We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #51 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We chose the hotel based on reviews and we were not disappointed. Excellent location, less than five minutes from Termini station & Plaza Republica. We received a free upgrade to a superior room which was very nice, a good size and spotlessly clean. Free minibar (soft drinks). Great choice at breakfast. Really helpful, attentive, courteous staff. Great restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Apart from using the open top bus and a couple of organised tours, my wife & myself walked everywhere, it was very easy to follow maps or ask locals or one of the many policeman if you needed reassurance on which direction to go. About 20 - 25 minutes easy stroll to the Trevi Fountain or the Spanish Steps. Would this hotel recommend to family & friends and we will stay there again on our next trip to this lovely city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 2,308 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent a week in Rome. We had the VIP room. King size bed and a terrace. Nice quiet street. Easy walk to the main sights and a short walk to the subway. Good breakfast, helpful staff. Really liked that the minibar was free (soda, water and juice) The view from the terrace was amazing. Lots of shops nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I had been travelling in Italy for a few days and my flight back to the US was from Rome. I selected the Hotel Diocleziano because of the reviews and location. The hotel is located so close to the train station (Roma Termini) it so helpful, as I was alos taking the train to airport in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful explaning how to catch the airport train and with close recommendations for dinner. The room was nice, seemed a little dated in terms of bedspread and carpeting, but more importantly it was clean and quiet. I was able to walk to the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, the Ruins and the Colesseum then took the subway back to the train station. Good location, great staff. I would return here next time with hopefully more than a n afternoon in Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCCam94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed 1 night and enjoyed our stay. Can't beat the location to the train station!! Large room, bathroom and very clean!!! The staff was very nice and so friendly!! The breakfast buffet was good with a nice selection for the price. The only thing that was disappointing at the hotel was the Internet although it was free it was also very slow. Overall we had a great stay and will return on our next trip to Rome!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Only stayed on night, in town on business. Location was the main factor in picking the hotel, along with postive reviews here. I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. Nice large room, excellent bed, roomy bathroom. When I was told at the front desk that there was also an excercise room and a sauna, I regretted having not packed suitable clothes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdehls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Diocleziano.

Won't repeat what other travellers have said suffice to say that its location is great in a nice quiet street, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are all so nice and friendly. Rooms are well appointed including the free soft drink mini bar and free wifi

It makes an ideal base for exploring Rome as its so close to the Metro, train and buses. in addition it's also a two minute walk to the first stop of the hop on hop off sightseeing tour bus (always like to do that on my first day to get my bearings)

There was a good selection at breakfast.

I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmac40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just got back from a stay in The Hotel Diocleziano. I thought the hotel was very good, spotlessly clean and tidy. The breakfast buffet was fairly small but perfectly adequate. The reason I do not give it 5 stars is that one day there was no hot water, and also the location is a bit out of the way.
If I went to Rome again, I would stay somewhere a little more central.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crimsonidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on our property. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our hotel and services, it means a lot to our staff and management to know that their efforts are recognised and appreciated by our guests.

We have to apologise, however, for the inconvenience you experienced with the lack of hot water. Unfortunately, we had an unforeseen fault on the main boiler that serves the rooms in the hotel. We contacted the maintenance team straight away and managed to solve the issue in that same day. We understand how unpleasant this might have been for our guests, and although we take maximum care in performing routine checks and maintenance inspections, such inconveniences are rarely predictable and we can only but apologise and take all the necessary steps to solve the issue in a timely and efficient manner.

Regarding our location, we are centrally sited just 5 minutes from Termini Central Station and Bus Depot, the ideal spot to start exploring Rome. There’s a wealth of shops, traditional and ethnic restaurants, as well as some worth-visiting monuments, such as the Diocletian Baths (just behind the hotel), the church of Santa Maria degli Angeli and the National Roman Museum, all at walking distance. The famous Trevi Fountain or the lovely park of Villa Borghese are just 20 minutes walk from our hotel, and for those who don’t mind walking, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps are a 30 minute stroll away, and you are guaranteed to find some hidden gems along the way. If you prefer, there are buses that take you virtually to anywhere in Rome, with bus stops just 2 minutes from us.

Once again, thank you for sharing your opinions with the Trip Advisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
1,414 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,272 in Rome
4,364 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,272 in Rome
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,021 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#78 of 1,272 in Rome
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Rome
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $96 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing