We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #49 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Superior service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed four nights in the VIP room which is a junior suite on the penthouse level (room 501). Throughout our stay, we encountered consistently superior service. From Termini station, the hotel is about a 5 minute walk to one of the smaller streets in the area -- Via Gaeta -- which actually has 2 other hotels on each side of Hotel Diocleziano. Since this is the main bus hub, there is a lot of traffic to navigate, but it became a simple, quick jaunt for us after one day. (Since the hotel is north of Termini station, we didn't find the location to be problematic and we felt comfortable walking to & from at night, 9pm-10pm.) During check-in, the front desk gives you a map without asking and writes down what transportation options are available to get to the major sights in the city. The hotel elevator can comfortably can fit 3 adults with accompanying luggage. To get to the penthouse suite, the elevator stops at the 4th floor and you take a short flight of stairs directly to the room door. The junior suite is not large, but can work for 3 adults like we were. In the immediate first room which is a small area that connects with the terrace and bathroom, there's a bed (daybed twin size) that can fit someone who is not bigger than let's say 5'8''. The bedroom is more spacious and there's a king bed (2 twins together). Closet space was adequate, though we could have used more space for 3 adults (unfortunately the first room with the daybed has no closet space). The TV is a small 20 inch in the bedroom with various international channels, though we didn't use it heavily. Underneath the TV is a little refridgerator that is stocked with complimentary drinks. We used it everyday when we headed out and it was restocked everyday. The bathroom does give you plenty of room with shelf space and I was greatly relieved to get a true bathtub. The bonus in the package is the terrace with an umbrella table that seats four. Bun and her cousin took coffee out there one afternoon. It was a pleasure to enjoy some fresh air. The view from the terrace looks towards the Terme and we could peope-watch tourists milling around below. Breakfast was complimentary throughout the stay and the girls ate heartily -- the selection was fantastic. The ground floor of the hotel is definitely 4-star quality: to the right of the check-in desk is a bar with plenty of seating, then the breakfast room is a large space that can pretty much hold every guest in the hotel if they decided to eat at the same time; to the left of the check-in desk is a library with comfortable couches and a large flat screen TV, then there's an area with 3 computers for guest use and then there's a gym for light exercise. The free WiFI service signal was strong in our room. The staff were always friendly. I had to check-out at 5am to catch a flight and the front desk person kindly and quickly put together a breakfast bag for me without my asking. It was a pleasing touch of service emblematic of this hotel after a fantastic 4 days at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorker03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    591
    79
    19
    10
See reviews for
481
1,186
94
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Reviews are true. We stayed in a superior room with terrace for 2 days at the start of our trip to Italy. Concierge gave great dinner recommendations in the vicinity. 5 minute walk from Termini (be sure you walk on east side of the piazza as you walk out of the train station). Breakfast was generous and free snacks and drinks were a great plus. Terrace was beautiful. The room had a kettle and you can make your own tea/coffee. Internet was free. All in all, great value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We arrived in Rome & found out that the hotel we had booked had overbooked. They sent us to the Hotel Diocleziano for a night & it was lovely. The staff were very helpful & friendly & the breakfast was one of the best we had in Italy. The room we were given was very small but that was our only dissatisfaction. The hotel is very conveniently placed & we found a great Eritrean restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joheark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Very well centered for Termini train station, to Hop on Hop off buses etc. Within walking distance to Spanish Steps (20 - 25 min) where high end shopping is located.
Staff are very friendly and more than helpful in whatever you need. Great breakfast included in a well appointed room. Makes the day when you have so much to see.
Rooms are smaller, like New York, but clean and modern and provide quiet for a good nights rest. Free internet provided to you made it so nice to stay in touch with family. In six days staying at the hotel, besides the Hop on Hop off buses, we took a cab only once, the rest of the time the hotel was so well situated we walked everywhere.
We had never been to Rome before, but we will be going back in the near future and this is the hotel we will be staying in. Safe, clean, comfortable and friendly. Try to beat that.
Paul from Canada

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed in the VIP Junior suite for 10 days, and so got to know the hotel and the area quite well. The patio of the suite is well worth the extra money, though you might not think so in poorer weather. The quality of the facilities was excellent, and the staff were exceptional in their attention to detail and their willingness to help in any way and at any time. They were unfailingly cheerful, from the moment the door was opened to us on our arrival to the moment our bags went into the car at the end. The neighbourhood is excellent for transport connections, for historic sites and eating places, but a little on the seedy side. Do try La Famiglia for the quality of its food and the sheer buzz of people enjoying themselves looked after by a very efficient, if sometimes unpredictable team. The hotel is small enough to feel friendly whilst having the facilities you would expect of a larger establishment. We would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewPate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Diocleziano for 5 nights based on TripAdvisor reviews and we couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel was in a great location, tucked on a quiet side street, steps from the terminal and walking distance to all of the places we wanted to visit. The room was modern, clean, and a perfect size for the two of us. I can not say enough about the incredible hotel staff (especially Valentino and Giordano). They went above and beyond to ensure we had a wonderful trip.

I would recommend Hotel Diocleziano and without a doubt stay there again if we're lucky enough to go back to Rome in future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoochga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night while seeing Rome. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the Termini Train/Bus station which is really nice. The room was very clean and comfortable. Hotel rooms in Rome are small, and I thought our room was good sized when comparing to others we've stayed in. The best part for me was the customer service. We needed to get up early to catch a flight. The hostess offered to prepare us a boxed breakfast to go, since we were going to have to leave before they had breakfast ready. She then made sure that the car service would be there on time to pick us up, and offered to make us dinner reservations at a local restaurant (Babbo's) that would have good food and service. It was so nice, and she even had them decorate the table with flowers for us, as my wife and I wanted to make it a romantic evening. Next time we go to Rome the Hotel Diocleziano will have our business.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timodeoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#83 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing