We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$81
Hotels.com$81
Priceline$85
Travelocity$80
Vio.com$81
Trip.com$114
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,577)
Filter reviews
2,577 results
Traveler rating
1,772
681
92
22
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,772
681
92
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station near termini hotel is located convenient location visit to rome pastries sight seeing nice breakfast sauna neighborhood colosseum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 2,577 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2016

When we first arrived it was very late and we didn't like the room they gave us and thought that the bed was very uncomfortable. However, I spoke to the staff the following morning and they were happy to find us a room to our liking and provided a mattress top to make the bed more comfortable. Their was also air conditioning which was wonderful since we were there at the end of July. It is a short walk from the hotel to Tremini Tremini Station where you can grab the Metro or train. The Staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very good. I would definately stay here again and I would definately reccomend it to others. There is an excellent restaurant on the same street about a 1 minute walk called La Famiglia it has great food and great prices!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kehni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

We booked this hotel for the end of a 10 day visit to Italy. The experience could not have been better for us. The staff of the hotel is attentive and helpful. Their knowledge of the area restaurants was wonderful. While the room may have not been the largest we've ever stayed in, it certainly wasn't cramped in any way, and the bathroom and amenities were terrific. Quiet, clean, safe, and very well priced. We'd recommend this hotel to anyone. A wonderful stay in Rome for us and an easy walk to the train the next morning for the airport.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

We stayed at this hotel for a very short layover trip to Rome (two nights). TripAdvisor steered us to this hotel, and we were not disappointed.

First all of the pros: The location: Let's be honest, most of the area around Termini isn't that nice, but the Hotel Diocleziano is on a relatively clean and quiet street. It is a bit removed from the loud/annoying hostel bar scene that makes up most of the area. And if you are looking for a central location with easy access to the various sites and neighborhoods of Rome, being near Termini is very helpful. And getting to and from the airport could not be easier or more affordable via the direct/express train from FCO to Termini. Cleanliness: As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are well maintained and clean. Friendly/attentive staff: All of the staff members that we encountered went out of their way to be helpful. The lady attending to the breakfast was warm and friendly and seemed to be remembering everyone's beverage orders day to day. Breakfast: The breakfast (included in the rate we got) was a lot better than what I generally expect from a value hotel. Fresh orange juice, espresso drinks made to order, lots of food options. It wasn't the fanciest breakfast, but it was a nice way to start the day. Value: At around $140/night, we paid a lot less than we would have if we had stayed at a more "upscale" international hotel, and my experience with those hotels in Rome has been mixed.

And a couple of cons: Bad wi-fi: The wifi was not good. It dropped every few minutes. Small rooms: We were fine with having a small room, and the size of the the room was clearly disclosed when we booked. But if we were staying for a longer period of time, we may have opted for a larger room.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

This hotel is great for its location. Its 25 minutes walk to all the major areas in Rome, except for the Vatican (45-50 minute walk). It is literally a 4-6 minute walk to the metro station. The metro station has buses to go to and back from the airport for 5 euro each way. Very nice staff. Breakfast was good. Room was a good size and clean. You get what you paid for! I highly recommend Hotel Diocleziano.

By the way, don't do the hop on, hop off bus. Waste of money and they take forever to get to one location from another. Just use a train or direct bus.

Room tip: Close to the metro station
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank magy8691
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

The hotel is a 4 Star hotel, but it doesn't feel like it. The rooms are very small, the amenities are not up to the mark and the worst part is the toilet.

The hotel staff is nice and they are trying their best to make your stay comfortable but the problem is -- The hotel should never have been marked as 4 star.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Small_World_23001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest_Relations_Rome, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Dear Agnimitra,

Many thanks for your review.

We are very glad to hear that you were happy with our staff and service.

On the other hand, we are sorry that you were left under the impression that our hotel didn't belong in the 4-star category. We are entitled to present ourselves as a 4-star hotel because the National Tourism Board has decided that we fulfil the requirements to fall on that category. Such requirements include: daily cleaning, daily change of bed-sheets and towels, 24 hour open reception desk, staff fluency in a minimum of 2 languages, the single rooms have to have a minimum of 9 sq/m and a private bathroom and the double rooms have to have a minimum of 15 sq/m and a 4 sq/m bathroom, porter service and a bar open 16 hours a day.
However, we also offer our guests other services and amenities that are not compulsory to have a 4-star category: free Wi-Fi in every room and communal areas, free mini-bar in every room with daily replenishment, laundry service (no extra cost for express laundry service with delivery the same day) and free use of the sauna and gym.

However, we would like to encourage our guests to approach the reception desk whenever they are not happy while staying with us; we will certainly try our best to think about a solution that can improve their experience.

Once again, thank you for sharing your views on our hotel. Without our guests' honest feedback we wouldn't be able to improve and strive to be amongst the most sought-after hotels in Rome.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews