We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel for exploring Rome”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #49 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel for exploring Rome”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Staff are excellent and location, while being downtrodden, is central and fantastic for buses - download a bus app and you're away. Doreen on reception is full of good places to go and the breakfast staff are superb to wake up to. The free minibar meant my son didn't have to buy soft drinks for the rest of the holiday (or the year)! Basic gym and sauna are a nice surprise in such a small hotel.

Room Tip: There isn't really a view to worry about but some rooms (408 for example) have a nice view over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,511
    597
    80
    21
    10
See reviews for
490
1,199
96
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel easy to park outside for check in and bag drop but you do need to find a parking garage overnight. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. They were very helpful sorting parking for us. Very clean but rooms are a little old fashioned and the bath was very marked. Breakfast was average compared to others in Europe. We would stay again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Sirs,

From what we have been able to gather through our system, you have been staying with us only for one night. The room assigned was a Superior Room and it was a free upgrade from the Double Room you had booked.

This type of room features a bathtub that is in fact a Jacuzzi, which cannot be found in all room categories we offer. We are sorry that you have found the bath to be “marked” in some way. We are normally very careful when it comes to maintenance of all of our rooms’ features, including the bathroom fixtures; we have to admit that this is the first time that a guest reports this kind of issue and so far guests using the Jacuzzi have seemed quite satisfied by this extra service we provide.

Regarding the rooms’ décor and textile, we are sorry that you have found them to be “old fashioned”. As it is easy to understand from the photos we have placed in the hotel description, Diocleziano is in fact a classic-style hotel, therefore even the décor matches this kind of idea.

Coming now to the breakfast choice we offer, guests tend to find it quite varied and extensive with something for all tastes. We do not know what other hotels you have visited in Europe offer so we cannot really compare our buffet with theirs and give you an answer accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed at this hotel. Good location near Termini station and bus station. All staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Doreen on reception is a diamond. Restaurant staff great and very helpful. Nothing is too much trouble

Room Tip: No problem with noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel for 2 nights. Reception staff were very accommodating when we showed up earlier than check-in timing. The room was nicely furnished and was located near the bus station and tour bus drop off points. They offered nice suggestions for places to shop and eat which were not the usual touristy places. As well, there were several tourist spots within walking distance, in addition to several convenience stores and a small supermarket. My only complaint is that the breakfast buffet was very limited and could have included more kosher meats.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Madam,

We are very grateful for your review and we are very pleased by your kind words of praise.
It is always very important to us when guests show their appreciation of our service and are satisfied by their choice. We are only sorry that you have not managed to find all that you wanted in our buffet breakfast. We have to admit that normally we do not really receive requests for kosher meats and so far guests seem to have been satisfied by the choices we offer. We are certainly able to suggest kosher restaurants which may be found downtown, maybe for lunch or dinner, however breakfast has not really been an issue so far.

We are sorry that you were expecting more kosher food in our buffet; however, since we do not advertise ourselves as a hotel which also caters for this kind of food, we are not normally prepared to serve it.

Said this, we do hope that this small flaw has not hindered your enjoyment of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our family had the best time staying at Hotel Diocleziano - all 10 of us! The staff was extremely accomodating to our handicapped needs. Joy made the absolute best cappichinio each morning and the front desk staff was exceptionally helpful in helping us navigate Rome. We look forward to seeing them again next time we're in town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed for three nights in Rome and this was a very good hotel based in the centre, 5 mins walk from the main station. Very pleasant staff, room and bathroom very clean and a good breakfast. The decor in the room was quite gloomy but this seems to be normal in Europe! We would certainly stay here again. There was an excellent restaurant about 150 metres away.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from adjoining building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeREngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed in mid-August 2015 at the Diocleziano for three nights and were extremely happy with our choice.

The location of the hotel is excellent. Close to the Termini train station where you arrive from the airport and which is also the central location for the metro lines. It's also within a moderate walking distance from many places.

Staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful, always ready to help with a smile. As we don't speak Italian, everyone at the hotel was able to help us and spoke really good English (there were also some native speakers among the staff).

Our room was very neat and gave the feeling of being renovate not so long ago. A good hand mattress and a good pillow. Bathroom was very spacious and we got a room with the bathtub, as requested. Complementary toiletries were nice. Also complementary minibar was very nice, especially when coming back to the hotel at the end of a day of sightseeing it was nice to have a cold drink of water or a soft drink.

Breakfast was also very nice, extensive selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt, bread and all the appropriate toppings. I think my absolute favorite at breakfast was the freshly squeezed orange juice!

In the evening when you feel too tired to venture far away for dinner after walking all day there are several nice restaurants just blocks away.

We loved our stay and if we come to Rome again will definitely stay here, as well as recommend it to any friends or family planning a trip to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,271 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,095 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,256 in Rome
2,314 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,256 in Rome
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing