We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own private mansion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Ranked #15 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We agree with the chorus of TripAdvisor members, whose reviews sent us here, that this is a thoroughly enjoyable, luxurious venue only minutes from most major sights but surprisingly peaceful and non-commercial. Our room, a smaller suite (#7), was spacious, amply air-conditioned and luxuriously appointed with antiques and a marble bathroom. Views from the rooms are unimportant even if the hotel is justifiably proud of their well-kept private rear garden and proximity to several parks, which, incidentally, were deserted during our five-day visit. We had originally considered two boutique hotels, including the popular Portrait Suites, on the Via Condotti, but were very satisfied with this property and will not hesitate to return. Highlights are the breakfast buffet, which is sumptuous, the basement-level fitness center, and the overall sense that you are visiting wealthy relatives rather than a commercial establishment. We disagree with one TripAdvisor member who found the atmosphere akin to a mausoleum. It is just lively enough during July so that you don’t feel you are in an empty theater. I will say that it is awkward ringing the front doorbell and waiting to be let in every time you return home. Moreover, we found the staff inconsistent and, while mostly very accommodating, believe we encountered the front desk employee who wrote a bitingly sarcastic reply to the abovementioned TA member. His sour-ness was noted in person over and above his perfect English-language skills. But beyond these expectable issues this is a premier property which we highly recommend.

Room Tip: A "view" is not necessary as all rooms offer peace, privacy and light.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NiceNYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Villa Spalletti Trivelli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 484 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

I spent a long weekend here in February, and we were impressed with the great atmospehere, lovely building and nice gardens. The staff did not hesitate to fulfull any request. Our room was lovely with a great bathroom. We really enjoyed out breakfast with the best coffee. We had the rooftop to ourselves in the nice sunshine and enjoyed the lovely and comfortable sitting areas downstairs with free bar at night. We walked everywhere and this hotel has a super central location.
I feel lucky to have stumbled across this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingveig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A must stay in Rome - warm welcome at 8:00 am for very early arrivals with the offer of breakfast as our room was made ready. Charming and gracious rooms and spared spaces downstairs were very spacious and comfortable in grand style.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very good hotel. Our room was lovely, we had a suite which was just perfect with two lovely bathrooms. The gardens are lovely and we especially enjoyed the early evening glass of prosecco sat outside. One small complaint is that it is disappointing that can't get tea/ coffee in your room without paying also breakfast could be slightly improved with more of a selection of hot food. Overall though it was a centrally located oasis of calm.
The staff were excellent and could not do enough to help.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honest_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

A truly magnificent hotel, only twelve rooms, so you hardly see any guests.

Free in room bar and downstairs bar free between 1730 and 2300hrs.

The bedroom was fine, king size bed, large TV and decent size bathroom.

Breakfast had large choice and most pleasant sitting outside.

Central location, staff friendly and efficient.

We would definitely stay here again, It deserves its high rating.

Room Tip: The standard rooms were fine
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GastroGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Villa was as expected, absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed our room which was very spacious and immaculate. The bathroom was huge and beautiful with marble and very nice fixtures. The favorite perk for us however was the all inclusive mini-bar. It was very well stocked with beverages and snacks all at no additional charge. You can also partake of the bar downstairs in the library at no charge which was a nice stop before heading out to dinner.

The gardens in the back are so peaceful and pristine. We would sit with our drink while waiting for our taxi for dinner each night. There were other people staying in the villa but it felt so very private. During breakfast we had only one other family in the dining room and I don't think we ever saw any other guests on our same floor. I can see why the Villa is frequented by VIP's who wish to remain anonymous.

The staff was friendly and was eager to help with whatever we needed....dinner reservations, etc.
The Villa is definitely one of the favorite places I have ever had the opportunity to stay, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ksma23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We suffered through the hordes of tourists at all of the famous spots and then relished the private sanctuary Villa Spalletti Triveli offered upon our return. There are so few guests sharing this sizable villa even during peak season that you feel you have it to yourself. It is tastefully decorated minus a few eccentric choices. The staff were always at hand when you needed something and hidden from view when you didn't. The location was superb and within walking distance of all of the sites except the Vatican.

The best parts... A private retreat in the heart of Rome...quiet, comfortable, relaxed. Complimentary cocktail in the garden after a long day of crowded tourist spots. Helpful, friendly staff with no attitudes. Mercedes pick up service at the airport was a great stress free welcome. Location, location, location.

Could be improved... Breakfast was dull and the same everyday. The spa services were pleasant but not memorable.

It was a great start to our first tour of Italy!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank irachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,801 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,267 in Rome
735 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
430 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $398 - $1,753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Spalletti Trivelli 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing