whilst being unobtrusive. They are so helpful and look after your every request. Beautifully appointed, and spotlessly clean suite with every creature comfort you could want. The only disapointment was having to breakfast in the suite as opposed to the roof top terrace, but you cant blame the staff for the weather!
All round fantastic place and worth every euro. Excellent!!

Helpful?
5 Thank Chilledinagay
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your feedback. I'm so sorry you couldn't have your daily breakfast up to our rooftop terrace due to the weather conditions.

But in case your future travel plans will bring you back to Rome, please do not hesitate to contact me, i will do my best to arrange your breakfast in a heated corner in our rooftop terrace to enjoy a breathtaking view of Rome.

Each trip is a tailormade dream, and we are here to make it true!!!

Sincerely,

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,287 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 5,820 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,287 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel
Barocco Hotel
#14 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,595 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing