We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Gem in a Busy City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Ranked #7 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A Real Gem in a Busy City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

What can I say – this is just a gorgeous place. There are 12 deluxe rooms of various types at the Villa, we tried two, the first of which was a prestige double with a balcony overlooking a lovely park. It was a large room with king sized bed, walk in wardrobe/dressing room and gorgeous bathroom with all amenities (the towels and robes are to die for).

The room rate includes a bar fridge filled with beer, water, soft drink and spirits; all you can drink. The breakfast room is divine with lovely china and table wear. You can choose from the Continental breakfast which is laid out from 7 am to 11 am (very generous), or you can ring a bell and have something cooked fresh. (This is much better than the standard hot buffets, where everything ends up cold and chewy.)

The hedged garden is very nice, especially in the early evening when complimentary bar service runs for a number of hours and it’s very pleasant to sit and relax after a hard days touring on comfy lounges and just enjoy the fresh air. There’s also a roof top area with lovely views, more lounges and water on ice for guests’ use.

The downstairs area is decorated beautifully and has lots of quiet reading areas, or just places to relax and chat.

It’s very centrally situated; walking distance to many of the sights and the staff are very friendly and happy to help with taxi’s, tour bookings and restaurant recommendations.

While not exactly cheap, the website is a true depiction of what your money buys (unlike some sites where they make the rooms look huge and they’re the size of a closet). It's quite luxurious actually and I cannot recommend this boutique hotel enough.

Room Tip: The balcony room 6 was very nice. Room number 1 was larger but we found the air conditioning strugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovingagoodholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    27
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
91
302
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at the Villa in mid July for 5 nights. There were 7 of us travelling. My hubby, myself our 4 boys and our nanny. We had an amazing stay at the villa. Since there were 7 of us staying at the hotel, we booked the hotel's apartment which had more than sufficient room for all of us to stay. Even though we had to walk a few meteres to get to the main part of the hotel, we were able to use all of the amazing ammenities and had our daily mid day break in the beautiful, secluded garden.The apartment was very clean, nicely decorated new bathrooms and kitchen. Washer/dryer, air conditioning in all of the rooms. The bathrooms had very nice toiletries. The kitchen had unlimited free drinks, juice, water, liquor. I am quite picky on where I want to stay and it has to be clean. this was IT. Customer service was SUPERB. The staff at this boutique hotel were some of the best in the world, and we have travelled a lot. We were close to everything, the coloseum, Trevi Fountain, Presidential palace, Vatican, Pantheon, lots of great Gelato shops, restaurants etc. We walked everywhere. In short, STAY HERE!

Room Tip: the detached apartment is great for families or groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vancouverfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We unfortunately didn't have the chance to stay in Villa Spalletti Trivelli as part of our honeymoon, which we had very much been looking forward to, as we were caught in a very frustrating extended flight delay due to Hurricane Irene on the East Coast of the United States. As soon as I found out our flight had been cancelled, I sent a copy of the cancelled itinerary to Villa Spalletti management to show evidence of our predicament. I also called the reservations agent in Rome to let them know, more than three days before we were to arrive. Our flights were cancelled multiple times because of the hurricane, causing us to lose several days of our honeymoon. :-(
I was informed that Villa Spalletti management would need to subsequently rule on our case as to the deposit. After an extended delay, I was informed that our deposit would be non-refundable, despite the clearly beyond-our-control circumstances of our inability to begin our honeymoon as planned, and the substantial efforts we had made to show good faith and communicate the circumstances to them in as timely a manner as possible.
I had very much looked forward to our stay, and am surprised that such a fine hotel would treat us in this fashion, when the cause of our change of plans was very clearly and publicly out of our control, and we gave them ample opportunity as soon as we could to put the room back up for reservations.
Villa Spalletti Trivelli sounds like a beautiful place with great reviews, but didn't show good faith in our case, making an already frustrating situation at the outset of our honeymoon all the more dispiriting. We had a wonderful time during the remainder of our honeymoon, elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank TokyoTravelingPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr68, Direttore at Villa Spalletti Trivelli, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We regret to acknowledge your idea of us acting without good faith. We always try to be customer oriented on evaluating the circumstances of a late cancellation, and our understanding in your particular case is an example of this attitude.
Your cancellation was performed less than 48hours before arrival, as per our email correspondence, which means you had to be charged the entire stay as stated in your reservation. We decided NOT to proceed with full charge but only kept the 30% deposit of your 1 night stay instead (Sum that could have been refunded by your travel insurance). In addition to this we also guaranteed a dedicated discount on your eventual future reservation (perhaps not 'been sufficiently clear ?). We really hope you will be able to come visit us in the next future.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

To all who are considering staying in Villa Spalletti Trivelli! This very private place,which has a fairytail ,magic charm, is one and only hotel we'd stay in Rome. Minute you ring masive,antique doors you are entering the most beautifull place in the city. This palazzo with fireplace, antique furniture, soft carpets, beautifull paintings and gobelins on the walls,where you rest after exploring Rome has everything you wish for on your relaxing holidays. It's quiet,
warm place where you are aloud to enjoy old times charm with complimentary drinks by fireplace and listen just to clock ticking. Rooms are amazing overlooking garden or little street.Breakfast is delicious and has a great selection. Thank to all wonderfull people of Villa Spalletti Trivelli!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maukyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were on our honeymoon for 7 days in Paris and 7 days in Rome.

I booked this hotel for 7 nights and it was just amazing! We dont understand how anyone can give this place a bad review. The staff all spoke great english which is a bonus. The building itself was spotless and in great shape. The are very overstaffed so there is always someone catering to your every need. Everytime we gave our key to the desk to go out for the day or even for a few hours someone went in the room and cleaned up, closed the shutters, restocked the fridge (FREE DRINKS!) etc...

The service was amazing. It was like we travelled back in time and we were Italian aristocrats who had many servants living is this amazing villa. We just loved it! We were a short walk from most attractions. There are MANY great restaurants. One tip travellers. Just because you have $$ don't spend them at the expensive restaurants. We learned that the cheap ones are WAY better. We had dinner at a recommend restaurant next to the hotel and were very disappointed. The next day we went to another that costed 4 times less and was just amazing. We found this to be true for every restaurant we visited. AVOID TOURIST TRAP RESTAURANTS! Eat as far away from the tourist area's. I know this is not a part of the hotel review but please listen.

But overall I will 100% be back to the Villa. If Rome didnt have so many places to visit we would of just stayed at the Villa all week.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed at Villa Spalletti for 4 luxurious nghts. A true secret, close enough to the madness of Rome CBD but far enough away to chill out. Elio and all the staff are exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. All staff are bilingual. The Spa and Turkish bath is out of this world. Beautiful breakfast buffet which we took out to the exquisitely manicured gardens. The detail in room finishes, crockery, furnishings are all of a beautiful standard. This was the first 4 nights of our holiday and boy - did these guys set the bar high! we absolutely loved it and will definitely be back!,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Headys55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

After 6-7 trips to Europe, each with a splurge or two, this is absolutely the best hotel we ever visited. Located off the beaten path overlooking a quiet park at the top of Quirnal Hill, you ring the doorbell of a Reniassance home to summon the reception. Great! our room is ready, but not before a guided tour of the museum-like public areas. Rooms were impeccable, every amenity imagineable, including a complimentary minibar. The entire staff was professional and gracious. For example, we had to change plane reservations home due to Hurricane Irene...staff helped dial the airline and offered me a drink while I sat on hold! Breakfasts and dining room decor are indescribable. There's also a beautiful garden in back with a covered patio for cocktails and another is an optional breakfast area...you'd never know you were 200 yards from Via Navionale.
This is a fantastic, magical place.

Room Tip: Rooms have names not numbers. Ours overlooked park in front and we enjoyed watching neighborhood do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimsBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,469 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Property: Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Spalletti Trivelli 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing