We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“european style boutique hotel with wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #46 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“european style boutique hotel with wonderful staff”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We were delighted to have chosen Hotel Diocleziano. It is extremely clean, comfortable, and has that international boutique hotel feel. Service is warm and friendly. The breakfast, which is included, in their lovely restaurant is excellent. <They have a nice small work out room, but enough for what most of us want for some work out. If you prefer to be immersed in the city itself, it may not be for you, however it is about 2 blocks from the train station and is not a difficult walk to the city .... we walked throughout the city from the hotel. And the value for the cleanliness, service and lovely rooms which are immaculate and modern is worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    600
    81
    21
    10
See reviews for
495
1,207
96
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We found this hotel ideal for all of our requirements as an excellent base in Rome. The staff were always welcoming, helpful and cheerful. The standard of fittings and furnishings is high and they have tried to cover every requirement. The hotel bar is very reasonably priced and free soft drinks are provided in the mini bar. The buffet breakfast was good with fresh fruit available each day. The location is within walking distance of many interesting places. The station is not far away and from there we took the Metro to other sites in Rome and beyond. This hotel suited our needs very well and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Wonderful four day stay in the excellently located hotel (walking distance to train station). Fresh variety of breakfast items. I real gem of a hotel for the price.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wbeitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

On a brief visit to Rome in late September I stopped by at the Hotel Diocleziano, a hidden little 4-star gem tucked away behind the train station in Rome. Calm, professionnel, the particularly friendly receptionist Simona, showed me around. Loved the spacious room and impeccably clean bathroom. Highly recommended. They even had a tea tray, which pleases the Brit in me.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edinburghlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed here one night and the room was very clean and the bathroom renovated and very nice. I especially liked the free mini-bar and the free internet. The front desk were kind enough to print my boarding passes without any complaints and booked a cab for me to go to the airport in the morning. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grrl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We only stayed for one night as we were passing through Rome but we were delighted with this hotel. Preliminary enquiries prior to booking were quickly and helpfully dealt with, and we were courteously received on arrival by multilingual staff. The hotel knew this was a special trip to celebrate our ruby wedding, and conspired with our daughter to arrange a bottle of prosecco in our room - and of their own accord upgraded us to the best room in the house. This was spacious, with good-sized bed and a terrace overlooking the Baths of Diocletian. We arrived by train and with rucksacks, and the location is great, within easy walking distance of the station. Many of Rome's classical sites are within easy reach on foot. In the morning, we were very impressed by the extensive breakfast (by far the best we found in a month in Italy) and by the service and surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoestring21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Small, very well appointed Hotel in a quiet street just of the main Station. Room was spacious enough, extremely clean and comfortable. Staff is wonderful, very helpful and knowledgeable . Breakfast was plentiful and always served with a smile.
Hotel Diocleziano is the place to be when you are in Rome! Just perfect!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny068_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,258 in Rome
1,297 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,143 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#42 of 1,258 in Rome
2,330 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing