We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #49 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have visited Rome on many occasions and this is the best hotel we have stayed in. Clean comfortable rooms, friendly helpful staff, a great location. The free mini bar was really appreciated - as was the tea making facilities in the room, an unusual but very welcome touch in an Italian hotel. We have found our hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,511
    597
    80
    21
    10
See reviews for
490
1,199
96
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited Rome this week to join some friends who were celebrating a special birthday. They were booked at this hotel, but we were unable to reserve a room at the same time because it was subsequently sold out. However, we planned to meet our friends at the hotel, and hoped to see their room in case we wanted to stay there at a future visit to Rome.
The staff was very uncooperative and would not let us go up to our friends' room even for 5 minutes, and even escorted up by our friends. I explained that I was interested in comparing the room to the one we were staying in, and the staff told us that it was "Italian law" that we were not allowed to visit their room. We knew that was untrue since our friends were welcomed into our room at the hotel where we stayed (Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel).
We were very disappointed in the attitude of the staff, and as a result will never stay at that hotel in the future. We would highly recommend Al Viminale Hill & Hotel instead, where the staff was very friendly to us as well as our visiting guests, and attentive to all of our needs.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank perk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sirs,

First of all we would like to stress the fact that all that happened has been a complete misunderstanding.

However, before explaining the whole episode we would like to clarify one very important point: by Italian law only people who have been registered by the reception –by giving them an ID – may occupy for the night a room in a hotel.

Said this, let us please refer the whole matter. Your friends, who were in fact staying with us and were regularly registered at the hotel, told our receptionist that you were going to visit them in the afternoon. As per policy the receptionist told them that no external Guest was allowed to go by themselves to you room but could wait for you in the public area of the hotel so that you could meet there with them. When you arrived the receptionist explained exactly the same thing to you and you agreed to wait in the bar area. As soon as our Guests came to meet you, you tried to sneak up to their room with them without telling the receptionist and when she noticed you doing so she rightly stopped you. In this kind of circumstance she acted in the right way to protect all the other Guests staying with us.

No external Guest may be allowed on the room floors if they are not booked at the hotel, registered for a short visit or accompanied by a member of staff. We think that by respecting the law and not allowing external people to go freely wondering around our hotel we are protecting all our clients from any dangerous and unwanted situation.

Going back to your specific situation we can only say that there has been a responsibility from both sides regards this unfortunate event. Neither our Guests nor you explained to the receptionist why you wanted to go upstairs nor did she ask. She only noticed that you were doing something not allowed and told you immediately not to. Apparently you tried to do the same again with her colleague in the afternoon.

Having known about the fact that you simply wanted to visit the room in which your friends were staying, she would have been more than welcome to let you – by registering you with your ID as a visitor – and probably would have even tried to show you other available rooms so to give a different idea of the room categories available.

Unfortunately this conversation never took place and this option was not even proposed.
Only the next morning the Guests staying explained what happened to the morning receptionist in French and the whole situation was finally cleared; you would have been able to come and see the room if you liked but in the end you did not come.

We understand that the Viminale did not give you any restrictions in regards to whom you could take to your room.

We can only speak for ourselves, and as a hotel we fully respect the law so to guarantee our Guests’ security; this will always be our priority. In this circumstance admittance could have been allowed if a reason for your visit was expressed instead of simply trying to ignore the receptionist’s words.

We are sorry that this whole episode took place and that in the end you have not been able to see any of our rooms. We only hope that our future Guests will understand the need for security and will be so kind to at least ask to take some friends up to their room by providing their an ID even for a short visit; this will allow us to comply with the law and also keep our clients away from any unwanted situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed with my wife and the little one from 7th to 10th sept2013, I thing after reading all the other reviews, which seem to be largely correct, I may not have much else to add.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable, and provides all the basic essentials in the room. They have a complimentary not alcoholic beverage bar, replenished daily in room, which is good. Room has tea making facility. Rooms are tidy as I said. As noticed in some of the other reviews, beds are indeed on the harder side, but I personally prefer it his way, so for me me the bed was very comfortable.
Staff was very friendly and eager to help. Breakfast was good with nice variety.

The only downside could be that the hotel has a funny entrance and specially with pram, someone had to always help us lift it, because as soon as you enter, a set of stairs stare at you before you climb up to the tiniest lift ever made!
Also If I may say(hotel may not like it), the rooms and the hotel itself is on the smaller side, even with European city lodging standards. And hotel is on the slightly pricier side and may be perhaps short of a 4 star.
But overall good, as reflected on my 4 stars.
Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youknow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed three days. This hotel was everything we had hoped. The staff was excellent and spoke very good english. One of the staff was actually from New Jersey which was nice. The hotel was very clean, the breakfast was great. They had a nice little bar. All the staff wwas very friendly and helpful on our trip. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had the delux room and it was great. Good value for your money and in a covient location to the trains and withing walking distance to Trevie Fountain.

The only negative is there is no English channel TV shows or movies.

The only comment for anyone traveling to Rome is be very careful about pick pockets. I was pickpocked in the train station. Men wear hidden pockets / wallets that can be picked. Also, the area from Hotel to Train Staion we did see human excrement and also drug needles on the ground. I guess this is any city but be warned!

Room Tip: Delux Rooms were good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane QLD
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff set the tone for our stay from the moment we arrived with a welcome drink and full location briefing so we had a clear idea where the hotel was situated in relation to popular sights. We stayed in the Deluxe room with private terrace and found it to be clean and comfortable. It was lovely to be able to relax on the terrace reading a book etc in between sightseeing. The breakfast on offer was a great way to start the day and we were met with smiles and the yummiest freshly squeezed orange juice.
The Hotel is located in very close proximity to the Termini station, within walking distance with heavy bags and is fairly central to all the attractions.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I were on a honeymoon in Europe and booked ourselves into Hotel Dioclenezio in Rome from 23-27August. The location was fantastic! Entering from Florence, the train station was just across the road but yet not noisy.
The manager, Theodore, realised we were on our honeymoon and immediately gave us a complimentary upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi! He offered us directions and tried to make out stay as comfortable as possible.
Room cleaning was great too!
All in all, a great stay and definitely will recommend to others!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Diocleziano for a week this August. It was a pleasant experience. The room that was assigned to us looks and smells clean all the time. The wall paper appeared new, and the bathroom walls and floor are finished in marble. The hotel is located very close to Termini station, which is the central hub for Rome's transportation. From here, all of Rome's famous sites are within easy commute. The hotel staff are very friendly, from the bell boy who offered us a refreshing drink upon our arrival, to the front desk personnel who provided us hand drawn sketches for our destinations and some band aid for the overused feet, to the breakfast buffet staff who greeted us every morning with a smile and a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,271 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,095 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,256 in Rome
2,314 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,256 in Rome
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing