We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“As close to perfection as possible...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,284 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As close to perfection as possible...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I just came back from a weekend in Rome and stayed at the Portrait suites in the Deluxe Studio. This is a quaint, discreet and personal hotel in a location which is the complete opposite, and it is that combination that instantly gives the Portrait Hotel a huge charm. Our room was beautifully designed, huge space with a separate sitting room and a large bathroom and a beautiful terrace overlooking Via Condotti, the shopping haven of Rome.
I'm sure anyone who is reading this review has already gone through some of the reviews for this hotel, and they are all spot on.
The service is excellent, the rooms beautiful, everything is extremely clean and the food is great.
The asset of this hotel however is the staff. They are attentive, efficient, intelligent and exude charm from the early morning greetings through to the late night farewell. I am struggling to think of a staff that have been this good. Anyway, by all means stay at this place, and book in advance as the small number of rooms might leave you disappointed.
We also came in February where the upstairs terrace, which is breathtaking, was not used to its potential.
Enjoy.
Wassim

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Il_Wass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Portrait Suites on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our Lifestyle Team, and that the service is the best you have ever had. I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Suites in the very near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    36
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
140
360
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the Portrait Suites on the first week of February. It was an incredible experience and it really lived up to our expectations. This amazing boutique hotel is just a few meters away from the Spanish Steps. Rooms are big and stylish. The staff was always smiling, very attentive and helpful. We were also given a complimentary upgrade (thanks Gianluca!). The concierge service is simply what every hotel should aim to. Brekfast was excellent (thanks Alessia!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
we pride ourselves on creating a wonderful experience for our guests and we thank you for your feedback. I will make sure to share the great comments with Alessia and the entire lifestyle team. Upon availability we always extend to all our guests a complimentary early check in , we undestand how after a long flight is important to have the Suite ready to relax yourself before get ready to enjoy an amazing city like Rome.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Suites once again.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.


Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We had the privilege to enjoy a 4 nights stay at the Portrait Suites in Rome, this is the perfect place to stay: great staff, fantastic concierge (we asked them for restaurants, tours and transfers and the service was, first class), perfect location....very very nice interiors.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Portrait Suits is our favourite hotel in Rome! This is a small boutique hotel just at the corner of Via Condotti and Via Bocca de Leone. It is about 100m from the Spanish Steps in the heart of shopping area. If you like small hotels of high quality with friendly service,this is for you! The rooms are spacious and stylish and very tastefully decorated. There is an amazing terrace on the rooftop in the hotel. The hotel does offer room service breakfast,which you can also have delivered to the rooftop terrace,which we did each morning. What a great wayvto start the day having breakfast on the terrace with fabulous views of Rome. The service at the hotel was excellent!!! Roberto,Fabio,Francesco were all there to take care of our every need!
Each time,when we are in Rome we stay at the Portrait Suites. We loved the hotel and recommend it highly!!!
Thanks again to all the staff for the warm welcome!!!
Dmitry and Galina Nazipov

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gala198002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Nazipov,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience on your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear such wonderful comments from our guests. I’m glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed our roof top deck and the service you received from our Team.

We appreciate your loyalty to Portrait Suites and look forward to welcoming you back .

Hoping to welcoming you back soon,

Sincerely,

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have been on Portrait Suites, and I strongly recomend this very unique and high level place.
I cant call it like a regular Hotel. You feel like at home, very large and great quality and decoration rooms, based on Ferragamo's Life. Very, Very special place, very well located, close of the most atractions, and the best place that I have been in Rome.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed at the Portrait Suites for a 5 days visit in Rome (this was not our first visit to the beautiful city of Rome). This boutique hotel is incredible: very intimate, clean and well designed, great location, wonderful terrace and, most of all, great great staff (thanks to the concierge for their help with restaurants and tours!!). The next time we will be in Italy, it will be at the Portrait Suites.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pedr0sant0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at Portrait Suites in early January.

Even before we arrived at the hotel we experienced the excellent and personal service that sets Portrait Suites apart. Because we were travelling with our toddler we requested a particular type of room. As I think is the norm with the staff at the hotel, no request was too much trouble. They ensured that we got the type of room we wanted.

We arrived at the hotel early in the morning and we were met by Lucca, who offered a truly excellent and personal service (all of the other staff were also excellent and cared about ensuring your stay was as enjoyable as possible). Even though we had not requested an early check in, they knew we would need one, so our room had been prepared and was ready for us to go to for a bit of sleep. Thankfully, checkin was quick and effortless.

The hotel itself is in an excellent location and really good for getting around the city. Although it was winter, we were still able to go up to the roof terrace, which is lovely.

I would highly recommend staying here. I can't imagine there is a better place to stay in Rome. The hotel is chic and small, with excellent personal service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FO2623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

let me take this opportunity to extend once again my congratulation for your baby, he was so nice with all of us.

Dear Guest,

We pride ourselves on creating a wonderful experience for our guests and we thank you for your feedback. I will make sure to share the great comments with the entire team. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Suites once again.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#7 of 1,284 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 5,716 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,284 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps- Small Luxury Hotel
Barocco Hotel
#13 of 1,284 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,562 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#4 of 1,284 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing