We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrifying Service - Good luck entering the hotel after 9pm” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme
Ranked #715 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrifying Service - Good luck entering the hotel after 9pm”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

I am currently using the Hotel Papi wifi: My wife and I just came back from dinner tonight and we could not enter past the street gate. It is only 9:30pm and if it was not for a patron leaving the apartment complex, we'd be stranded outside our own hotel. We rang the buzzer for the Hotel Papi repeatedly but no one buzzed us through the street gate! So we continued to press the button for the Hotel Papi and sat out on the street. Once a resident from the complex came out we entered past the street gate. Next was the locked building door. We pressed the button for the Hotel Papi again and FINALLY someone buzzed us through. When I explained all of this to the gentleman at the front desk I was treated rudely. He said he was at the desk and insisted I did not press the right buttons. I am 110% certain my wife and I pressed the correct buttons. No apology from the gentleman at the desk. Had noone come out of the complex, we would have had to check in at another hotel for the night!! Scary thought... right now we are worried that if we head out for some gelato, we'll face the same neglect and not get through the street gate. If you love an unexpected adventure, then this is the hotel for you! Just book another hotel if you plan on leaving the Hotel Papi after the street gate closes.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siftarkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    17
    10
    11
See reviews for
26
47
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights.

We had no trouble finding the hotel and everything seemed fine at first sight. After staying in the room for the first night, though, that all changed. The room was noisy, due to it being only a few meters from the reception. We woke up several times each night from people being buzzed in and loud talk in the reception.

The room was very hot, although this was in March and the temperature outside wasn't that high. The AC didn't work correctly, so we could choose between either a very cold or a very hot room. The view from the window was of a back alley with little light coming through it.

I recieved information on how to connect to the wireless internet, but I couldn't see the access point at all in the room. I finally got a weak signal to another access point that I could use, but only at one very specific location in the room - everywhere else, the was no signal at all.

The room was very clean, so no complaint whatsoever in that department.

The service wasn't excellent - and it frankly seemed like some of the employees viewed guests as somewhat of a nuisance - but it was acceptable and one of the employees actually went beyond the bare minimum, providing assistance and advice.

The location of the hotel, however, is great and we could walk to pretty much everything in Rome. But I'm not planning on staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Javasmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
phoenix az
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

My friends and I stayed here for two nights in September and it is a dump. The room had mold on the wall- YES mold. The manager had not idea or at least played like he had no idea what mold was. The beds were like sleeping on a pew at the vatican. The best thing was the friendly staff in the AM, willing to give directions and help us with our Italian. Oh forgot to mention it took us 3 hours to find the place. It is inside and apartment building. Not even the police knew where this place was.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel201009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Good central physical location, very small rooms, bare amenities, extremely tight eating area – 8 people max. Cappuccino great! Staff very friendly – Irena, Franchesco, Hugo.

Air conditioning fair to poor - one room worked well, other room was terrible – had staff adjust several times, still much hotter than other room. Helped to open windows to get breeze, not safe at night.

Room was very clean, booked two triple rooms – got two twins and folding bed – barely enough room to walk around – NO dressers. Limited place to store clothes – small wardrobe. Views of alley or street.

For a couple of nights, location may be worth it, but make sure you test everything and don’t be surprised about “additional” invoices/charges or threats to call the police as normal maintenance. Due to the frustration and threats – I would not recommend any American to stay there with your family – maybe by yourself or a couple.

Breakfast was a couple of pastries, slices of salami or ham and orange or apple juice.

Close to Vatican, Castle St. Angel and Piazza Navonna. Lots of noisy construction nearby, not so much a hotel as a collection of rooms (about 7) in a three apartment building complex. Graffitti prevalent.

Room walls marked up and chipped.

Toilet got plugged (confirmed normal usage), Hotel manager blamed my family, charged $150 EU and threatend to call police if we didn't pay (not pleasant at all).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geldrop
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

What a horrible experience! The hotel is small, rooms are small, the beds are way to hard. We booked the hotel for 5 nights and after 2 nights we wanted to check out. Our room was 102, next to the reception (as almost all rooms) and breakfast room. The breakfest is very poor, the coffee machine makes so much noise that you wake up at 7 and during the night every customer has to ring the doorbell twice to get into the hotel. Every night we woke up 6-7 times, it was horrible. When we asked to check out and gave the list of complaints we where threathend by the police if we didnt pay for 5 nights. I never experienced domething like this in my whole life! We checkout, payed 5 nights and stayed 2 nights in another hotel to get some sleep after 3 sleepless nights. I would never ever advise someone to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mluijten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

There were just too many problems with this place. The room was tiny, and no matter what we did, we couldn't seem to get rid of the mosquitoes. We had problems coming and going, since there are two different "checkpoints" you have to cross to get into the hotel - which is more like someone's apartment. (They have to buzz you in every time.) The staff was unhelpful, they acted like their guests were a nuisance, and they treated the one woman who works for them pretty poorly as well. We couldn't get the "free Wi-Fi" to work in the room, only in the reception lobby, and cell phone service didn't work in the room at all. Our room was in a corridor just behind reception, and the walls were so thin we could hear everyone coming and going all night. The room smelled horrible. The breakfast was stale. It's also not a very good neighborhood for dining, we had to do some serious walking to find a meal. There is a grocery store on the corner, but when you're traveling, that can be a pain. Given the exorbitant prices they charge and the poor quality overall, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danystorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

This is not really a hotel, but pretends to be one. We reserved a triple room but got a double room with an uncomfortable portable bed added. The room is too small and noisy. The bathroom is tiny. The sinks don't drain. Some fixtures have no light bulbs. There is no lobby to speak of. The breakfast room is tiny with plastic tables and chairs. The staff is nice but they can't do much. The only positive attribute of this hotel is its location. It's a ripoff for its price even in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ara_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Sant Angelo
Hotel Sant Angelo
#328 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Prati
Hotel Arcangelo
Hotel Arcangelo
#490 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Prati
Marvi Hotel Rome
Marvi Hotel Rome
#894 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#232 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#583 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#503 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme

Property: Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme
Address: Piazza Adriana 5, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #715 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the impressive sight of Castel SantAngelo when you stay at Roma dei Papi. This small hotel guarantees an excellent service in the popular Prati area of Rome. Set across from such a magnificent building, Roma dei Papi Hotel de Charme is also less than a 10 minute walk from St. Peters Square and the Vatican Museums. Simply cross the Tiber River to find picturesque Piazza Navona and the Pantheon. Each of the guest rooms features hardwood floors and a host of modern comforts such as Satellite TV and air conditioning. Some rooms come with free Wi-Fi access and there is a free internet point at reception. The dynamic staff speaks good English and are eager to help in any way they can. Airport shuttle services are available on request and at an additional cost. Vatican City - Prati is a great choice for travelers interested in museums, art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Dei Papi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing