We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #44 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went for an extended week-end in Rome. We did not want to spend time travelleing to and from our hotel. That is why we chose the Diocleziano, it is just 5 min walk from the station. The negative side of this, is that railway stations never are the best part of cities. There were some homeless people around, but they never were unpleasant towards us.

We were able to walk everywhere, including to and from the Vatican and Trastevere.

The hotel itself is a real gem. It is nicely decorated and clean, and there were no street noise. The breakfast was very good. And most of all: The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erstokke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 2,287 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We definitely recommend this hotel for the comfort and quietness of the rooms with good AC, generous breakfast, and very helpful staff. Doreen helped us finally get a piece of luggage by making several calls to the airline for us. She and other staff were also very informative and helpful with suggestions for tourist sights and restaurants. The hotel met our expectations and needs very well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyGreenfield_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The beds are comfortable, rooms clean and breakfast generous. What really makes this hotel though are the the lovely staff. They really cannot do enough to help you. The location by Termini is not the nicest part of town, but it was quiet, safe and a great base to explore Rome. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RompersGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very nice hotel, close to Roma Termini and only a short walk to the sights of Rome. Emilio and Doreen were very helpful giving restaurant advice, a map on arrival and circling the main sights to see in Rome. The breakfast was lovely and freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee were a great way to start the day. I was travelling with two children under 10 and didn't expect the room to be ready for 3 but it was.

Thank you very much for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed one night prior to starting a cruise in Civitavecchia. Reception was welcoming, the room was clean and comfortable, the free refreshments unexpected and terrific on a hot day, the restaurant recommendations for lunch and dinner proved very good and we slept soundly. Next day we enjoyed the hotel breakfast before walking the short distance to the station for the journey to the ship. This hotel is a real gem and its location perfect. We will be back.

Room Tip: If you are only staying one night the standard rooms are perfectly adequate. Air conditioning works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelfastDisappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here in late July for 5 nights. The breakfast staff was nice and attentive and the food was a great start to the day. Doreen was exceptionally nice and helpful as it seemed almost every time we had a question, she was at the front desk. The rest of the staff was also very helpful throughout our stay. The room was a bit tight, but we knew that going in since it was for sleeping and getting showered and ready for the day and night in Rome. The location was perfect as we took the bus to Trastevere, the subway to different spots in Rome, and a train to Naples for a day at Pompeii, and the Amalfi Coast.... all within in a 3 minute walk. Even when we walked back to the hotel from tourist spots, it wasn't too bad of a trip. If you don't mind if you are in the heart of all the action, than this is a great hotel in room in both convenience, and cost.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zrahnama73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Emilio and Doreen at the front desk are amazing and ready to help for anything you need. Free wif-fi, free breakfast in the mornings with fresh squeezed orange juice, great location. Just a block and a half from Termini station, so that it is simple and convenient from Metro or the trains. Minibar restocked daily with water, soda and juice. Clean, spacious rooms. Really can't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upreading85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#38 of 1,271 in Rome
1,393 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
4,304 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $106 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing