We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matisse B&B
Nearby Hotels
$178
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$315
$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$253
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$267
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$232
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$318
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$417
$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$395
$381
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
$133
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$382
$275
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
246
91
37
29
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
91
37
29
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtprivate bathroombed and breakfastheart of romemain sightsvisited romeon foottermini stationrobertoattractions
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 448 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

After a 20 hour plane trip we had finally arrived in Rome. We were aware of the bait-and-switch tactics but that didn't help. Roberto walked us a couple blocks (without any regard to our protests) away showing us a room elsewhere. There were two rooms with a narrow entrance. The room was bare, but clean. When asked about whey he moved us, he pointed to a cheap sign at this new place that read "Matisse" mockingly... saying he was providing us what he promised on the reservation - a stay in Rome at the Matisse. He had very little respect to say the least (please see other reviews about Roberto and bait-and-switch, they are all true). His standard line was "for 50 euros you can't expect much". He offered to find us a room for 300 Euros per night, if we wanted a comfortable place to stay. Please save yourself the humiliation and find another place. Roberto picks his victims and that probably explains why there are some good reviews.

Room Tip: Don't be flattered by the pictures
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank DesiTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

On arrival to Matisse B&B we rang the door bell and we where told to leave the foyer (this is the beautiful picture as advertised which is merely the entrance to hotels & businesses) A man came up from behind us and asked where we ringing for Matisse B&B he then informed us that they had "over booked" and they would accommodate us in another hotel in a "better" more "convenient" part of the city just a "few" streets away.
Having just travelled a very long distance, walked in 35degree heat we where exhausted and confused on arrival as we had informed the owner of our arrival time exactly who had ample opportunity to make us aware of any new arrangements. He then took us in a taxi to a derelict building which was apparently the more superior "B&B."
We discussed how unhappy we where with the arrangements and we had been promised to speak with the owner Roberto who was apparently out on business.
Early the next morning we got awakened by a lady shoving a mobile telephone in my face telling me to speak to Roberto, when discussing the arrangements Roberto suddenly lost all under standing of English and ignored all concerns.
We carried on our stay unsure of what the outcome would be. (The B&B is relatively clean with a breakfast of tap water, carrot & orange juice and cereal) The location is close to the Colosseum but the area seemed unnerving.
We where approached when entering the building on our final evening by both Roberto and his colleague to discuss payment, we addressed our concerns only to be mocked and laughed at and told our opinions do not matter, When they both realised how seriously we where pressing these issues they then deducted the payment of our city tax. This took 30 minutes of absurd arguing over a reception desk at the end of what was meant to be our last evening of a month long trip.
When four young girls travelling alone expressed their concern towards getting into a taxi with a strange man off the street with no prior notification we where mocked and laughed at. Having worked in the hospitality industry and having studied hospitality as a group we are left utterly disgusted at this experience and it has well and truly brought down our impression of Italy.
Congratulations Matisse B&B.

Room Tip: The Advertisement of the beautiful foyer Is merely an entrance for numerous businesses.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Maireaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The location of the Matisse B&B is very convenient for the train station and reasonably close to most attractions. It is clean with excellent airconditioning on the hottest of days. Roberto was very helpful and friendly. The 24 hour kitchen for breakfast is a nice treat.

That being said, this is not what I thought I was was booking for our family of 5. My Expedia booking said that we had booked a "two bedroom apartment with kitchen and private bathroom - free breakfast". What we got instead were two separate bedrooms that open onto a common area shared with other guests and a private bathroom located down the hall. The free breakfast is access to a common kitchen where there are pre-packaged croissants, bread and cookies with jam and nutella. The fridge is stocked with water, fruit drink, milk, cream cheese and butter.

The rooms are spartan and a little run-down but very clean. All in all, reasonably comfortable but not the "two bedroom apartment with kitchen and private bathroom" that I thought I had booked.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My aunt and I stayed at the Matisse for 3 days while in Rome. The building was a former convent. It has many winding stairs, to some of the rooms and gathering areas, so consider this. We found it most charming. We also found the location most convenient, and we would venture walking and exploring around the city. Roberto, the caretaker had reserved one of the suites with bathroom and had a bottle of champagne ready for us. He made us feel most welcome. The building is quite large, and there are rooms for every budget. There were also several students staying there, like a penzione. There is a common room area with breakfast. Roberto had a small breakfast set-up every morning with coffee, patisserie, juices, yogurt, cereals. The basics to start the day. Our room overlooked the street and there was a two-set of windows to block noises. We slept soundly. All in all, it was a most convenient location for us, clean, with charm and the caretaker was very gracious, attending to our needs.

Room Tip: The Matisse has only few suites, which were a great value for the money. If you can book one, do it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minerva b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Having read the number of "room moves" - we fall into that category. We arrived at the given address where Roberto informed us Matisse was closed and had moved to a block near the Colliseum.

This move he carried out the day after via a taxi. The rooms we used were OK, clean with air con and en-suite bathrooms. The 24 hour breakfast idea I liked - just raid the fridge anytime for yoghurts, butter, cheese, bread etc and make your own coffee - very good idea!

Roberto was helpful and informative but I was taken aback by the cash only thing! As other posters mentioned - my (robbing) bank charged me £3 to withdraw my own money to pay for the room... Grrrr

In summary - no complaints from us - but find it odd that many bookings are moved about and I would guess if you arrive late (we arrived mid afternoon) - then its not good news!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidAWooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews