We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Honeymoon Experience!!!”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #48 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
brooklyn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon Experience!!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My new husband and I spend 6 nights in this hotel (3 nights on each end of our honeymoon trip). We stayed in two different room - on the 4th and on the 1st floor. Both rooms were fantastic! They were clean, comfortable and very nice. The bathrooms were amazing with roomy shower and a bidet. The breakfast was complimentary and was great with lots of options - eggs, fruit, cheese, pastries, cereal, and yogurts. All of the staff, from the porter to the breakfast crew were super nice, friendly, and helpful. The reception gave us several amazing restaurant recommendations. The hotel is close to the Termini station and approximately 10-20 minute walk to all of the major sites - we had no issue walking anywhere and it gave us a chance to walk through the city. The hotel is on a quiet street, even though you are so close to the main train station, and you are right next to the Baths of Diocletian. We had an amazing time at this hotel and would stay there again on a future trip!!!! Thank you so much for making our honeymoon special! (Oh, and they gave us champagne on arrival - super nice!)

There is a gym and spa facility in the hotel, but we had no energy to check it out. From what I saw while using the computer terminal, it looked really nice. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    593
    80
    20
    10
See reviews for
484
1,194
95
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

From losing a bag to rowdy tourist and even got stop by a police, my trip to Rome was doomed from the get go. But on the last 2 nights of our honeymoon, we stayed at Hotel Diocleziano. Thank god for Tripadvisor. Been to England, US and parts of Asia, but for this price i paid.. Its the best hotel ever. Location is perfect. Plenty of food around the area. FREE WIFI!!!.. in the room!. not just in the lobby!. Its perfect. So once again to the guys at Diocleziano, thank you for saving my honeymoon. PEACE!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feroz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Clean,very pleasant and helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Good Stay. Would stay here again . Good location for transport. I recommend this hotel. Also good location for restaurants, buses. Interesting Basilica and museum right next door to hotel.......G of Zim

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GARY211212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent four nights at this hotel in what was our first trip to Rome, basing our selection on TripAdvisor recommendations. I must have spent 4-5 hours researching various hotels, and you never know until you get there, but we were very satisfied. Very convenient location for general touring. Very nice room at very nice, clean hotel. Super concierge service and super breakfast buffet with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rlwclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Diocleziano for a five night stay and have to say that the Hotel offers a number of key benefits to anyone wanting to book a sight seeing trip to Rome. First thing to mention was our room (Room NO 001), it was exceptionally clean, comfortable and freshly decorated we were provided with a free mini bar containing brand name soft drinks which was restocked daily. We also had the use of a small terrace which although it had no view was a nice quiet spot to chill out after a day sight seeing. The bathroom was fantastic at almost two to three times the size of a normal hotel bathroom and once again spotlessly clean and stocked daily with fresh towels and a good range of toiletries.The staff in the hotel were all very, very pleasant and worked hard to ensure that our stay was an enjoyable one. The final key point for us was the location. When we arrived at Termini (Main Rail and Bus Station) it was a comfortable 5-10 minute walk to the hotel. It was also only 5 minutes from hotel to Metro underground connections. So if you are looking for a really clean, good quality hotel in a great location.....look no further!
George and Denise Dunn

Room Tip: Our Room Number was 001
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise_George_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent one night in Rome and was extremely satisfied with the Hotel Diocleziano. Staff very pleasant and accommodating, bedroom spacious, clean and bed very comfortable. Loved the big bathroom, also very clean and well appointed with toilteries. The complimentary minibar (non alcoholic) was a very pleasant surpise. Easy access to everywhere and everything from this hotel. When I return to Rome will most definitely be staying at the Hotel Diocleziano.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ved M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Travelling as two couples we flew from Leeds Bradford on Jet 2 and were pleasantly surprised by the amount of leg space in the cabin compared to Thomson aircraft. On landing we made our way to find the train to travel to the Termini in Rome but were persuaded by an agent to take a minibus which was fine but expensive at 15 Euro each. Travelling back we used the shuttle bus from near the Termini which was really comfortable and much more economical at 6 Euro each.
We arrived at the hotel at around 1430 local time and were disappointed that one of our rooms was not ready. We checked into one room and had to wait 45 mins for the second room to be maintained. The rooms were very clean with good facilities and it was very quiet at night time.
The reception team were helpful in particular Theodore who booked a restaurant for us on our first evening. The breakfast room is good with a large choice of fruit,cereal,bread ,ham and cheese together with a cooked option.
Eating out is not cheap and we used Babo's just around the corner, La Famiglia across the road and restaurant Chianti near the Trevi fountain. All three were good but not great.
We booked a tour of the Colosseum with Dark Rome which included the underground and 3rd levels which was brilliant. It was a little more expensive but was a small group of 8 , very informative and enjoyable. It is very easy to get to the Colosseum either by walking ,train or taxi (9 Euro).
We also booked a tour of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. This was with Enjoy Rome, again well organised and the guide was excellent. There is a charge of 21 Euro per person to enter the museum. It was Saturday when we went and there were very large crowds visiting the area. Using the Red line from the Termini the journey to the Vatican takes 20 mins by train.
Walking from the Spanish steps to the Trevi fountain I fancied an ice cream, selected a cone , 2 scoops and was amazed to be charged 14 Euro - be careful what you ask for !!
Overall a great weekend , good hotel with many fascinating areas to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveandFreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review on our property and for your kind words on our staff and facilities. We are glad to hear that everything was to your liking, apart from the issue with the delayed check-in, for which we would like to apologise at once.
Check-in starts at 14.00, and we vow to have our guests accommodated to their rooms from that time on. Due to unforeseen circumstances, this might not be attained at all times. After having spoken with the front-office staff on duty that afternoon, we were informed of the following: upon making-up, a fault was detected on the safe of one of the rooms assigned to your party, and it required the intervention from our maintenance team. Because check-out happens at 12.00, we couldn’t start working on your room before that time. The intervention needed was a bit more complex than expected and our maintenance team was still working to solve the issue when you arrived.
We were also told that you were informed of the reasons why you couldn’t gain access to your room straightaway and that you were offered something to drink while you waited, however you declined and preferred to wait for your room to be ready, with your friends, in their room. Unfortunately, on that day, we were fully booked and therefore we were unable to assign you a different room.
We would like to stress how exceptional this situation was; under normal circumstances we always guarantee that the rooms will be ready for our guests after 14.00.
Again, we apologise for this unfortunate event and we hope to welcome you to the Diocleziano Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,043 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,572 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing