We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, Convenient location”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #46 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent four nights at this hotel in what was our first trip to Rome, basing our selection on TripAdvisor recommendations. I must have spent 4-5 hours researching various hotels, and you never know until you get there, but we were very satisfied. Very convenient location for general touring. Very nice room at very nice, clean hotel. Super concierge service and super breakfast buffet with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rlwclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,258)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Diocleziano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

852 - 858 of 2,260 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Diocleziano for a five night stay and have to say that the Hotel offers a number of key benefits to anyone wanting to book a sight seeing trip to Rome. First thing to mention was our room (Room NO 001), it was exceptionally clean, comfortable and freshly decorated we were provided with a free mini bar containing brand name soft drinks which was restocked daily. We also had the use of a small terrace which although it had no view was a nice quiet spot to chill out after a day sight seeing. The bathroom was fantastic at almost two to three times the size of a normal hotel bathroom and once again spotlessly clean and stocked daily with fresh towels and a good range of toiletries.The staff in the hotel were all very, very pleasant and worked hard to ensure that our stay was an enjoyable one. The final key point for us was the location. When we arrived at Termini (Main Rail and Bus Station) it was a comfortable 5-10 minute walk to the hotel. It was also only 5 minutes from hotel to Metro underground connections. So if you are looking for a really clean, good quality hotel in a great location.....look no further!
George and Denise Dunn

Room Tip: Our Room Number was 001
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise_George_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent one night in Rome and was extremely satisfied with the Hotel Diocleziano. Staff very pleasant and accommodating, bedroom spacious, clean and bed very comfortable. Loved the big bathroom, also very clean and well appointed with toilteries. The complimentary minibar (non alcoholic) was a very pleasant surpise. Easy access to everywhere and everything from this hotel. When I return to Rome will most definitely be staying at the Hotel Diocleziano.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ved M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Travelling as two couples we flew from Leeds Bradford on Jet 2 and were pleasantly surprised by the amount of leg space in the cabin compared to Thomson aircraft. On landing we made our way to find the train to travel to the Termini in Rome but were persuaded by an agent to take a minibus which was fine but expensive at 15 Euro each. Travelling back we used the shuttle bus from near the Termini which was really comfortable and much more economical at 6 Euro each.
We arrived at the hotel at around 1430 local time and were disappointed that one of our rooms was not ready. We checked into one room and had to wait 45 mins for the second room to be maintained. The rooms were very clean with good facilities and it was very quiet at night time.
The reception team were helpful in particular Theodore who booked a restaurant for us on our first evening. The breakfast room is good with a large choice of fruit,cereal,bread ,ham and cheese together with a cooked option.
Eating out is not cheap and we used Babo's just around the corner, La Famiglia across the road and restaurant Chianti near the Trevi fountain. All three were good but not great.
We booked a tour of the Colosseum with Dark Rome which included the underground and 3rd levels which was brilliant. It was a little more expensive but was a small group of 8 , very informative and enjoyable. It is very easy to get to the Colosseum either by walking ,train or taxi (9 Euro).
We also booked a tour of the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. This was with Enjoy Rome, again well organised and the guide was excellent. There is a charge of 21 Euro per person to enter the museum. It was Saturday when we went and there were very large crowds visiting the area. Using the Red line from the Termini the journey to the Vatican takes 20 mins by train.
Walking from the Spanish steps to the Trevi fountain I fancied an ice cream, selected a cone , 2 scoops and was amazed to be charged 14 Euro - be careful what you ask for !!
Overall a great weekend , good hotel with many fascinating areas to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveandFreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review on our property and for your kind words on our staff and facilities. We are glad to hear that everything was to your liking, apart from the issue with the delayed check-in, for which we would like to apologise at once.
Check-in starts at 14.00, and we vow to have our guests accommodated to their rooms from that time on. Due to unforeseen circumstances, this might not be attained at all times. After having spoken with the front-office staff on duty that afternoon, we were informed of the following: upon making-up, a fault was detected on the safe of one of the rooms assigned to your party, and it required the intervention from our maintenance team. Because check-out happens at 12.00, we couldn’t start working on your room before that time. The intervention needed was a bit more complex than expected and our maintenance team was still working to solve the issue when you arrived.
We were also told that you were informed of the reasons why you couldn’t gain access to your room straightaway and that you were offered something to drink while you waited, however you declined and preferred to wait for your room to be ready, with your friends, in their room. Unfortunately, on that day, we were fully booked and therefore we were unable to assign you a different room.
We would like to stress how exceptional this situation was; under normal circumstances we always guarantee that the rooms will be ready for our guests after 14.00.
Again, we apologise for this unfortunate event and we hope to welcome you to the Diocleziano Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

It depends on what your needs and your wants as a traveller are. If you are in Rome for a holiday or meeting; not wanting to use too much of the hotel's facilities, other than for a good night of sleep, a good place to shower and a good breakfast; plus great location for your transport needs, then this hotel is for you. Its location will allow you to travel by metro or to walk to most of the wonderful sites Rome has to offer. It is also relatively reasonable in price when compare to other hotels in Rome. I would be able to get a 5 star hotel with that sort of price in Asia...but in Rome, that price is reasonable.
If you are looking for a hotel that will give you a little pampering, then this is not the hotel for you. Forget about the pampering that you may get in a similarly priced asia hotel: the hot tower on arrival, the welcome drink, the lounge.
The staff is helpful. Despite the limitation of space and facility, the staff try to make your stay comfortable. They also offer a little extra advise about traveling in Rome. Breakfast was adequate and of good quality. Important fact: they provide free WIFI for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happymum2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to start by thanking you for your kinds words on our property. We are very happy that you acknowledged and appreciated our staff’s efforts to make your stay an enjoyable one and that you found our location convenient and handy for sightseeing around Rome.
We are proud to be a small 4-star independent hotel, located in a strategic position in Rome and we are run by people who thrive on delivering flawless customer service and hospitality, at all times. Our prices are in line with what we offer and with the other similar hotels in this area. We believe in being totally clear with our guests, so our services and facilities are well described and illustrated in our website, as well as other sales channels we work with directly. That way, is virtually impossible to stay with us thinking we are something else.
One can argue that our prices are high compared to hotels in Asia, but then again we don’t see why we would compare ourselves to hotels in Asia. We are based in Rome, the 10th most visited city in the World (according to the World Tourism Organisation) and our dynamics, market and context are frankly different.
We see ourselves as more than just a good place to sleep: our front-desk staff’s suggestions will help make your stay in Rome a more swift and rewarding experience; our breakfast team’s smile and courteousness will help start your day on the right note; our housekeepers’ attention to detail and care are a guarantee to a comfortable stay. We believe our strength doesn’t lie on our size, on our structure or facilities, but on the way we make our guests feel welcome and looked after, in a familiar and unpretentious atmosphere. “Pampering” can be a subjective concept, and we like to think that by making our guests feel at home and special, we are doing exactly that.
Again, we would like to thank you for your review and we sincerely hope to welcome you to Hotel Diocleziano in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

At the end of August 2012 my husband, 17 year old son, and myself stayed at this fabulous
small, independent hotel for 14 days. We were given the penthouse which included a fabulous huge terrace with market umbrella and table and chairs overlooking the national museum of the Diocletian Baths, a small anti-room for my son, a well appointed marble bathroom, and a king size bed for us. There was a safe, tv, and a free mini-bar which was restocked every day compliments of the house. Great air conditioning and room darkening curtains made naps quite enjoyable. That's enough about the room. Next, let me tell you about the staff. Absolutely knowledgeable, friendly, and quick to solve any problem or issue. Doreen was our go-to clerk. She spoke English and changed money for us, secured tickets for us, and made reservations. She was an invaluable resource and so friendly.
Breakfast was included and the dining room was carefully maintained by Marilou and Nunzia. By the 2nd morning, Marilou had our coffee order memorized. Her attention to detail is remarkable as well as was Nunzia. Both always had a smile and a friendly greeting for us every morning. This was a full breakfast! Hot food, toast cheese, meat, fresh squeezed juice ant lots of fruit cereal and yogurt. Amazing! As I watched these women work the dining room, I was amazed at how effortlessly they served everyone and made each one of us feel special. We took pictures with them the last morning and a smile crosses my face whenever I look at them.
I can't remember the other staff names, but everyone was helpful and friendly.
I highly recommend this wonderful gem of a hotel. They pay great attention to you and your needs. Simply, perfecto! We will be back. Oh, very close to the train station the metro and our favorite restaurant (Famiglia) in all of Rome was a short walk down the street which proved invaluable to us. Ciao. Enjoy your stay. MaryAnnZ816 Boston

Room Tip: Ask for the penthouse, even though you have to walk up one flight of stairs beyond the elevator.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryannz816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here twice - at the start of our Rome visit for 3 nights, then the night before our return home. It was a perfect choice - comfortable, modern, located close to Metro/trains/bus, and a great buffet breakfast every morning. The people - Doreen, Theodore, Emilio, Giordano, and Lazitha were incredible friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeCO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,225 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,801 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#41 of 1,267 in Rome
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $131 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing