We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #34 of 1,284 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

For approx 250 euro for 2 nights we got decent room (3 people). Breakfast was very good, great location and the staff was awesome. I would recommend to find a hotel in the same area for less money however, if you do elect to stay here you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn that you have found Diocleziano to be in a good location and with a high quality service and staff. As for the rate we would only like to underline the fact that we normally compare our rates to those of the other hotels in the area and decide accordingly our selling rate, also keeping into consideration our service’ quality. Furthermore, all our selling websites have a clear description of all our room options. These vary in size and price and all descriptions are correlated with pictures so that Guests may understand the Hotel’ style. Also, our Front Office staff is available 24h a day to help you choose the best accommodation for your stay and travel reason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    546
    70
    17
    9
See reviews for
449
1,096
87
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

So we got a little lost trying to find the Hotel when we got out of Tremini station, but no big deal and found it within 10 minutes of asking a local cop for directions. we walked into a lovely little hotel, with beautiful and clean welcome area. The staff was/is lovely. had a little check in problem, we found out our 4 year old would be an extra 20 Euro per night, but was immediately upgraded to a quaint and lovely suite for no extra charge. The front desk has been beyond kind too us and for the person who said it had a funny smell, the smell is citrus furniture polish which i think smells lovely. The view is good, the bathroom is very roomy with a nice soaking tub. We had an issue with mold in the tub, and when i informed the desk of this, not only did they clean it before we came back to our hotel but they also removed the old molded caulking and re caulked it! Mini fridge is awesome as is the yummy treats, teas and coffees they leave in the room. bed is firm and comfy and the breakfast is also good. It is small, but it has everything you want. Fresh squeezed orange juice is amazing and the lady who runs it was attentive, energetic and super sweet to my 4 year old. everyone here is so kind and eager to help!! this is def. going to be our hotel every time we come here! the only thing is the damn birds chirping at the crack of dawn! but then i grab my coffee and walk out on our private huge balcony and suddenly i am no longer angry, because I am in Rome and watching the sun rise over the ruins right outside!!

Room Tip: room 501 is all on its own floor with a fabulous balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We just spent Thanksgiving week 2012 in Rome and the Hotel Diocleziano helped to make it a memorable vacation. The hotel seems to be part of a chain but there was nothing cookie cutter about this place. The rooms were comfortable and very modernized. The staff was very friendly and helpful especially "Jersey Girl" Doreen :) The breakfast buffet was awesome and the staff will make you an espresso or cappuccino or even an omelets if you ask. The hotel also has free Wi-Fi. We choose to get around Rome via the local bus system and the Termini Station with bus terminals is just across the street. The airport express busses run from there also so it was perfect. The neighborhood around the hotel had plenty of small eateries (pizza) and grocery stores. The Hotel Diocleziano is very quiet, clean and comfortable. I would HIGHLY recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommend this hotel. Great value. As I said...clean, great service and close to main terminal for all of Rome. Free breakfast and wi-fi. Small workout area, sauna and bar. Staff very attentive and polite. Fixed our broken outlet on the spot when notified. Made excellent recommendations each night for dinner and each day for tourist attractions. Stop looking for a place to stay and book this one. You will be glad you did!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_Boyer_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamina, Finland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had nice holiday - quiet location, yet nearby the termini's metros and busses.
Service is beyond excellent! I could recommend this to anyone planning a visit to Rome. Staff in Hotel makes you feel important and welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were in rome for four days only and this hotel was in the perfect location to walk to many places we wanted to see. The bonus was that the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful with reservations etc. The room's decor was nicely tradtional and wasn't just generic hotel decorating, which made the rome experience better. I would stay there again and recommend it highly for those who enjoy a more personal hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katiee_stansfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
737 reviews
273 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

There are many much better places for staying, than the surrounding of the Train Station. However, if you prefer to be close to the fastest train connection from Fiumincino Airport and to have many public transportation options, Hotel Diocleziano could be pretty good base for several days.
The rooms look fresh and they are clean. The small street is quiet enough, even to keep opened window in the night. The service is absolutely faultless and all the people working in the hotel are extremely kind and complaisant. The breakfast is rich, like for the Italian conditions and is served in the stunning room with interesting glass ceiling. Also, the room fee rather acceptable - around 80€ in the direct on-line booking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,284 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#25 of 1,284 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 3,571 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Dharma
Hotel Dharma
#55 of 1,284 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Residenza Cellini
Residenza Cellini
#22 of 1,284 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
Relais 6
#35 of 1,284 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing