We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only problem was the price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #49 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Only problem was the price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for three nights, 27 to 30 April 2012. I selected the hotel through Tripadvisor and by Google mapping the Termini Station neighborhood. Since I was taking the train, the Hotel location is excellent. It is literally only about 15 minutes from the train platform to the front desk if you've done your Google homework. The Via Gaeta is an amazingly quiet street in this very noisy city. Our room was on the fourth floor front and even with the windows open there was very little noise. The location is also interesting because it is very close to the Baths of Diocletian ruins, a lovely archeology museum and the Mary and All Angels Basilica. The restaurants in the neighborhood did not strike me as particularly appealing, but that's just me, probably. the room was average size with a high cieling and a large double bed wich was a little too firm for my friend but fine for me. There was adequate closet space and a safe in the closet suitable for laptops, cameras, etc. there was a free minibar with a small selection of softdrinks and water. There was a circular corner shower just big enough for one adult, but it was fine and water did not escape out onto the floor if you were careful. The sink had ample space for two persons' toilet items. Towels were large and absorbent and there were ample linens. the room was very clean, attractive and well maintained. We did not choose a rate that included breakfast as my friend usually sleeps in beyond the breakfast hours, but I purchased the breakfast buffet, (12 euros/person) each of the three mornings. there is a large breakfast room and your average buffet fare was offered. The food was certainly adequate, but nothing special. There is free wifi in the hotel with reception more reliable in the public areas than it was in our room. There are three PCs available for guests in the lobby area. they were always available and worked fine. For some reason the hotel has just added a small gym and a small sauna. They both struck me as under utilized and oddly located right off the lobby, maybe a waste of space and money. I reserved the room on-line so I must have known what the cost was, and I realize hotels in Rome are expensive but this room cost 197 euros Friday night, 260 euros saturday night and 188 euros Sunday night for a whopping 645 euros or about 850 US dollars. Then there were the three breakfasts and 15 euro room tax so the bill was over 900 dolars for three nights. After all was said and done it struck me as pretty expensive for what was offered, but this is a clean, quiet, comfortable hotel with pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Even rooms on the street were pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haddy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    591
    79
    19
    10
See reviews for
481
1,186
94
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HORSHAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The service and staff were faultless - the warm welcome provided was certainly a very good start to our short stay in Rome. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything for a comfortable stay and were helpful with suggestions on sightseeing and tours.

Breakfast was excellent and very attentive service given.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30CHERYL30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel was located about 10 minutes from Termini station so very handy for the Metro etc. The breakfast was good, great coffee, freshly squeezed juice and lovely staff. Good size bedroom and large bathroom. Mini bar topped up with free water daily. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindagood12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Previous reviews are accurate. A lovely boutique hotel on a quiet street close to Termini railway station. Perfectly clean hotel with helpful staff. We had a budget room which was very small but quite adequate and everything worked properly. However, I would not recommend the hotel if you are used to a soft bed, as the mattress was very firm indeed and the pillows rather lumpy. This produced a poor sleeping experience for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bunnio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
328 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

When coming to Rome I had to choose a hotel in the vicinity of Termini station for work purposes. I was offered a dew hotels by my agent but chose to go with my gut (and trip advisor) feeling and choose this hotel. This choice ended up exceeding all my expectations!

I arrived at the hotel which is very conveniently located next to Termini station (hopping distance) and a nice 30 min. walk to Piaza Venezia. My room was not ready but I was checked in and my luggage left there.

Upon my return I found a beautiful and huge room awaiting me. The bed could fit three people, there was a jacoozi in the bathroom, the drinks at the minibar were free of charge and there was free wifi in the room. I don't think you can expect anything better.

The breakfast was good and fresh (lacking a bit on the variety side) and there was coffee and tea in the room. A gym was ready for use and was small but useful for my needs (especially since I was there on my own every time).

The staff were very friendly and helpful and on the first day it was convenient that my suitcase was waiting for me in the room when I arrived.

I warmly recommend this hotel to everyone traveling to Rome!

Room Tip: The rooms facing to the back of the hotel might be a tad quieter than those facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uri_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and have nothing but great things to say about the hotel. It is so close to the buses, trains, and metro...so very easy to get around the city. The hotel is located on a nice side street with less noise so sleeping at night was not disturbed. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast was adequate. I would recommend staying here for your trio to Rome!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

My family and I stayed here for several nights and couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. Good location on a quiet street near Termini and the subway. Staff was very helpful with directions, recommendations, and even handles currency exchange at a competitive rate. Room was very comfortable and the daily refreshing of soft drinks in the mini fridge was a nice touch. We would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 138robertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#83 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing