We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #49 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

A fantastic stay during our five days in Rome. Location is great - at the corner of a quiet street just minutes away from Termini train station. Room was clean and bed very comfortable. I could not thank the front desk and door staff enough who were always ready to help. Price was also reasonable for Europe. Breakfast was also great. This has got to be my best hotel stay in Europe thus far and would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Rome. I would definitely choose this hotel again for my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    591
    79
    19
    10
See reviews for
481
1,186
94
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
villa grove illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

We chose the Hotel Diocleziano based on the Trip Advisor reviews and proximity to the train station. It went beyone all our expectations. It was spotlessly clean, roomy, had a very nice breakfast, free internet, and most of all. the nicest staff we have ever dealt with. One evening, when we became confused about directions to a nearby restaurant, the desk clerk had one of the other employees walk us within sight of the restaurant! Now, that is beyond the call of duty! We will definitely stay there again if we go back to Rome.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank suzyq43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gippsland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

My wife and I from Gippsland in Victoria, Australia, stayed for 3 nights towards end of september and found the hotel clean and comfortable and staffed with a team of friendly, helpful staff.
The breakfast area is bright and cheerful and so are the staff.
Rooms are on the compact side however the spa in our "superior" room helped after 27 hours of flying.
Close to Termini with an easy walk to and from the station and an elevator assisted in luggage transfer.
Air con a bit noisy however much better than none !
An appropriate chair for the receptionists would reduce the risk of future back problems for staff !!
I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazGippsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

The hotel is located a few steps away from the Termini Station, yet it is on a quiet street. When I was searching for hotels, I noticed that noise was a huge concern amongst vacationers so I made sure that we stayed in a quiet hotel...and I was successful! Also, because the hotel is close to a subway stop, we were able to utilize public transportation throughout the Rome. The hotel is also easy to find, and we felt safe when walking around at night. More importantly, the staff is fabulous. We had a bit of a mishap with our laundry, and the staff was able to rectify the situation with grace and ease. They continued to communicate with us even after we left the hotel and returned to the U.S., and we received our laundry without any further problems. We will DEFINITELY stay in this hotel when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARDM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Olreans, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

This hotel is in a perfect location. It is a 5 minute walk from Termini Station, making it great when arriving from Da Vinci airport. The staff was extremely helpful and informative. Perfect English! We were very comfortable. Because it is close to the station, it is a few minutes ride to any of the popular tourist sites. The internet is available on 3 computers and is quite fast. The area the hotel is in is very quiet, we slept with the windows open one night. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartiniAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

The location of this hotel is great if its important to you to be near the train station, bus lines, da vinci express and metro. Despite hearing to avoid Termini at night, the area didn't feel unsafe to me. The rooms were clean, the staff was nice, the breakfast and the complimentary mini fridge was great.
The bathrooms are a joke. This is not a deal breaker but people should be aware. We stayed at this hotel on two occasions in two different rooms. I thought that the shower in the first room was just a fluke but I was wrong. The location of the shower door opens right into the toilet (see picture). What's crazy is that it looks like the doors could easily be adjusted to open on the other side so you don't need to b avoid planting your foot in the toilet. And like all hotels in Europre, they never provide enough towels for a slippery floor that promptly gets soaked.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAtraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut,USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

Stayed for 5 nights at the hotel. Chose it based on the reviews and location being close to the Termini (main rail station). Rooms were very clean and modern. Bathroom was larger than what wee had expected. Our 8 and 3 year olds loved the room and the attention they got from the staff. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their ways to book us good bus trips in and out of Rome. The breakfast was superb - the kids had a wonderful time. For the last night they gave us their best room (suite) at their top floor. This was clearly their best room with its own balcony - great view. Next time we visit Rome this is where we are staying.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#83 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing