We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
38
47
21
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
47
21
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistorical sitesexcellent locationwithin walking distancevaticanbus
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 128 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Stayed at this hotel from 9/19 - 9/22/07. Hotel staff are excellent - very helpful and kind. Gave great advice on directions, dining, etc. Room is simple but clean. Hotel is perfectly situated for visiting all the main sites by foot. Highly recommend and would definately return. Breakfast a little sparse but common for Europe.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellojoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

My wife and I have just returned from a five night trip to Rome. This was our first visit. Through Trip Advisor we found a really good small hotel, the Roma dei Papi, perfectly situated near the Castel S. Angelo, a short walk from the Vatican and within easy reach of all the main historic sites. Stefano and Arianna, who both speak good English, are a delightful young couple who run this hotel with the aim of making all their guests feel personally welcomed and looked after. We found them to be most helpful. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable with excellent bathrooms and one of the best hotel showers I have ever encountered. The hotel arranged our transfers to and from the airport which we felt was well worth the 50 euro fare. As the hotel is situated in a large condominium it might have been quite difficult to find without the driver's help. You have to go through the door of 5B of the building and only then do you see the sign for the hotel. Despite being in the city with traffic all around we found our room to be absolutely quiet. As public space is limited in this 8 bedroomed hotel there is no lounge. Arrangements for breakfast are a bit cramped but the breakfast itself is very good with delicious Italian croissants. We shall definitely return.

David & Gillian Winter UK

1  Thank harburytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

The hotel is very good. Clean, good location, excelent breakfeast...
But I was stolen for someone that it works in the hotel, in my room when I wasn´t there. They took two shorts of mine.
I won´t stay there never more.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ca_s92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

We stayed for three nights and loved the location, It is difficult to find the first time, but once oriented it is in walking distance to all sites in Rome. The hotel is small 8 rooms, but the rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is very helpful, My luggage was lost and the staff tracked it for us daily to see where it was and tried to help us with every frustrating communication with the airlilne. The luggage sat at the Rome airport for three days and did not catch up to us until Athens four days later. It is also located a few doors down from the food co-op where you can buy just about anything at a reasonable price

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank suethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

We stayed at the Roma dei Papi Hotel last week, May 29 - May 31st, 2007. We really have no complaints. It was a great location, perfect for walking to all the sites. We easily walked everywhere we needed to go, including the Coliseum/Forum area, Vatican, and Spanish Steps area.

We booked two rooms directly with the hotel in January and the communication process was wonderful. They were very hepful with questions we had prior to arrival.

The hotel is a bit difficult to find. We were driving in from Florence, and had a GPS system with us that brought us right to the door, otherwise we would not have found it as it is not marked.

The breakfast in the morning is great. The chocolate croissants are awesome!

The hotel asks for cash payment, which worked out well for us. Just be aware ahead of time to have cash on hand.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. There is a computer near the lobby for free internet access. The staff is extremely helpful and polite. It made our stay in Rome even more special.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Madscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews