We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, sleek, modern Hotel with pretty good location - but "you could do better..."”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #46 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, sleek, modern Hotel with pretty good location - but "you could do better..."”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is lovely, lobby is quite small and cramped but the staff is extremely nice and helpful. Room was sleek, clean, and small, with a wonderful bed, great linens, marble bathroom, and great shower. Breakfast buffet is nice and simple, nothing too special but very decent - no real complaints. The breakfast staff went out of their way to please and be welcoming. The area is nice and quiet at night, however I would have preferred a location more central to places we wanted to hang out in, like Piazza Navona, Campo, Spanish Steps, or Trastavere. Any place we really wanted to go entailed a good walk of at least 20-30 minutes, which was a good way to see the city, but took a chunk of time to get anywhere. It is walking distance (maybe 5-7 minutes) to the main train station, which was a plus, especially on our last day when we were pressed for time to get to the airport - it was quite convenient. While overall it is a lovely, clean and modern hotel wtih great service, I think, for the money, you could get a better deal in a more central location to all the main attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda19LongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,531
    605
    81
    21
    10
See reviews for
497
1,215
97
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent 4 days in Rome, 19th June to 22nd June, staying at the Diocleziano based on previous reviews. The staff at the hotel were all very keen to please and nothing seemed like too much trouble. Our room was spotlessly clean and the free mini bar was a nice touch. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, including bacon, eggs, mushrooms and beans but the warm cakes were the greatest pleasure. The best attribute of the hotel is its position, only 2 minutes from the main Termini Station, yet in a very quite side street. We were in a room on the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor but had no problem with noise. Whilst you could walk to many of the sights we chose to use the metro which can be very busy. It was only on our second day that we decided to use the Republica station instead which is only 3 minutes walk from the hotel but generally quieter. I would highly recomment this hotel for a sight seeing base in Rome. The only small problem during our visit was that the lift was out of order over 2 days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartP1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked two rooms for a total of five family members for our June 2012 pre-cruise visit to Rome. All five of us really enjoyed everything about the hotel including: superb customer service; great beds, bathrooms, air-conditioning, and very ample breakfast; location near Termini station; private mini-van service from Fiumicino; and more. We had absolutely no problems and will definitely stay here again during our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was expecting more based on other reviews.
The hotel is on a quiet, small street but the downside is that all the small streets smell like urine. However the location is very very good, close by to everything.
Most of the staff is extremely friendly, but not ALL of them, one individual in particular is very moody....however we did not get an intro on the hotel at checkin, and we were NOT even told they had a gym, or a sauna, etc.......
The breakfast is average, but we have had MUCH better in similar sized and rated hotels (see First hotel in Paris review)
The rooms are very clean, large enough, and generally nothing to complain about.
The soaps and shampoos were horrible! First of all it was the same liquid in both bottles, just labeled differently, but they smelled horribly, don't lather well and are just overall the worst I have had at any hotel anywhere.
The free wifi is very spotty, some days it just did not work at all !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrobeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We are a family of 4, two adults and two teenage children. We stayed at the Hotel Diocleziano for 3 days. I chose the hotel because of previous reviews. We had 2 rooms which were very clean and modern and decent sized, the beds were comforable and the location was great - near the Termini but on a relatively quiet side road. Staff was very accomodating and service was excellent. They recommended some good nearby restaurants and got us a reservation at one further away as well. Wonderful free breakfast which we enjoyed also. We easily walked to the Spanish Steps the first night we were here and there is a museum and Roman ruin literally right next to the hotel. I think this hotel is a good value for the money and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a central location near transportation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I spent many hours choosing the perfect hotel in Rome to meet our needs and this hotel was perfect! We were traveling with our 90 year old mother, who is still in good physical condition, but we still needed to be close to as many things as possible. This hotel is super close to 2 terminals, so if you don't like how busy the termini station is you can walk to the Repubblica Teatro dell'Opera station - the distance difference is so small.

The rooms are small as you might expect in Rome but they are newly renovated, have ample storage area and are quite modern in feel. They also have an excellent breakfast, basically anything that you might want is offered. The staff in the restaurant are also amazing and very friendly.

The front door and desk staff are always on hand for your every question and are genuinely interested in providing you the best possible stay that they can.

I do a fair bit of traveling and am reasonably choosy about my accommodations. I find this hotel an excellent choice.

If I had to give the hotel one recommendation I would say to change the jetted bathtub/shower to just a shower or clean the drain system out since our tub was very slow to drain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maya1560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Previous trips to Rome have not scored highly in terms of hotel accommodation, but this hotel bucked the trend. Rooms were very pleasant and very clean. Nice touches such as biscuits (sweet and savoury) and free water. The location is great - just minutes from Terminii. The staff were WONDERFUL, everyone was polite, helpful and friendly; really friendly not going through the motions, warm genuine smiles. My mother was taken ill during our stay and the staff were very helpful. I hope to come back to Roome and I shall certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ymcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#32 of 1,263 in Rome
1,326 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,263 in Rome
4,185 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#76 of 1,263 in Rome
2,644 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#43 of 1,263 in Rome
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing