We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Conflicted On This One” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Ranked #5 of 1,283 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Conflicted On This One”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After reading the many five-star reviews on this website before our trip to Rome, I fully anticipated writing a glowing report upon my return. Unfortunately, I cannot describe our experience as "Excellent" and, at $1500 per night, my rating of "Very Good" is a push. At first, I ranked the property "Average" but must acknowledge certain aesthetic features.

Unquestionably, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is a grand, well-located structure--filled with some beautiful antiques. The public rooms have a rather hushed museum feel. The suite we occupied is spacious, with a pretty garden view. The linens are quite lovely and the bathroom bright and well-equipped. A note, the lighting in the room is uneven. The choices are: a series of dim lamps or a continuous up-lighting mounted on the full room perimeter embedded in the ceiling trim which basks the room in hospital-like florescence.

Reception, a series of side-by-side desks crammed under the main foyer stairway, is a hive of activity--several people glued to their computers as if they worked at NASA. With twelve rooms to manage, I cannot imagine what they are tending to but, for when approached, they seem slightly annoyed at the interruption. The words aloof and indifferent come to mind. English is a problem here and in the breakfast room.

The "honor bar" is a nice touch and breakfast OK. I kept looking for all the "remarkable" service but it eluded me.

Lovely building, stellar location, sweet young greeter, quiet ambiance, garden, spa--these are the positives to take it over the "Average" hump.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westvillagetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr68, Direttore generale at Villa Spalletti Trivelli, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to write about us and share your experience. Guests' reply are always very welcome: your comments give us the opportunity to improve our service .
I understand from your review that as a general overview you enjoyed the Property and apparently in your opinion we didn't match your idea of "remarkable standards" about lighting and number of employees at the front desk. I will try to sort out your doubts, first of all about lighting. Let's say that our point of view is offering a range of possible lighting levels. Lamps in the room allow determining the best light according to guests preferences or opt for a maximum result: it's really a matter of personal point of view. Regarding the number of employees, as general manager I don't feel we are overstaffed as there are many activities to be carried out every day and my staff do work hard. Running a business in the field of hospitality is not at all an easy task. Also, our employees are very fluent in English for both education and professional experience. I must say that we co-operate with two prestigious universities and we sometimes offer students an opportunity to do an internship.
Hope this clarify . Please feel free to contact me should you wish any further info.
Warm regards
Maria Merra
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    24
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
273
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed two nights here and was blown away with the service and beautiful decor. There is a wonderful breakfast put out each morning and complimentary drinks and chips put out in the evening. Honestly, this is a great find and not sure others could even begin to compare. Great location and beautiful spacious public park across the street. My room had a quaint balcony that looked over the park. The windows and tall doors in this hotel are breathtaking .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recently read a review of the Hotel Spaletti from Mary Blonde. I rarely write hotel reviews when I love a hotel because I want to keep really small hotels a secret so that when I want to return there is availabilty. Hotel Spaletti is one of those places.

We traveled to Rome two summers ago and chose the Hotel Spaletti because we were acquainted with a friend of the owner. Upon arrival, we were treated like royalty and the staff had no idea who we knew. The rooms were perfect. The breakfast was "over the top." Everything we asked for was homemade freshly for us by the chef in their small kitchen. We had beautiful omelets, meats, pastries with homemade jams and fresly squeezed juices. We had freshly brewed coffee on the rooftop lounge in the morning at it was unforgettable.

The staff arranged a private trip to the Vatican that one could never have had without their intervention. Additionally, we were sent to one of the oldest restaurants in Rome and were disappointed with the food. After explaining our experience to the manager, the staff secured us one of the best tables in Rome on a balcony overlooking the Vatican as the sun set over Rome. The manager even called the first restaurant to explain that they were being stricken from their list of suggested restaurants because their service and food were not up to snuff.

I agree with the Hotel Manager. The Hotel Spaletti is an excellenct choice while staying in Rome but please do not spread that around. I want a room to be available the next time I'm in Rome!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malcolmesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is an oasis. The bed was just right, not too hard and not too soft. The linen was high quality. Big fluffy towels. Large bathroom with a soaking tub and separate shower. A fabulous spa and workout area. Buffet breakfasts, wine and drinks in the evening in a beautiful drawing room. The location was in the center of all the sights and resturants. We walked everywhere except to the Vatican - yes, we took a cab for a cost of about $12. Free, high speed wi-fi available everywhere. This hotel did not once nickel and dime us for anything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was attracted to this hotel by the location and by the review that compared it to staying at the Frick Mansion in NYC, which I concur was a very apt description. The public rooms are spectacular, like staying in a wealthy friend's home, and our suite was also very well appointed. The windows had wooden shutters which kept out the noise at night. We have stayed in other 5* hotels, but none that I enjoyed more than this one. When we return to Rome, we will come back to Villa Spalletti Trivelii.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuzanneDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were travelling around Europe for our anniversary in September and stayed here for 3 nights in September. We arrived in the evening after travelling all day and we couldn't have asked for a more welcoming reception. We were shown into the beautiful sitting room with it's antique furniture and offered a glass of wine. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the garden, it was spacious, quiet and extremely comfortable. The added bonus is a free mini bar which includes snacks and there are also complementary drinks before and after dinner, a first in any hotel we have ever stayed in! The hotel team were very professional and helpful in every way. The breakfast is layed out on a long table with an excellent choice which includes homemade cakes and jams, yummy! This hotel is in a quiet side road but a central location, you can walk to most places. We can't recommend this hotel enough, it is a must for anyone visiting Rome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Excellent hotel as you can read from all the reviews.

The building itself is just beautiful, stunningly renovated to brand new standards. With antiques everywhere and some real style.
The location was very convenient but not in the 'heart of the action'. So it is a bit quiet which is probably a good thing.
The only complaint i can say is it was very hot when we were in Rome, and it would have been nice to have a outside spa or swimming pool on the rooftop or in the garden.
Look forward to coming back oneday and hopefully the hotel remains just as glamorous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank astonmartin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#6 of 1,283 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 5,614 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,283 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum - Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 2,528 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,283 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Property: Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Spalletti Trivelli 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing