We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in all ways but one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Ranked #4 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect in all ways but one”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

A truly lovely small hotel. Public rooms are luxurious and comfortable, with many types of excellent liquors available at will. Rooms are large with comfortable beds and very modern baths. The contents of the well stocked mini bar are also free for your enjoyment. Breakfasts are among the best we have had in Europe, with a broad and well chosen set of "typical"options, plus eggs or pancakes cooked to order. Location is super- you are in the center of Rome. The staff are friendly, but seem to have undifferentiated roles. As a result, there is no one who seems to play the knowledgable concierge role that one would expect to find in a hotel of this type. As noted by some other reviewers, restaurant recommendations are particularly weak. There are some very good restaurants not far from the hotel that we found ourselves.When we reported one of our "finds" to the staff they responded " yes, everyone who tries that one seems to love it" - but it seems not to make it on their closed list. They need a concierge who loves to eat to make this a perfect hotel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank eclectic_traveler043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr68, Direttore at Villa Spalletti Trivelli, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment.
As stated from most reviews , Villa Spalletti Trivelli is beyond the idea of "hospitality industry philosophy" .. and wish our guests feel "at home "away from home ..this is one of the many reasons why our Front Desk staff have undifferentiated roles …Logically in a small property there cannot be any ridigity of tasks ... Suggestions for restaurants? We do have a selected list of restaurants we feel comfortable with ( with high rating for service and quality of food ) and every good "implementation" is very welcome .
I take advantage of wishing you Season's Greetings!
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    27
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
92
310
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

After a wonderful stay on which my then boyfriend proposed to me, we knew we had to start our honeymoon at this wonderful hotel. The service, once again, was exemplary. We were lucky enough to spend our whole stay in the Garden Suite, which has a more modern feel than the rooms in the main building (although the latter are still marvellous!) and has the benefit of a private garden.

We became very soon accustomed to a new routine of taking a complimentary aperitif in the salon before heading out to one of the great restaurants within walking distance and returning afterwards for another complimentary nightcap in the garden. Perhaps a little too accustomed - the next hotel we stayed at, we completely forgot where we were and attempted to help ourselves to the bar!

Spalletti Trivelli is an opulent experience and with a personal feel to the service that we just didn't get anywhere else in Italy.

We loved it so much, I'm planning on taking my whole family next time!

Room Tip: If you want the benefit of room service and other modcons of a hotel but with the flexibility of sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aziraphale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is mansion in the heart of Rome that has been converted into a five star hotel. The service is excellent. Anything within reason was managed. The room was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was excellent. Sleeping was easy except there was a mechanical problem with the thermostat which kept the room too hot (over 25C). This is a very romantic place which has a lounge to sip drinks in the evening and in warmer months a pretty outdoor patio. I recommend the hotel for honeymooners. The breakfast was large and delicious. When we return to Rome, I suspect we will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eph76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was our third stay and it will not be our last. We felt like family...in a grand home. Having evening libations in the great room made me feel like royalty. Hey, who would not like to be queen for a day? The location is terrific--walkable to the major sights for those of you who are walkers. The steps down from Quirinale Piazza ( and then up ) are something to be aware of if you are not active. Breakfast is perfect. The spread has almost everything ( breads, cakes, cheeses, meats, fruits, yogurt, etc.). They will make eggs, if you ask. We love the small boutique feel of VST. If you like chain hotels and cookie cutter décor, this is not your place.That's fine. More chance of availability for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmc292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst exploring Rome for the first time. We felt as though we were staying in a very special home.

We could not fault the hotel. It really is one if the best we have stayed in, and many luxury hotels could learn a lot from them!

The drawing room, terrace, entrance and breakfast room were beautiful and the honesty bar was a very nice touch.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much....they secured some great restaurant reservations for us.

The room was wonderful, furnished with antiques and beautiful art with a view of the garden and blackout shutters. Plus an oversized bathroom.

We really could not fault the hotel and will definitely be booking agin on our next visit to Rome.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTraveller500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have been lucky enough to stay at the Villa four times now, the first time being May 2012 after consulting the SLH website. That visit alone was enough to convince us that not only did we want to get married in Rome but we also wanted to host our wedding reception at the Villa. We are now one year on from that magical wedding weekend and have just returned from our first anniversary stay.
We cannot speak highly enough of the luxurious hotel, it's amenities, it's food and the incomparable service offered by its staff. Every guest is extremely important and any needs are catered for with a very personal touch - nothing is too much trouble. This professional approach and can-do attitude emanate from the top where Maria Merra, the hotel manageress, and the head of reception Elio, set the tempo.
We could wax lyrically about all the great times, the fantastic experiences and first class service we have received since we discovered the Villa 18 months ago but we think it's best just to say "BOOK IT" , you will not regret it. We certainly can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: It is impossible to choose a bad room as they are all first class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in Villa Spalletti Trivelli for four nights recently and are a slightly perplexed by the place. There is no doubt that it is a very beautiful hotel. The common areas are decorated with real style and gorgeous furniture. However, as a whole, the place just does not work.

There are twelve rooms in the hotel, so naturally it has a quieter, more intimate feel than other hotels. However, this does not translate into a more personalised experience. There always seemed to be different faces at reception, without anyone knowing you were a guest.

I have to agree with another reviewer who says that there is a sense throughout that you are an unwelcome guest in a stately home of someone you don't know.

I do not want to be overly critical, as there are a lot of positives - excellent breakfast, nice room (although nothing as impressive as the common areas) and perfect bathroom. The issue is perhaps best exemplified by the "turkish bath". On our last day, we wandered down to the turkish bath, which is in the basement of the property. The entire basement has been renovated to an extremely high standard to fit it with a smal gym, relaxation room, changing rooms and turkish bath. However, when we arrived, there was no body to meet us, nobody at reception and no body to tell us where to go and where not to go. We eventually worked our way through the warren of rooms, had a quick sauna (i.e. "turkish bath") and left - feeling like we were imposing throughout.

We have stayed in a number of expensive 5* hotels. We generally look for boutique hotels, with character, as opposed to huge chains with hundreds of rooms. We really wanted to love Hotel Villa Spalletti, but we just didn't.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Themightypen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr68, Direttore at Villa Spalletti Trivelli, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our Property.
As stated from most reviews and in some of our earlier replies , Villa Spalletti Trivelli keeps the intimate feel of a private home and the kind of service we offer is not the usual one you would find in a hotel . Our concept is providing discretion and privacy with a home touch . Our staff is friendly ,very accommodating yet very professional with an eye to guests' expectation with a non-intrusive attitude which could be an added value for most people . Points of views are different from person to person and maybe not everyone may completely agree with our philosophy : this is an expression of democracy .
Regarding to the Turkish bath issue , which is exclusive for guests staying at the Villa who can also take advantage of Gym facilities and Relax room on a totally complimentary basis , there is a fully detailed notice at the Reception providing info about the use of turkish bath and inviting our valued guests to ask the Reception for any further assistance on the Wellness Centre : our staff is always ready to help our guests for any queries.
We are glad that you enjoyed some part of the stay and thank you for the nice words spent on our breakfast and our rooms.
kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,621 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,256 in Rome
697 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,256 in Rome
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,256 in Rome
2,864 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,256 in Rome
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Property: Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Spalletti Trivelli 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing