We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,440)
Filter reviews
2,440 results
Traveler rating
1,679
644
86
21
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,679
644
86
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews termini station complimentary soft drinks diocletian baths la famiglia quiet street mini bar breakfast staff excellent hotel side street the hotel staff free internet minute walk breakfast was excellent hotel is located convenient location hop on hop visit to rome
Filter
Updating list...
1,634 - 1,639 of 2,440 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2008

Great location , only five minute walk from Termini Train station, Rooms very clean, staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was above average. We walk a lot and this is centrally located for many attractions. Will stay there again the next time.

Stayed: February 2008
5  Thank boblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

We stayed at this hotel in Feb 2008. We have been to Rome many times and always stayed in the Termini area for the convience. In the past we stayed at the "old world" hotels, the Bailey and the Mecente Palace. Both were elegant and old. The Mecante recently began showing its age. The Dioclezaino is neither elegant or old, but a new modern hotel that is clean and very nice. Don't stay here if you want the Hilton, but stay here for a good central location, spotless rooms, and friendly and aknowledgeable staff. The breakfast is very good, the free mini bar is nice, although personally I would prefer a coffee pot. We arrived very early and were given rooms immediately. Our friends who have never been to Rome loved the hotel and would also stay here again on their return visits.

The only down side to the hotel is the very short walk from Termini. Although we never felt unsafe, there is a quarter block of the walk that really stinks. We walked in the street to avoid the smell which is really only on the sidewalk area. It would not deter us from staying here again.

A few tips. The hotel offers a car service to and from the airport. It is pricey, but negotaible. There were 4 of us, and we negotiated a rate only slightly above the taxi rate. Taxis are a hassle here, as the drivers do not want to accept the law mandating a flat rate of 40 euro. The amount you have to fight to get them to accept this rate is not worth the effort. It is just easier to take the train.

We really enjoyed the Diacleziano and will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank FayMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

This hotel is a very nice hotel . The staff is smiling and friendly. We stayed for 4 nights in a normal room. Very clean and in perfect order. The bathroom was not so big - and I am happy that I not is very big - because then I would have had a problem getting in and out of the bathtube. The breakfast was alse much better than normal for a Rome hotel. And it was cheep too.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CopenhagenShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

I have just returned from a weekend break in Rome. I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.

The hotel is within 5 minutes walk of the Termini train station - which is great for airport transfer busses, trains and the metro service.

Despite being so close to the station, the hotel was remarkably quiet. The room was of a decent size, was immaculately clean and the bathroom was well equipped.

The gym and sauna facilities were really good, although there wasnt a lot of time to make use of them.

Breakfast was nice, plenty of choice and everything was fresh. The hotel staff were really polite and helpful.

I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John5620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

We just stayed 9 nights in this wonderful gem of a hotel, and would absolutely recommend this to any traveler, business or personal!

It is a very short walk from both the Termini and Repubblica Metro stops, and in a quiet little neighborhood. The staff are all very friendly, greeting you with smiles, and eager to assist. Granted, the same thing in the breakfast buffet every day for 9 days got to be a little tiring, but the food was very good.

We stayed in both the Double Superior and plain old Double room. Unless you are a huge fan of the jacuzzi tub, don't feel like you have to upgrade. The "normal" room is very comfortable, plenty large with lots of closet space, and the bathroom still able to fit 2 people in it at a time. The free mini-bar with water and Coke and juice is a great addition.

Everything was clean, quiet, extremely professional. I would stay there over and over again, and look forward to visiting other hotels in the chain this one belongs to.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jaeded07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews